The World’s Largest Tree House!

So technically there’s no official document stating that this is the World’s largest tree house, but until I see one bigger, I’m calling it. 😉 This 97 foot tree house is located in the very same place I spent the first 10 years of my life. Crossville, Tennessee.

crossville treehouse{source} Yuuup, there’s a giant 80 foot tree in the middle of all of that that the tree house has been built around.

crossville treehouse2{source} Back in 1993 a local minister had a vision from God telling him to build this tree house. So he did. We got to see it in 2010 when we came to visit and it was amazing! Sadly it’s currently closed by the fire marshal so we didn’t get to go to it again while we were there last weekend, but it is SUCH a cool place!

tree house swingYou can’t see it very well in this photo, but that’s a SWING! You can swing out from the top of the tree house!

crossville treehouse3{source} There is a beautiful chapel inside the tree house and when we were here in 2010 there was actually a group there singing praise songs. The acoustics were unreal. So so beautiful!

For more really amazing photos of the tree house, check out this article on Enpundit.com. Gorgeous photos!

rach and jessica at tree houseWhen we went to the tree house in 2010 we met up with Jessica who was a friend of mine from my childhood days in Crossville. I did get to see her again this past weekend, but I didn’t get a picture of us together. But it was good to catch up with her! I do, however, have a classic 1990s shot of us together…

Abby and I with JessicaMy little sister, Abby, is in the middle with Jessica on one side (in the overalls) and me on the other. Circa 1996. Thankfully we have all aged well. 😉

So if you are ever in East Tennessee, you should stop by and see it! You can see it from the road even if it’s still closed. But hopefully it will be back open to the public again soon! 🙂 And this closes my week of talking about ye olden days when I lived in Crossville, TN. It’s been fun reliving the memories. 🙂 Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

35 responses to “The World’s Largest Tree House!

  1. This looks awesome! I think I need to make a trip to see it. I google mapped it and it is only 4 1/2 hours away! Happy Friday to you too!

  2. That is so cool! There is something so magical about tree houses. I think it would be pretty awesome to do a tour of treehouses around the world!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend! xx

    http://amateandarottweiler.blogspot.com.ar/

  3. This…is…SOSOSO COOL! OMG I want to live here. I would make swings from side to side and pretend I was Tarzan.

    • Hahaha! You wouldn’t be the first one letting out a Tarzan yell while you swung from side to side. 😉 I’m not going to lie, I didn’t do the swing. I tell myself it’s because there were a bunch of people in line waiting to use it and I didn’t want to wait. But I think it was more the fear-of-death factor. 😉 But the treehouse itself was so cool! 🙂

  4. That looks like fun. My hubby’s fily is from East Tennessee- so next time we drive thru we will have to check it out!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  5. Omg! That is amazing. I would love to live in a tree house.

  6. THAT is the coolest house EVER! I mean, I thought that my dream house would be a log cabin… but that tree house pretty much beats any log cabin I’ve seen! Ha, ha. It reminds me of the Swiss Family Robinson house in Disney, only bigger! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Putting on my Happy Shoes | bourbontea

  8. oh my gosh this is the coolest thing ever. i was obsessed with tree houses when i was a kid, and i still love them! so want to play in this!

  9. This is so cool!!! I have never been in an actual treehouse. Some of my friends growing up had “playhouses”, but they were on the ground. I would LOVE to visit this!!

  10. That treehouse is insane!! I can’t imagine building something like that.

  11. Umm woah. I’ve never in my life seen anything remotely like that. That is so so so awesome. They need to get it back open to visitors again!!

  12. Oh! I have been there!! I *think* it was in 2011 (during the fall) coming back from a vacation in Glade, Tennessee. It was so cool! I am a bit scared of heights, but I made it to the very top (I had to just tell myself that lots of people walked it all the time and the boards were not going to give out, haha). Awesome memories for you to share (and for me to remember my own as well).

  13. How cool is that! That would be so much fun to visit 🙂

  14. I looked up Crossville, and I can’t believe how close it is to Knoxville! Maybe an hour away? I definitely want to put this tree house on my “to do” list! I love going on little weekend road trips, and this looks REALLY neat. I’ll have to plan to visit when the tree house is actually open though–I definitely want to go inside!

  15. the little kid in me is dying right now! SO FREAKING COOL!

  16. Wow!!! This is breathtakingly cool!

  17. I don’t know how I haven’t seen or heard of this on Pinterest or something! That is too cool! 🙂

    Amanda

  18. Man…that would have made my childhood! Super awesome.

Leave a Reply

