Bricks in the Wall {Fix It & Finish It}

Okay friends, this post is my attempt to wrap up the end of our Fix It & Finish It updates. No doubt I will mention it again in the future, but I think it’s probably time to move on to all the other things that have been happening with us lately. πŸ™‚ But first! My final (for now) Fix It & Finish It post! For those of you who didn’t get to see the episode, I wanted to share some of my favorite moments. πŸ™‚

fix it and finish it (1)Christopher and I explaining to Antonio why we don’t use this room and what our vision for it is. {of course he already knows all of this, but we needed to say it for the cameras}

fix it and finish it (2)“Meeting” Dave, the builder for our project. Except that we had previously met Dave a couple of weeks before when he came to get measurements for the project. Here he is explaining the game plan to us (which is essentially: smash wall).

fix it and finish it (3)Christopher taking the wall out. #BEAST

fix it and finish it (4)Christopher still working hard on the wall. They didn’t air it in the episode, but I spent a good chunk of time tearing down drywall. I promise I wasn’t totally useless, haha! (also, you can totally see Christopher’s mic here!)

fix it and finish it (5)Sharing a laugh with Antonio (telling him how glad I am to see this wall come down!). Also, excuse my crazy hair. That’s what I get for constantly removing my mask to talk on camera to having to put it back on to tear out dry wall. πŸ˜‰

fix it and finish it (7)You can barely see him, but that’s Christopher in there swinging away and knocking out the wall! Again I say… #beast πŸ™‚

fix it and finish it (8)Jumping through the HOLE IN MY HOUSE! Directly from inside the house to our back yard. I was (clearly) super excited! πŸ˜€

fix it and finish it (9)In Christopher’s words, “See the doorway I’ve made for you.” πŸ™‚ I love that we both have our arms up – clearly we were super pumped!

And then the emotional part… the BIG REVEAL! Where we get to see the room for the first time. This was the only thing all day long that they only filmed once. So these are our genuine reactions to seeing everything for the first time. πŸ™‚

fix it and finish it (10)We were so overwhelmed by everything they had done for us that it was hard to believe that this moment was actually happening. It felt so surreal. Just before we had come home for the big reveal we were talking about how amazing all of this was. That Fix It & Finish It chose us. That a local Memphis builder (Dave Moore) was willing to donate his time, crew, labor, and supplies to renovate this room. That a local Memphis designer (Ashley Toney) was willing to donate her time, expertise, and furniture to complete the space. You guys, they were not paid to do this. It was a gift to us. So with that in mind, you can see why we were so overwhelmed. All of this… was a gift to us.

fix it and finish it (11)Christopher: “There’s a patio…” You guys, if you haven’t seen the Big Reveal clip… watch it just for this moment. I love how he says it. It’s not the words, but the depth of emotion behind them. And just how excited we both are. πŸ™‚

fix it and finish it (12)Both of us just completely overwhelmed and grateful. Definitely an emotional moment.

In case you missed any of these posts, here there are from the beginning:

Fix It & Finish It
A Humbling Experience
Well… We were on TV today…
Oreo sees the new room!
Behind the Scenes Look at Filming a TV Show

Love Rach

30 responses to “Bricks in the Wall {Fix It & Finish It}

  1. I can’t wait to see it when we come visit! I love the last picture!

  2. I looooove the photo of you jumping through the hole in the wall – I mean, the door that Christopher made you. πŸ™‚ I totally got teary eyed watching the reveal. Such an awesome experience!

  3. Love the picture of you jumping through the door Christopher made for you! Looks like a fun experience! Such an amazing and greatly deserved gift.

  4. I really do think that it is SO cool that you were blessed in this way… AND featured on a TV show! πŸ™‚ So I’d never get tired of hearing about it… Ha, ha. All of the pics are just great. AND I don’t doubt for a second that you got dirty and sweaty helping out with the projects too!!! πŸ™‚

  5. This is seriously just the coolest experience! I love that it happened for you guys, and I love that you blogged all about it so we could see a little of the behind the scenes!

  6. Aww..this is your final post? I really loved reading about the whole experience and so I’m definitely going to miss hearing about Fix It and Finish It! On the whole, really happy for you guys πŸ™‚ And you know just a little suggestion, you should do a video post, you know? πŸ˜‰ give us a tour of the room and the patio showing us everything from the furniture, wall hangings and all that they added to make your empty dark room beautiful πŸ™‚

  7. I couldn’t believe that they made that patio for you either! My mom and I were watching, and we said, “Well, I guess Rach and Christopher will have to pour a concrete slab or something outside their new door later on…” But as soon as we said that, they started putting down patio tiles for you outside the door. My mom and I couldn’t believe it! πŸ™‚

  8. Rach!!!! I just read all of these posts and watched the videos and I am blown away! The room is GORGEOUS and I loved all the behinds scenes stuff you included. πŸ™‚

    I almost cried for you guys when I watched the video from their site that you linked to! Yay!

  9. I love how all these photos capture your emotions so well! I wish I would have seen the episode! What an awesome experience to be a part of, and something you’ll remember forever! xx

  10. awww rachel!! the reveal is so, so happy!! i still want to see the whole episode, but i swear watching that reveal could cheer just about anyone on a bad day – your genuine gratitude is just so touching ❀ OH!! and the room is gorgeous!!!

  11. So awesome! I’m kind of in love with that picture of you jumping through the hole in your house. Haha. You so deserve all this awesomeness, lady!

  12. That is AWESOME! So glad you guys could have such a cool experience πŸ™‚

  13. “See the doorway I’ve made for you”…awesome!! I love LOVE that you guys got to have this experience. These posts just make my heart so happy!

  14. Pingback: 2014 Mini Recap |

  15. Pingback: Pet Organizer aka My Husband, the Carpenter |

  16. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

Leave a Reply

