Pioneer Woman’s Rib Eye Steak with Whiskey Cream Sauce

Three years ago I made a note to myself that I wanted to make The Pioneer Woman’s Rib Eye Steak with Whiskey Cream Sauce. It looked and sounded delightful. But in general when we cook at home we tend to pick healthier meals that don’t cost just a ton. And Rib-Eye Steaks don’t come cheap. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Well, the opportunity finally came earlier this week!ย Monday was Christopher’s first day at his new job and I felt like a steak and potato dinner was needed for celebration. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I pulled out this recipe and oh-my-gracious, I am glad I did! It is like a little taste of heaven.

whiskey

First you have to have whiskey. True story, I’ve never bought whiskey before. Ever. I’d never even tasted it. I honestly didn’t realize that you couldn’t get it at your grocery store. It took me a good minute before I realized that you have to go to an actual free standing liquor store. Ha! I walked into the liquor store and immediately someone walked up to me and asked if they could help me. Either I looked totally lost or they figured I was underage. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I explained to him that I needed the smallest bottle of whiskey they had and they told me to just ask the clerk for a “two shot bottle” that they keep behind the desk at the front. Turns out, it was the perfect amount! I used exactly half of my two shot bottle for the recipe which is perfect because it gives me just enough to make it again! ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, and Christopher and I both tried whiskey from the bottle for the first time… he took the smallest sip and I had like two drops in my mouth… and both of us made this horrible face at each other. And then grabbed our noses as they started to burn. It was terrible. I’m not sure how anyone drinks that stuff. But then I guess it’s like a lot of things – just an acquired taste. But I digress…

rib eye steak with whiskey cream sauce

pioneer woman's rib eye steak with whiskey cream sauceClick recipe card to see larger. Original recipe from the Pioneer Woman. Because she’s the bomb dot com. ๐Ÿ˜€

You guys, it’s unreal how good this was. Like, there just are not words for how amazing it is. I actually fudged just a little and bought one rib eye steak and one sirloin steak. I just wanted to know if it would be just as good. The rib eye was better, but the sirloin was pretty amazing too! And rib eye isn’tย something we’d buy often (I mean, $14/lb… my gracious!). But we will totally make this recipe again, but with a cheaper cut of meat! And if we have something exciting to celebrate again then we might go all out and get rib eye steak again! ๐Ÿ™‚ We plan to make this sauce again and put it over burgers this weekend. My mouth is watering just thinking about it! You guys, make it. Seriously. Do it. You won’t regret it!

Are there any recipes that you save for special occasions?ย 
Have you made any Pioneer Woman recipes? I love them all!
Love Rach

 

35 responses to “Pioneer Woman’s Rib Eye Steak with Whiskey Cream Sauce

  1. I LOVE Pioneer Woman!!! But yea, she is definitely not my source for healthy recipes!!! I’m glad to see this post… I’ve never tried whiskey either, and I feel like that would have automatically kept me away from trying a recipe like this. I’m glad to hear that you guys loved it even though you didn’t like the whiskey by itself! Also, fun fact: in Wisconsin, our grocery stores have full liquor stores as part of the store. Is that not the same everywhere?!

    • Oh wow! I had no idea! Maybe because it’s the South? I don’t know. Down here they have beer in grocery stores and sometimes wine, but that’s about it. That’s why I found myself so confused standing in Whole Foods walking back and forth past the 1000 beer choices trying to find something that said “whiskey”. Then I finally it hit me… I have to go to a Liquor store! Ha! So maybe it is a north/south thing? I dunno! But yes, you should definitely try this recipe. It is SO good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I wish I could see your faces as you tasted the whiskey! Hahaha! I bet it was amazing! How is he liking his job?

    • Haha! Oh man, our faces were priceless I’m sure. That stuff is STRONG! But oh my goodness, mixed with the other ingredients to make the whiskey cream sauce… unreasonably delicious! I am so excited to put it over burgers tomorrow, haha! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Oh, and he’s liking his new job! I blogged about it today. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That sounds delicious! I’m definitely saving the recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Tia

  4. That’s a great point – the sauce would be good on burgers too! And much cheaper than the steak! It looks and sounds delicious. I’m so hungry right now!

