That time I was a Broadway star!

Okay not really. In fact, not even close. But I did perform at the Cumberland County Playhouse in two different plays while we lived in East TN. And I had big aspirations for being on Broadway someday. Then I got older and learned that I can’t sing on key (hello, this girl had no solos) and my acting is terrible (no lines either). But let me tell you, I can choreograph among the BEST of them! 😉 And they also said that I was the fastest kid they’d ever seen do costume changes. So you know, that’s helpful if I were to grow up and be a firefighter who needs to change quickly. Which I didn’t. But I digress. Anyway, I loved it. I have some of the best memories of my time in both plays. Practices, time with the cast, and that feeling of being PART of something bigger than yourself. Not to mention, I LOVED performing on stage in front of an audience. Which is kind of hilarious because if you put me up there by myself I would freak out, but with a group, I am in my element!

cumberland county playhouseThe B&W photo is the “Blue Cast” from 1996’s production of OLIVER! I’m in the front row in the super classy plaid pants. Someone asked in a comment yesterday if the curly hair was a perm or natural… it is definitely all natural. I straighten my hair now. 😉 The other two photos are from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat from 1997. In the bottom photo I’m in the center in the purple polkadot PJs and in the top photo I’m at the top right. 🙂

the playhouse 2010When we went back to visit the Playhouse in 2010 it looked exactly as I remembered it from the 1990’s! While we were there looking around, the owner of the playhouse came up to us and asked why we were there mid-day. When we explained that I had been in plays here in the mid-90’s and just wanted to show the place to my husband, she was SO happy that I’d come back that she begged us to come back for the show that night and gave us tickets on the house. We did go back and it was amazing!

So no, I never went to Broadway.  But I did perform two years in “Spring Sing” at my university (read more about that here and my moments of fame, haha!). And I have loved every moment on stage. I am thankful that I had an opportunity to be part of this as a kid and how it has grown my love for musicals. Speaking of musicals… can we just take a moment to list some of the best ones ever?!

My favorite musicals I’ve seen performed on Stage:
Les Miserables
Oliver!
Joseph & The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
Fiddler on the Roof
Phantom of the Opera
Annie

My favorite musicals I’ve seen in movie format:
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers
My Fair Lady
Singing in the Rain
Calamity Jane
Mary Poppins
Westside Story
Grease
Moulin Rouge
The Sound of Music
Lion King / Beauty & the Beast / Pocahontas / Aladdin / Mulan / Hunchback of Notre Dame / Hercules / Little Mermaid

I am SO sure that I am leaving some off this list, but I can’t blog about musicals without at least mentioning some of my favorites! 🙂 Also, it’s not a mistake that Wicked isn’t on this list… I know a lot of the music from it, but I still haven’t seen it! I KNOW! Terrible! I need to get on that! 😉

Have you ever been in a play or musical?
If you are a musical type person, what’s your favorite? {no judgement if you don’t like musicals… my husband has only recently come around to liking musicals in recent years… mostly because I keep taking him to them, haha!}
Love Rach

21 responses to “That time I was a Broadway star!

  1. So fun! I love musicals- I was a drama major for a semester in college! My favorite musical I was in was Guys and Dolls…my favorite one I have seen is probably Aida! So good!!

    • I haven’t seen Aida! Obviously I do if it’s your favorite! Also, I love that you were briefly a drama major! “Theater” was my minor for about a semester of college, haha! I went through a plethora of “minors” before I finally settled on just double majoring instead, haha!

  2. SEVEN BRIDES FOR SEVEN BROTHERS IS MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. This post is so perfectly timed (because we’re blog friend soul mates, obv) because I am going to Wicked tonight and I am. so. incredibly. excited. It will be my third time to see the show and I just can’t get enough. I have the soundtrack memorized and can’t wait to be at the show tonight. Really I love all musicals. I’ve seen Aida, Rent, and Movin’ Out on Broadway when I was in NYC. And then Cats, Les Miserables, The Lion King, Wicked, and a few others when the tour is in town. If I had the time, I would love to be involved in community theatre.

    Loved learning about your sing-and-dance experience on stage!

    • AHHH!! How was Wicked?! If you’ve seen it THREE times already then I at least need to see it once! I keep thinking that I’m going to catch it live at some point, but I probably need to at least watch a DVD version of it. I hear such great things! And yes, of course we are blog friend soulmates! Obviously. 😉

      Community theater would be so fun! But I don’t think I have the confidence to do it by myself. If we ever live close to each other we’ll have to do a community play together! 😉

  4. Ahhh Les Miserables and Phantom of the Opera are definitely some of the best. How cool that you got to see them in person! Seeing Phantom of the Opera on stage is a dream of mine. 😉

  5. Oh goodness, yet another thing we have in common!!! 😉 I LOVE musicals so much, and Nate and I try to see one at least once a year. (Come to think of it though, I don’t know that we have this current year). But, yes, I LOVE them! And I adore all of the musicals on your list!!!!

    • Aww, I love it! Of course we have this in common too! 😀 I love that you guys watch at least one musical a year. What a great tradition! Maybe that will be your first date without Brady after he comes. Or maybe you can squeeze a musical in before he arrives. 🙂 We go to at least one musical a year, but it’s nearly always a high school play that our teens are in, haha! So while we burst with pride for them, it’s probably not the best of the best. 😉

  6. My mom does a lot of musicals/plays so I have been to A LOT of local shows. I love them…they are so much fun.

  7. I was just the same…I am NO actress, and I was terrified to speak any lines. But I loved being a part of the “ensemble” cast. In high school, we did How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown, Crazy For You, Godspell…and others. It was so much fun to get dressed in costumes and be part of the team! And Singing in the Rain is my MOST favorite movie musical of all time! 😀 It’s definitely one that I pop in the DVD player when I’m stuck at home sick or need a pick me up. Oklahoma is a close second. 🙂

  8. Spring Sing def. counts! 🙂 I’m not a musical person.

  9. SO cool that you got to be a part of those productions!! It’s so much fun to be a part of something bigger like that! (I’ve only been in the orchestra, but it still feels exciting). And I love that you got free tickets when you went back to visit 🙂 I totally agree with your list of musicals, except for the couple in there that I haven’t seen. And I know I’ve said this before, but you will LOVE Wicked! It’s my favourite musical ever 🙂

  10. I love ALL musicals! Lion King and The Book Of Mormon are my faves, but I’ve loved Oklahoma, Annie, Sound Of Music, and any other I’ve seen. I would totally try out for a play, but I can’t remember lines for the life of me, haha.

  11. Pingback: My FAVORITE part of our NYC trip! |

Leave a Reply

