Why I Blog

I shared with you guys my history of blogging and why I began blogging, but nowΒ I want to share with you guys why I continue to blog today. πŸ™‚

screenshot

I blog because I want to have a recorded history of our life. I love looking back through old posts on this blog and reliving small moments that I would have otherwise forgotten. I do keep a personal prayer journal, but I love that on the blog, it’s easy to put photos and videos alongside my words. I love to have so many of our life stories together in one place. And it helps to keep up with recipes and favorite restaurants and our travels. πŸ™‚

rach and chris at white rock{the only photo I have of me having coffee with someone, haha! My little sister took this earlier this year in Dallas}

I blog to have a conversation. Β It’s like going out for coffee with a friend. Just like when I meet up with a friend here in Memphis to hang out and I share with them about a great place I ate or a meal I cooked or about our vacation or my thoughts about random life things… I do that with you guys here. And what I love is that it’s a conversation… which means it’s two-way. Just like when I meet up with a friend in person and we both share what’s happening in our lives… the same thing happens through blogging. I share, you respond. And then you share, and I respond. It’s a conversation. That’s why the blogs I follow and comment on are the ones who have done the same for me. Not because it’s an “I’m following you, you follow me” sort of agreement, but because there is a relationship there.Β There are only two blogs I read regularly that don’t comment on mine: the Pioneer Woman’s and a local Memphis blog (to keep up with city happenings). Other than that, I read blogs because they belong to people who are as invested in me as I am in them. You know, my friends. πŸ™‚

rach and casey2{me and Casey from earlier this year}

This ties into the last one, but I blog because of the support system I have found here. My friendships in the blog world aren’t limited to geography. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Memphis friends and am so thankful for them. But I am also so grateful for my blog friends. We are friends not because we live in the same city and it’s convenient, but because we have so much in common. Because we share passions, because we share our hearts with each other. I have made so many friends through blogging over the years as well as some true best friends. Friendships that happen outside just commenting on each other’s blogs. Friendships that moved to long emails, Skype/phone calls, texting, and even meeting in person. Friendships that include praying for each other and being a true support system.

I wish I could tell you all the details now, but this public blog is not currently the place for this story. But I have to sayΒ that I have recently been overwhelmed by the love and support I have received from my blog friends. I am beyond grateful for all of you guys. Those of you who I’ve known for years and those of you who I am just now getting to know! Blogging has been such a blessing in my life. This is why I blog. πŸ™‚

Why do you blog?
Love Rach

38 responses to “Why I Blog

  1. You said it all so perfectly. I agree, I agree, I agree.

    And someday, we’ll meet in person!

    • Yes!! We will! And we will discuss Harry Potter over a cup of coffee. You’ll be wearing something adorably trendy (like when you pulled off the romper or the cropped top) and I’ll be slightly jealous that you manage to pull it off with such ease. But I’ll be so happy to see you in person that I’ll totally forgive you for being so adorable. And we will have the best day ever! πŸ™‚

  2. love following you sweet bella. It’s been a while since I posted on my blog, but life with 3 ages 6 and under has definitely rearranged my days a bit. I did finish my first children’s book (more details on that soon) and my second book is being illustrated while I’m writing the 3rd, so, ya know, at least theres that! Hoping to post soon, thanks for your support over the years!

    • That’s amazing news!! Congratulations, sweet lady! I miss your blogging so much! You were always such a shining light of hope. πŸ™‚ Let me know if you start blogging again regularly! I’d love to follow you. πŸ™‚ Also, tell me more about your children’s books! What is the first one titled? I’d love to read it to the kids I nanny!

  3. I love this post! I think we all blog for different reasons but deep down, the needs are the same. I’ve made friends through blogging that I’ve had for years now!

  4. When people ask me why I blog and when I answer that one of the reasons is because I have made a few friends through it I sometimes get funny looks. My favorite is when I start talking about one of my friends in Memphis πŸ˜‰ (or wherever else) and someone asks, oh how did you meet them? haha that’s a little awkward but I wouldn’t change it one bit! I hope you are having a wonderful Wednesday!

    • Haha! I’ve had that happen! Or like when I went to visit one a friend who I met through blogging earlier this year… and we went to church with them on Sunday and everyone was like “oh, how did you guys meet?” and we are like in the middle of no where Louisiana and people are like “oooh… through the internet… how terrifying…” πŸ˜‰ It was fine honestly, but kind of funny. I don’t think too much of it because I’m so used to it, but I can see how it seems weird to people who haven’t experienced it before. πŸ™‚

  5. I started blogging for the record keeping too. It’s the last two things that I’ve come to care about WAY more though over the last few years. It’s amazing what friendships have been born out of sitting in front of this screen!!! Keep it up. The records are just the bonus now! πŸ™‚

  6. This was so sweet! You truly are an inspirational person, Rach. πŸ™‚ So glad to have met up with you here in the blogging world.

    -Tia

  7. I love reading your blog, Rach! πŸ™‚ And I hope everything is okay!

  8. These are definitely similar to why I blog. The friendships, the continued knowledge, the new and fun recipe ideas, and there is just something about sharing my life with people that I love!

  9. I just cried! I’ve had an emotional day and when I saw the picture of us, I cried. I love you sweet friend and am so thankful for blogging because of you!

  10. Another fantastic post, these last two have been some of my favorites. I like a little understanding and an inside look. Also, as a new blogger I like the possibilities of what could come, friendships and “meeting” people all over the world. Thanks for the encouragement and honesty!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  11. Love reading about why you blog (and how you started!) The friendships I have made through blogging are really amazing! It really is such a supportive community. Also, the new header looks awesome!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  12. My reasons for blogging are very similar to yours. I like sharing certain prts of my life and sharing my recipes. I also love the blogging community too.

  13. Well said! I too am amazed at the friendships I have made while blogging!! And while I never – up to this point – paused to ask myself why I continue to blog, I know that I do for the very same reason… To keep up with those ‘conversations’ and relationships that I have established. πŸ™‚

  14. Great post and lovely to read about why you blog. It’s such a fabulous community to be a part of.

  15. I totally agree with a personal blog being a great way to track parts of our lives. I have gone back to my old posts a few times and I love reliving the emotions and experiences of the time when I wrote those posts. While I could just do this in a journal, the community is one of the most exciting parts about blogging. πŸ™‚

  16. I really enjoyed reading this. You always do such a great job making this a thoughtful, encouraging space! xo

  17. i love this!
    i’ve been having so many incredible conversations with people about why they blog and what keeps them going…and you just explained it perfectly!

  18. Same for me, but it’s the creative outlet that I’m addicted to. Friendships/support system a close second.

  19. Pingback: The classiest wedding I’ve ever attended |

  20. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

Leave a Reply

