The Childhood Years

To clarify something from yesterday’s post… that wasn’t the first time I had seen Ashley since we were little girls. Reading back over it, I see that’s confusing, haha! About a year after we reconnected on Facebook, Christopher and I went to Crossville to visit her. And then a couple of years ago she came to Memphis to visit me (which I blogged about here). But it was still a 20 year old pact that we kept! πŸ™‚ Β The last time I was in Crossville was just before I started this blog so I’ve never really written about the place where I spent my childhood so I thought I’d do a couple of flashback posts this week! πŸ™‚ {All the “present day” photos are actually from our 2010 trip}

the houseI lived on Woodwind Lane and if you look closely at the top right photo you can see my old house in the background (I didn’t want to walk up too close to private property). At the bottom left is the beginning of the rock quarry that my siblings and I used to play in just in front of our house. And the photo on the bottom right was taken just in front of a hidden little creek that we used to play in. My younger sister and I used to “fish” for leaves in that creek, ha!

wreck locationThis (on the left) is the spot where in 1992 I had a terrible bike wreck and split my forehead open. My brother carried me home where I received first aid before going to the doctor to get stitches. On the right you can see me happily grinning with a giant bandaid on my forehead to cover up the stitches, ha! (also pictured my sisters, Holly & Abby).

homesteadThis was my school! Well, where I went to Kindergarten anyway. The school that I went to after this closed down and is no longer there.

ponderosaThis is the restaurant that my parents managed (well, they actually managed a couple of restaurants, but this is the one where I have the most memories). On the right as it was in 1991 and on the left as it is today as a Chinese buffet.

softballOn the left is a shot of Christopher and I at the softball fields where I played as a little girl. And on the right is my softball glamour shot from 1995. The Β beginning of the awkward years for me… πŸ˜‰

helen's houseAt the top left is me with Helen. I couldn’t go back to Crossville without seeing her! She ran a daycare out of her home where my siblings and I stayed while our parents worked. This is actually where I met Ashley (us at the bottom right from 1996) who’s wedding I was just in this past weekend. The front porch (top right) and back yard (bottom left) hold SO many memories for me. I showed these pictures to my sisters and they too had a huge flood of memories come back. *tear*

cumberland county state parkSo so so many memories here! We went to this park often when I was growing up and it was gorgeous. We went again in 2010 (as you can see from this photo) and we went again this past weekend while we were there. It is still breathtakingly beautiful! Plus there’s a restaurant inside the park that had really tasty food! πŸ™‚

I have so much more that I could write about each of these, but I am trying not to write an entire autobiography here, haha! πŸ˜‰ I have a couple of other memories to share with you later this week. So get excited to see more photos of the 1990s Rach. Believe me, those photos don’t come out of the vault often, ha!

– If you left a place you once spent a lot of time, have you been back to visit?Β 
– Did anyone else play softball? Or have stitches?
– Do you prefer to keep your awkward years photos hidden?

Love Rach

22 responses to “The Childhood Years

  1. I played softball and up until a few years ago, still played! I found a co-ed league that I joined. I loved playing as a kid though!

  2. Fun!!! I love going back to places that were special to me when I was growing up!

    I “played” softball alright. My coach was always late, ate GOBS of sunflower seeds, and smoked cigars. I stood in the outfield, or laid on occasion, with my mitt on my face which was turned up to the sky. It was FUN! πŸ˜‰

  3. I have no athletic abilities! My dad lives in the same place I had my first childhood memories so I do go back to visit.

  4. That school building is really pretty.

    I love going back to visit old childhood haunts.

  5. So fun!! It is so interesting to go back to the places we lived as a child and see how different everything is!! I was only away for about 6 years before I moved back, but even then so much was different! It has been so great making new memories here though with my husband. πŸ™‚

  6. Also, wanted to let you know I nominated you for a Lovely Blog Award! http://youfancymemad.com/2014/09/17/the-lovely-blog-award/

  7. I’m just wondering, were the childhood curls perms, or did you actually have wild curls back then? πŸ™‚ I’ve been back to every house I lived in as a kid except the one in TX–it’s actually not super far from Angel’s parents’ place in TX, but I don’t have a lot of affection for that home so we’ve never visited.

  8. how fun! luckily, my family is in the same house i remember from age 3 although it doesn’t resemble my childhood at all! my sis and i joke that the grandkids have taken over!

  9. oh gosh, i wish i could keep my awkward photos hidden, but it’s literally a whopping 10 years – just gotta take them out and laugh and go with it πŸ™‚ and i love love love that softball photo of you – cute, not awkward πŸ™‚

  10. Aww, your photos are all so cute!! My “awkward years” were essentially most of my childhood…I was definitely not a cute baby, but I was okay from ages five to ten…and then awkward from ten to fourteen. And for awhile in grade ten when I discovered blush O_O Not great. And I never had stitches, but I did break my arm twice. I can’t even imagine how much it would hurt to crack your head open!

    • Oh my goodness, I wasn’t a cute baby either!! Christopher was, though. He was all tan and adorable from the time he was born. He had the briefest awkward stage ever and then suddenly he was a super attractive teenager. Not fair. My awkward years lasted forever, haha! By the way, I want to see a photo from when you discovered blush! I’m sensing some very 80’s esque photos! πŸ˜‰

  11. You know I don’t hide my awkward old photos…you’ve gotta embrace! I love visiting all the places I frequented as a child. It’s so comforting to remember the good times. Your little town and school are super cute.

Leave a Reply

