Whiskey Bacon Burgers

Oh my gracious, you guys. We made the best burgers ever this past weekend. Seriously, the best. So unreasonably good.

It’s a little ironic that I’m about to share a massively cholesterol filled recipe mere days after talking about how we are working to lower Christopher’s cholesterol level. But I had actually already grocery shopped for last week by the time we got Christopher’s results so it would have been wasteful not to make the burgers we had on the menu plan. Plus, his PCP recommended moderation, not total elimination of cholesterol. And I’m so glad we made these burgers. Because they were, as I said before, the best.

Remember how I made those Rib Eye Steaks with Whiskey Cream Sauce last week? And I raved about them. And mentioned that we wanted to try that whiskey cream sauce over burgers. Yeah, that was a moment of brilliance. Then I kept thinking about it and the things I love most on burgers. Colby jack cheese, bacon, grilled onions… what if these things all came together to make the ULTIMATE burger? Well, this past weekend… they did. I give you what I call the Whiskey Bacon Burger:

whiskey bacon burgersThe next time I make these, I’ll make sure we have better lighting and plating so there’s a prettier picture. But I just couldn’t wait to share the recipe. It was too amazing not to share immediately! 🙂

whiskey cream sauceOooh the whiskey cream sauce… how delightful! This is the amount that one recipe made (just enough for four burgers). We made them for friends and Brodie said next time we need to double the sauce recipe so he can drown his burger in it, haha! And trust me, we will definitely be making these again!

grilled onionsSome sauteed onions to top off the burgers. As well as bacon. I totally forgot to photograph the bacon. But it was there. And delicious.

whiskey bacon burgersWe made beef burgers and bison burgers and topped them with colby jack cheese.

whiskey cream sauceGoodbye whiskey cream sauce, you were amazing. Every delicious bite!

christopher and brodieOur grill masters in adorable matching aprons. 😉 Christopher and Brodie = #besties 😀

whiskey bacon burgers

whiskey bacon burgers

The burger part of this recipe was based off Steakhouse Burgers from Once Upon a Chef

The Whiskey Cream Sauce is from the Pioneer Woman

You guys, the pictures do not do this burger justice. The burgers themselves are delicious, but topped with the colby jack cheese, grilled onions, bacon, and whiskey cream sauce… um, oh my gracious. Amazing. The general consensus of the night was that they were awesome and needed to be made again pronto! 🙂 Just maybe after we have a couple of grilled fish dinners first. 😉

Have you ever had a moment of brilliance with a meal idea?

Also, I am still accepting fish recipe ideas! Thanks for the ones you’ve shared so far! 🙂

Love Rach

28 responses to “Whiskey Bacon Burgers

  1. Umm. I’ll take one of those right now. For breakfast. Yum. It looks and sounds perfect.

    • ​Oh man, I would eat one for breakfast too! I’d eat one pretty much any time of the day, haha! It’s too bad they aren’t exactly the healthiest food ever. 😉 Oh well, we will definitely still be eating them from time to time. SO good! ​

  2. When we make it for a visit I want to try these 😉

  3. These burgers look delicious! I definitely want to try that whiskey cream sauce! Justin and I have fallen in love with a sauce (though…it’s not homemade. I rarely make sauces from scratch). Campell’s soup makes these skillet pouches, and they have a thai green curry flavor that we tried one time, and it’s been our favorite ever since then! It’s so easy to pour it into a skillet over chicken and put that on white rice. It’s my favorite! http://www.amazon.com/Campbells-Skillet-Sauces-Lemongrass-9-Ounce/dp/B00A9OS6PI

    On Wed, Oct 29, 2014 at 8:21 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Oh my gracious, you guys. We made > the best burgers ever this past weekend. Seriously, the best. So > unreasonably good. It’s a little ironic that I’m about to share a massively > cholesterol filled recipe mere days after talking about how we are working > to”

  4. Yumm! These look so good. Okay, I need to try this soon!

  5. Oh my, those burgers sound DELISH! I’ll have to make them for my hubby sometime, because he would LOVE them! 🙂

    This Panko-crusted cod is AMAZING! (I ended up topping the fish with the tomato-basil relish and then baking it, as apposed to topping it with a cold relish). And it was SO good!!!
    http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/panko-crusted-cod

  6. Whiskey cream sauce? Oh myyyyyyyyyy! I need these burgers in my life!

    theglowwithin.com

  7. YUM! now just need french fries with that burger.

  8. My husband would love these! We specialize in homemade burgers at our restaurant, so this is right up his alley, although he says he’s trying not to eat burgers every single day of the week—-so far the salad diet this week is not going as he had planned haha

    I don’t eat red meat, but I bet this whiskey cream sauce would taste good on chicken as well!

  9. i love the photo of the boys in the aprons! and it made me laugh that you’re *already* using whiskey in your recipes again 🙂 i guess when you find a good thing…

  10. Those look amazing! We’re trying to eat healthier as well, but definitely taking a “things in moderation” approach too!

  11. Gotta love the matching aprons. 🙂 These look delish!

  12. oh. my. gosh.
    stop the madness
    i am drooling!

  13. Ummm, YES!!! These look amazing! Moment of brilliance for sure 🙂 And those matching aprons are awesome!

Leave a Reply

