A whirlwind trip to Ohio

Saturday morning we woke up at 4:30am and were sitting on a plane by 6am. We flew up, up and away to Chicago and then on to Columbus, Ohio. We returned home at midnight last night. It was certainly a whirlwind trip without much sleep, but it was absolutely wonderful! So why were we in Columbus, Ohio, you might ask? Well, my oldest sister lives in the Czech Republic with her husband and two children andΒ they are currently in Ohio for a business trip so we flew up to see them!

rach and melissa and kidsMy sister Melissa and I holding her two kiddos. I’ve got Katarina and Melissa’s holding Marek.

rach with katkaThat’s my niece, Katka. She’s about to turn 7 going on 17. She’s clever and sweet. Also, she loves Starbucks and has a regular drink (vanilla steamer, thankyouverymuch) which makes her a pretty cool 7 year old in my book. πŸ˜‰

marek and christopherMarek was attached to Christopher aboutΒ 24/7. Really, whenever Katka wasn’t climbing on him, Marek was there. They both love their uncle Christopher. And I mean, I can see why. He’s pretty much my favorite too. πŸ˜‰

ohio state uniWhile we were in Columbus we visited the Ohio State campus. Christopher wanted to see the Buckeyes field so we walked through an open gate, past several people who smiled at us, and walked intoΒ the stadium. We took a few pictures and then turned around to walk back and found out that the gate we had walked in was now padlocked. O_O Thankfully we found the locker room and there was a very friendly, very understanding man who let us out, haha! We began to worry that we’d accidently kidnapped our nephew (Melissa, Matus, and Katka hadn’t walked in with us). It makes for a good story, though. πŸ˜‰

playgroundWe played on the playground (yes, Katka managed to convince us both that we needed to slide down the slide with her… it’s entirely possible that I got stuck halfway down, ha!).Β We sat in a couple of coffee shops. We played dolls and trucks and ran around in circles. We ate good food (my brother-in-law makes delicious salmon!). We talked a lot. It was a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚

katka and marekI even did a little mini photo session with them on Sunday afternoon. There is something about black & white that just seems so perfect for family photos. πŸ™‚

melissa's famYes, yes, that black and white… I love it! πŸ™‚ My sister Melissa, her husband Matus, and their two kiddos Katarina and Marek. πŸ™‚

us with the kidsChristopher and I with our niece and nephew. We sure do love these kiddos! πŸ™‚

We had a fabulousΒ weekend in Columbus even if it was a short one. The weather was perfect, the city was gorgeous (especially the German Village where we spent most our time), the changing leaves were brilliant, and best of all the company was wonderful. πŸ™‚ So glad we got to see my sister’s family!

Love Rach

27 responses to “A whirlwind trip to Ohio

  1. Those black and white photos turned out beautifully! Sounds like you had a great weekend with family.

  2. Whenever you and Christopher have kids….you will make an adorable family. Just sayin. πŸ˜‰ SO glad you were able to see your sister!

  3. Yay- so nice to see family! What a sweet blessing for all of you. The pictures turned out beautifully too:)

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  4. How fun! It’s so great that those kiddos get to grow up overseas. I’m glad you got to visit family – and that you weren’t locked in the stadium for too long!

    • Haha! Oh my goodness, I’m so glad the stadium thing turned out the way it did! I started to get pretty nervous as we walked around to all the gates and they were all padlocked shut! Thankfully the guy who let us out was super nice to us about it. πŸ™‚

  5. So fun that you got to spend time with your sister and her ADORABLE kiddos! I love all of these pictures. And I’m pretty sure your niece is the coolest kid ever for having a regular Starbucks order haha.

  6. Awwww, it sounds like SUCH a fun time! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that you were able to see your sister and her family!! (AND I love that your niece has a signature, Starbucks drink! πŸ™‚ Now that I’m preggo and avoiding caffeine as much as possible, the vanilla steamer is actually my go-to beverage whenever I stop at Starbucks! So I agree that it’s absolutely amazing)! πŸ™‚

    • Aww, that used to be my favorite drink before I discovered that I loved mochas. πŸ˜‰ And just think… it won’t be long before you can drink all the caffeinated drinks from Starbucks that you want! πŸ™‚ I can’t believe how CLOSE we are to the big day for you guys! πŸ™‚

  7. I’m glad you got to see them! It looks like yall had a blast!

  8. What a nice family visit! Too cute that your little niece has her own Starbucks order already. A girl after my own heart! lol

  9. Your niece and nephew are SO cute! That is so great that you were able to take off some time to visit them when they were in the states. I bet it is hard to live so far apart! Glad you guys had a great time in Ohio!

    • It is sad that they live so far away, but I’m happy for them and all the opportunities they have over there. My niece and I were comparing places we had traveled over the weekend and it made me laugh that a 7 year old is as well traveled as I am. πŸ˜‰

  10. Beautiful! Love that Katka already loves starbucks! haha

  11. oh gosh, the photographs are so, so lovely! and how wonderful that you were able to meet-up with your sister even if only for a short time ❀

  12. I love B&W pictures! Those are cute. Sounds like a fun trip. I’ve been to Ohio only once… a long time ago!

  13. Looks like a fun trip! The black and white pictures look amazing! You know what else is amazing? Christopher’s sweatshirt! RTR!

  14. Pingback: A Surprise Visit! |

Leave a Reply

