My Childhood Bestie Got Married!

This past weekend Christopher and I traveled to East Tennessee for my childhood bestie’s wedding.

rach and ashley 1996Me and Ashley in 1996!

Nearly 20 years ago Ashley and I made a pact that we would be bridesmaids in each other’s weddings. After I moved away from Crossville in 1998 we kept in touch via snail mail. Then somewhere in our teen years we fell out of touch. However, when I got engaged I remembered our pact and searched for her, but couldn’t get in touch with her. A couple of years later I got a friend request on Facebook and it was her! We reconnected and hit it off again just like when we were kids. πŸ™‚ When she got engaged she asked if I’d be a bridesmaid. I told her I’d be honored. And this weekend we fulfilled a 20 year old pact…

rach and ashleyAshley and me! πŸ™‚

The weekend started off with a rehearsal where I first met Ashley’s other friends and family (keep in mind, she and I were besties nearly 20 years ago so a lot has changed for both of us since then, haha!). There were MUCH laughter at the rehearsal!

bridesmaidsThere were especially a lot of jokes and laughter revolving around “Caitie”. One of the bridesmaids (Caitie) couldn’t make it to the rehearsal so the guy standing next to me (Denis, who did sound for the wedding) stood in for her. He did a great job and kept us all laughing! πŸ™‚

ashley and bridesmaidsHere we all are together! That’s theΒ realΒ Caitie on the far right side. πŸ˜‰ And Jayna in the front!

jayna and rachJayna is Ashley’s step-daughter now. And she is absolutely precious. When she walked down the aisle (she was the flower girl) her daddy started crying. Which made her start crying. Which made ME start crying, haha! I loved getting to know her this weekend. She is sugar and spice and all things nice and I just loved her. I think she could tell that I was good auntie material because she clung to my side most of the weekend. πŸ˜‰

rach and summerSummer was one of Ashley’s other bridesmaids who I’d never met before, but she and I were like soul sisters. Summer was Ashley’s bestie from high school before she too moved away. She and I are SO alike and spent a ridiculous amount of time together. We became such good friends in 24 hours that we are planning a trip to see each other soon! πŸ™‚

summer and caseyI think part of the reason Summer and I connected so quickly was because she reminded me SO MUCH of one of my besties, Casey. Summer & I are on the left and Casey & I are on the right above. She talks like her, acts like her, and even looks a lot like her! Within a couple hours she and I were having really personal conversations because she reminded me so much of Casey that it was easy to open up to her. We ended up sleeping together in a tiny twin bed the night before the wedding and at that point we knew our friendship was forever sealed. πŸ˜‰

rachChristopher spent a lot of time playing with my camera while we were having photos taken (he didn’t get in the way of the photographer, though!! I know that’s a huge pet peeve of wedding photographers so he was careful about that). This shot made me laugh because it’s SO a face/expression that I make when I’m flirting with him. πŸ˜‰

rach and christopherSpeaking of Christopher…Β I love him lots. During the ceremonyΒ every time I looked out at the audience I caught him looking at me with the sweetest smile on his face. I love how he loves me.Β πŸ™‚

Ashley was a little overwhelmed with wedding stuff so we didn’t have just a ton of time to chat, but I was glad that I could be there with her for the weekend. And so proud to stand up with her as she pledged her life to Jay. And I was so happy that I got to meet Summer and Jayna! πŸ™‚

– Have you gone to a childhood friend’s wedding?Β 
– Any stories of keeping 20 year old pacts?
– Have you ever hit it off quickly with someone who reminds you so much of another close friend?

Love Rach

25 responses to “My Childhood Bestie Got Married!

  1. What a great story! I made packs but none ever stuck. Even the wedding packs with my cousins fell through. Where is my twin from? I miss y’all so much! If I could begin to feel better maybe we could plan a trip!

    • Your twin is from the same town in East TN (Crossville), but she is currently living in Florida! And girl, no rush! I know you aren’t feeling well. Hopefully you’ll start to feel better so you guys can come visit, but if not… you KNOW we’re coming down in the Spring sometime! πŸ˜‰

  2. This is so awesome – that you were reconnected with a childhood friend and that you hit it off so well with her friends. I also loved the part about how Jay cried when his daughter walked down the aisle as flower girl – beautiful.

