Behind the Scenes Look at Filming a TV Show (Fix It & Finish It)

Back in August I shared a little bit of the Behind the Scenes of our day with Fix It & Finish It, but I couldn’t share a lot of the details or anything that might end up on the show. So now that the show has aired I can finally share with you a little more in depth behind-the-scenes look! ๐Ÿ™‚

rach and christopher with lauren (fix it & finish it)

First up, I have to tell you guys about Lauren. She was the associate producer of the show and she was the bomb dot com. The other producer (Collin) was alsoย very friendly – really everyone was nice to us, haha! But Lauren holds a special place in our hearts. She really had a way about her that helped put us at ease during our interviews. Well, as much “at ease” as you can feel with the camera crew hovering about, ha!

To give you an idea of how the interviews looked, I’m going to share a clip with you guys. You can see that Lauren is standing right beside the camera guy and asking us the questions. We are supposed to maintain eye contact with her (never looking directly into the camera). And we have to answer in full sentences because her questions won’t be aired – just our responses.

As you can hear from Lauren, I did indeed hit the wall with the sledgehammer a couple of times (and tore down a lot of the drywall) so don’t let the fact that they didn’t air any of that fool you into thinking I just stood idly by. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Though Iย mean… Iย did enjoy watching Christopher go all beast on the wall and rip it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

fix it and finish itThis is us working on the home owners’ project in the backyard. ‘Cause you know, it’s totally normal to have three different camera angles and two sound guys making sure they record every thing we do and say. ๐Ÿ˜‰

fix it and finish itMore of us working on the home owner’s project with Ashley (the designer)

fix it and finish itYuuuup… there’s a hole in the side of my ย house… but oh man, we were SO excited to go from INSIDE our house directly into the backyard!

fix it and finish itAnd up goes the door! As a behind the scenes note… nearly every single thing we did during the day, we had to do at least 3 times (sometimes more) just to be sure that they got every angle shot and word spoken that they needed to record. So they actually had to put up and take down this door three times just to be sure they got it all. Yikes!

fix it and finish itAs a staging note…ย Ever notice how books always match the room in these home renovation shows? That’s all thanks to covers put on them! The staging crew spent lots of time covering our books in neutrals and blues so they would match the room. ๐Ÿ™‚

And finally, here’s a real look at what happens behind the scenes during an actual filming. This is our third take of walking in the door and greeting Antonio just before the Big Reveal!

I love that this video gives you a little bit of a better idea of how things went. Pretty much everything was a slow process of multiple takes and angles. The only thing the entire day that we did only once was the big reveal afterย we walked into the room. That was a one take deal so there is always a lot of pressure to make sure it’s perfect.

What’s funny is that at the very end of our Big Reveal, Christopher and I are quietly sitting on the couch, holding hands and whispering to each other about how happy we are… and then all the sudden someone yells “CUT!” and it’s all over. I nearly jumped out of my skin, haha!ย It was a fun process, though! And I’m glad I could share a little bit of it with you.

Nearly all of these photos and videos are thanks to Brandon Toney (the husband of our designer). He was there documenting the day which was awesome because I wasn’t able to do it. So thanks to Brandon! ๐Ÿ™‚ Last post on Fix It & Finish Itย coming up soon!

Love Rach

 

 

29 responses to “Behind the Scenes Look at Filming a TV Show (Fix It & Finish It)

  1. it always makes me giggle when they cover books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I never knew that’s what they were doing in these shows! When I saw them doing it I was like “oooooh! I get it now!” Haha! I guess I always thought they just happened to pick books that were within the right color scheme. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. What a cool experience! It is amazing to think about how much goes into to making the final product look effortless and easy!

  3. so totally awesome – what an experience!!!! Thanks for giving us a sneak peak behind the scenes…fascinating!

  4. So cool! i love getting the insider scoop! What did they use to cover the books? Paper? That must’ve taken foreverrrr

    • Yeah, it was paper. But paper made specifically for staging. The part of the paper that would cover the spine of the book was often a different color than the rest of the page. I’m not sure where they got it. It was pretty, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. “I like to smash things” hahaha.

  6. So interesting! I love how hard you slammed the door ๐Ÿ™‚ Super cool to see how they do it behind the scenes! I always wonder about stuff like this when I watch shows. I bet you watch them differently now. Congrats again on your awesome new room!

  7. That’s an awesome video! I love that there was someone there getting pictures and videos just for you because I know you would have been doing it if you could.

  8. I didn’t realize the amount of work that went into filming these shows! I wouldn’t have been able to keep a straight face!

  9. This is SO fun! I love seeing all the behind the scenes footage. ๐Ÿ™‚ Such an exciting experience.

  10. Pingback: Bricks in the Wall {Fix It & Finish It} |

  11. It sounds like everyone was so nice and helpful- what an incredible experience!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  12. I wouldn’t have been able to stand there with my eyes closed and film that walking through the door part over and over again…I would have wanted to peek and see the new room! I can even see Antonio opening the door but making you guys keep your eyes closed. What a tease! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Haha! Well, thankfully we didn’t have to walk in the room more than once. Just after that behind the scenes video cut off, Antonio re-opened the door and led us through it for the first time. That was the beginning of the big reveal which thankfully was only filmed once, ha! It was hard to stand there with my eyes closed knowing that the door was open at one point and I could look in if I wanted. But I wanted to be surprised! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. So cool to see the behind the scenes! You really don’t think about how the filming goes down when you watch home reno showsโ€ฆit all looks so natural and spontaneous! I love your slam in the last video haha. And I agree with Rachel ^^ I would have been so impatient to get past filming the greeting and finally see the room!

  14. This was such a cool look behind the scenes! I never knew people had to often re-film scenes, especially simple intros like “what’s up!” and closing a door!! It probably made it even more fun in the end!

  15. I’ like to know under
    what criteria ,they choose the participants for the fiixing And finishing help,And how hard is to be selected,is it something you have to buy or pay for?

    • Hi there! I’m not sure what all criteria they used in choosing our home. I know they liked our story and they knew the space was one they could do in one day. But other than that, I’m not sure what other criteria there was.

      No, this wasn’t anything we paid for. The local Memphis businesses donated their time, services, and goods to do this room for us. Which was pretty awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