    • Seriously! I bought the ground beef (and ground bison oddly enough) today to make burgers this weekend and I’m SO excited already, haha! I’m telling you, whiskey cream sauce is unreasonably good. There is no reason it should be SO amazing, but it is! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. A sauce with whiskey in it? I think my husband might just get a little bit excited about this if I made it for him.

  6. um.. yum!! we rarely have steak at home (it’s more like an eat-out-treat) but i think i’ll pull a rachel and make this when jon has a good day at work!

    • Yeah, that’s how we are too! We’ve made steak at home only a handful of times in the years we’ve been married. It’s either when we find it on clearance because it has reached it’s sale by date or if we’re celebrating something special. It’s just such an expensive thing to buy so we usually leave it to restaurants as well. But oh my, I’m glad we made this. Seriously, if you guys like steak… you need to try this!

  7. Looks absolutely delicious! I always enjoy Ree’s recipes! She is super talented and her recipes always turn out so good!

    P.S. Your right…she is the bomb dot com! =)

  8. I love it when a recipe finally gets a test run!!! This one has actually been on my “someday” list top. I’m glad to know that it’s worth it.

    I’ve never had straight whiskey either….I just can’t bring myself to drink! Yours and Christopher’s reactions describe my exact reasons as to why I haven’t. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh girl, if this has already been on your list then you definitely need to try it! It is seriously SO good! Don’t let the fact that whiskey on it’s own is horrible deter you. Because trust me, this whiskey cream sauce is absolutely amazing! I’m making it again tomorrow to serve over burgers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. This looks so delicious girl!

    theglowwithin.com

  10. Such a fun celebratory dinner!! I am not a drinker really so I also don’t really get the appeal of drinking straight anyyyy alcohol! Bleh!

  11. Haha…I love this whiskey story! No wonder it took you so long to cook this recipe–you had to be dedicated! But it sounds like it wad worth it! I have never had whiskey either…the closest I’ve gotten is drinking that nasty Chinese baijiu with the snake in the bottle!

  12. Pingback: Talking about the new job |

  13. You’ve sold me! I’m definitely making this. I actually made a PW recipe today: French silk pie. It was soooo good. Also, whiskey straight up makes my nose burn too. Jordan actually likes it. I bought him a whiskey glass last year for Christmas, and he’ll put a little in the glass and sip on it over a few hours. Needless to say, there’s always some around for baking. If you like carrots, you should try her whiskey glazed carrots. They’re good.

  14. I love the Pioneer Woman! I don’t like steak but the sauce sounds delicious. Putting it on a burger sounds amazing. I will have to try it for sure!

  15. This looks so good! Anything Pioneer Woman is always amazing. Funny storyโ€ฆSteve actually went through a whiskey phase (well, scotch. But apparently it’s just whiskey from Scotland?) For about two years, he was a pretentious scotch drinker. A few months ago, he decided to try it again, and he HATED it. He just randomly lost his taste for it. I don’t know how he liked it in the first placeโ€ฆit tastes exactly like the smell of nail polish remover!

    • I honestly didn’t know that Scotch was just Whiskey from Scotland. That cracks me up! It’s like how Champagne is just sparkling wine made from grapes from the Champagne region in France. I just learned that this year. It’s like a whole different world of languages that I’m totally illiterate in, haha! I honestly don’t know how anyone could like whiskey (or you know, Scotch, in Steve’s case), but one of our friends took a swig of the bottle this weekend and didn’t make a face at all. I just stared at him like he had two heads, haha! I guess it’s an acquired taste? And maybe Steve just lost his acquired taste for it? Weird!

  16. Pingback: Whiskey Bacon Burgers |

  17. Pingback: Weekend Happenings |

  18. Pingback: Pioneer Woman’s Chili |

  19. I agree with you! This is an amazing steak and sauce. In fact our family has been enjoying it for years and I’m planning to make it for my husband’s Father’s Day dinner.

Leave a Reply