    • Oh my goodness, when Jay started crying as Jayna walked down the aisle, I just about lost it. I definitely cried, haha! It was just so absolutely precious! I can only imagine that he was thinking about her another 10 or 15 years from now when she might be walking down the aisle on his arm on her own wedding day. *tear*

  3. what a fun weekend! i love that you made good on your wedding pact from 20 years ago, and i love love love that you and ashley are already planning to meet up again – kindred spirits are my favorite ❀

  4. Your photos are lovely. You all look stunning. Take care x

    Louise
    http://louiseplace.com

  5. Aww, what a cool story and awesome opportunity to be a bridesmaid! I really like the colors in all of your bouquets…Almost none of my most long-term friends are married yet, and the ones who are always get married in a different country than I’m in at the time. The international lifestyle has its inconveniences, so I actually haven’t been a bridesmaid since I was 16 and haven’t even been to a wedding since my own!

    • It’s true – the international life style definitely does have its inconveniences. My oldest sister, Melissa, couldn’t make it to our wedding because she was living in Prague and couldn’t make it back at the time. I made her an “honorary bridesmaid” which really isn’t a thing. But I decided it was a thing. So I put her name in the program and wrote “honorary bridesmaid” underneath it. πŸ˜‰

  6. You make the most beautiful bridesmaid!! πŸ™‚ I love that your childhood friend remembered the pact and asked you to be a part of her special day!!!

    • Aww, thanks friend! She definitely had some beautiful bridesmaids! πŸ™‚ And yeah, I loved that she asked me to be a bridesmaid. Gotta love those sweet little friendships pacts you make as a child. It’s just a good thing I never made an “I’ll marry you when I’m 30” pact with some boy. Because obviously that wouldn’t have worked out well for him. πŸ˜‰

  7. Aaaand that post made me cry! I’m such a sucker for Daddy/daughter moments! Also, you are such a gorgeous bridesmaid! That dress!!

    • Oh my goodness! I know! Daddy/daughter moments always get me! And all the advertisers in the world know it! Every time I see a commercial or ad with a daddy/daughter, I’m like “nooo! I will not be emotional and give in to your advertising!! Okay fine… I’ll buy that brand of socks since the daddy put them on his daughter…” πŸ˜›

  8. I LOVE that you reconnected for this!! What a fun wedding, and a new friend..bonus!

  9. Aww I love all of this! I recently made a insta friendship/ soul sister like that on my New Orleans trip as well. Isn’t it amazing!? Also, I love your flirty face. Super adorable. Also also, AWWW you and Jayna. So much love for this post.

    • YES!! It is amazing! I haven’t made a friendship like this in ages! Like normally they go along the weeks-to-develop-a-close-friendship time line. But this one was like overnight! Of course it could have a lot to do with the late night and not leaving each other’s side for 24 hours, haha! It’s like friendships that form at summer camp or with roommates. You get close really fast because you are around each other all the time, ha! But yeah, I loved getting to know her! There was a lot of stress with some of the other wedding stuff so I honestly don’t know what I would’ve done without Summer! πŸ™‚

  10. Looks like a beautiful weekend, and how neat to reconnect and be in the wedding!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  11. how much fun!! and i love when we connect instantly with people!

  12. Pingback: The Childhood Years |

  13. What a special time! I hope you and Summer will get to keep in touch. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you shared the story about the groom and his daughter! And the special moment between you and Christopher. You’ve got a sweet, sweet guy! πŸ™‚

    Oh and the sound guy standing in for one of the bridesmaids is hilarious! Rehearsals can be so much fun!

  14. What a crazy story!! It’s too bad she couldn’t be in yours too! 😦

    • Yeah, it makes me really sad that I couldn’t find her for my wedding. I tried calling the old numbers I had for her, mailing letters to the last address I had, and even a trusty Google & Facebook search. But nada! I’m glad we’ve reconnected, though! It was so fun to be part of her big day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

