Rach’s Explanation of the 3 Seasons

There is Summer, Christmas, and Miserable Winter. But I am attempting to embrace the season of FALL in today’s video! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

– Any favorite fall-scented candles I should know about?
– Will you still be my friend even though I only give Fall one month out of my year? πŸ˜‰Β 
Love Rach

20 responses to “Rach’s Explanation of the 3 Seasons

  1. I dread January through February too; and last year, we left up our white lights in the windows as well… just to keep a bit of brightness around. πŸ™‚
    But you know that I DO happen to love fall. πŸ˜‰ It’s my favorite season, even though I do adore summer too.
    One of my favorite fallish scented candles is actually Home Sweet Home by Yankee Candle. It just has the perfect blend of spices… But I really need to try that pumpkin cheesecake candles, because that sounds amazing! πŸ™‚
    Ooh, and I love your fall decorations!! πŸ™‚ I love that you’re trying to embrace the season anyway! Ha, ha. (Although I agree, Christmas decorations are SO much fun, and I always get excited to put them up). πŸ™‚

    • Oooh I love that candle! My mom especially loves it. I actually bought one last year when they went on clearance after Christmas and stashed it away for her this Christmas. πŸ™‚ I just came across it when getting my fall stuff out last week and I nearly decided to keep it for myself, haha! It smells SO great! I obviously need to find one for myself! πŸ™‚

      I love that you left up your white lights through January last year! You have WAY colder weather up there than we do down here, haha! So I really shouldn’t complain. πŸ˜‰ But I’m glad you understand where I’m coming from! πŸ™‚

  2. oh gosh, our summer is june-september – just four months! fall is october and november, so a solid 2- and then winter? gah! december, january, february, and march – a whole 4! it’s so, so long – and i also tend to leave up my holiday decorations πŸ™‚ bonus? the city leaves christmas lights twinkling in the trees until march 1 πŸ™‚

  3. I love this video, haha! Your rocking chair, the candles, everything. πŸ™‚ I love that you aren’t one of those strict seasonal Christmas people – you know, those who can’t stand anything Christmas until after Thanksgiving, and no longer than New Years. We don’t have Christmas decorations, but I absolutely adore Christmas music and I gladly listen to it (and play it on the piano) as soon as fall starts setting in and definitely after New Years. πŸ˜‰

    Also, funny thing: your seasons in Memphis sound pretty much opposite of what we have in Flagstaff, AZ. You have summer for most of the year, and we have winter. We don’t get much for “fall” – we might have a week or so, but then it freezes and it’s just cold…which means the pretty leaves just die. So there’s a short time between summer and snow that is just bitter cold – which we like to consider “fall.” πŸ˜‰ After that, it feels like winter from the end of October through the first parts of April. It’s even snowed in July before.

    I completely agree with you regarding the miserable months of January-March. Here in Flagstaff, it gets SO windy. It’s not only bitter cold, but it’s also windy.

    I LOVE summer, though, so I’m always super excited when it starts warming up…especially since it’s only for a few months out of the year. πŸ˜‰

    So this was a long comment. Haha!

    • Oh goodness, Christmas music has no limitation in my world. πŸ˜‰ I used to drive my roommate crazy in college when I’d be listening to Christmas music in May. πŸ˜‰

      Oh man, I bet winter is pretty miserable there! It’s cold enough here (and the humidity makes it a wet cold that just seeps into your bones), but I definitely don’t know how I’d handle anything colder! The wind doesn’t sound fun!

      Also, I love long comments! πŸ™‚

  4. Love this! haha Being from South Dakota, I embrace Summer and Fall as long as I possibly can, because our winter basically goes from November until April. (One year I had snow during my college finals week…the first week of MAY!! Terrible!) Also, the Pumpkin Cheesecake candle from Target is awesome! Even though it is cooling down, I love that you are finding time to enjoy the little things of this time of year! πŸ™‚

    XO Amanda

  5. I actually love fall, but sadly don’t get a chance to experience it out here in Kuwait. We have summer for about 9 months, and then winter for the remainder 3. Our summers get up to 130 degres & then come winter it drops to 70. May seem like the perfect weather to some, but for us it’s freezing!

    You have to check out Bath & Body Works pumpkin cinnamon & caramel pumpkin swirl. Both smell amazing!!

  6. I really like fall. But like you, I’m a summer girl. It does get really hot and kind of oppressive, so I’m usually relieved for autumn. I despise winter. And I know my “winter” is not that bad. But I still get cold. So it’s winter. I love the fall banner. Those owl salt and pepper shakers are super cute. Do you prefer candle-candles versus Scentsey type stuff?

    • Oh no, I totally know what you mean! My winter isn’t near as bad as a lot of people’s northern winters, but I still get cold so it’s still winter, haha!

      And yeah, I tend to prefer candles. I think because that’s what I grew up with. When we were in China we’d bring a couple of candles with us and they’d have to last all year long until our next trip back to the States. So it was always a special thing to light the candles. That’s probably why I like them so much. πŸ™‚

  7. I totally agree about January through March (although here, it’s more like January through May)! AND, I have a solution for your Christmas/Thanksgiving overlap…celebrate CANADIAN Thanksgiving instead! It’s this weekend, so November is free to be all about Christmas. Problem solved πŸ˜‰ Also, your candles sound amazing! I usually love the fall candles from Bath and Body Works, but their new ones this year were meh. So, I picked up a homemade pumpkin spice one on our vacation, and it smells sooo good.

    • YES! Canadian Thanksgiving it is!! Did I ever tell you that I celebrated Canadian Thanksgiving a couple of years?? Some of our really close friends in grad school were Canadian so they invited us to celebrate with them. πŸ™‚

      Also, a homemade pumpkin spice candle sounds absolutely delightful!

  8. Fall is my fave but here in NC we stay about 60-70’s through at least October and early into November. I like our Fall’s! As far as candles….def Pumpkin Spice or anything coffee scented for me! I love your Fall burlap banner and the owl salt and pepper shakers are adorable!

  9. Here all the seasons seem to blend into one another and holidays aren’t as festive as they are in the US, so I never know what time of year it is….well, except in Summer, when it’s so hot you just sweat for 3 months straight haha
    Back in New Jersey my favorite season was Fall, and in Buenos Aires I would have to say my favorite season is Spring.
    As for fall scented candles, you MUST buy Pumpkin Buttercream and Vineyard from Yankee Candle. SO AMAZING.

    Hope you have a great weekend! xx

    • It was 80 degrees here yesterday and today it’s 60. I would be totally okay with it being warm year round! My parents live near the coast and I love going to visit them in the winter where it’s never cold, haha! πŸ™‚

      Those candles sound delightful!! I will definitely check them out! Thanks for the recommendation! πŸ™‚

  10. I love your description of miserable winter,it made me chuckle. Our winter here includes sub zero temps and very short days. It makes me miss Memphis winters!
    Canadians have thanksgiving in October so you could totally get away with decorating for Christmas in November.

Leave a Reply

