Sad news in our world…

Remember way back in September when I mentioned that Christopher had injured his knee playing in a basketball tournament? Well, the day he injured it, there was a physical therapist present who checked out his knee and told him that it was probably fine, but to rest for a couple of weeks and that if it didn’t get better to come in and see him (or another PT). Christopher rested his knee carefully, but it never got better. So he went to see a PT. They checked the knee again and told him to do some stretches/exercises and if the swelling/pain didn’t go away then he would need to see an Orthopedic doctor. Well, sure enough, he ended up having to see the Ortho doc. Who did an MRI. And we got the results back a week ago today.

christopher basketball(that’s him shooting there… or… flying… or something. either way, he scored!)

My sweet husband has torn his ACL & Meniscus. Which means he will have to have surgery on his knee.

christopher basketball

Long before Christopher and I started dating he has always played basketball regularly. When we started dating he was playing 2 hours a day in the afternoon, and then also for his social club as well as for an intramural team. Literally every day, he played a minimum of 2 hours of basketball and on some days he played 4-5. He just loves the sport. Even as an adult he still plays basketball every day over his lunch hour and he plays in as many tournaments as he can. And you guys, he is so good. I know, I know… you’re thinking that I’m just a biased wife, but it’s the truth and anyone who’s seen him play will vouch for the fact that he is a beast on the court. Nearly always he is one of the best (if not the best) player on the court. Partially it’s natural ability and hand-eye coordination (he’s pretty great at nearly every sport he tries), but with basketball specifically so much of his talent is from hours and hours of practice over the years.

christopher basketball

And ever since I can remember, he has always been afraid of tearing his ACL. It’s such a common injury among athletes and we’ve known several people who’ve done it. He sprained his ankle a couple of times in college and he was the worst about giving it time to heal. He would often re-injure it before it had a chance to heal properly the first time because he was so impatient to get back out on the court. Well, instead of the 6 weeks a sprained ankle takes to heal up, a torn ACL takes close to a year to heal properly. A year, you guys. So he has always been scared to death of this particular type of injury. And now he has one.

christopher basketball

He hasn’t played basketball since he injured his knee 2 months ago. This is the longest he has gone without playing basketball since he was a kid (before he started playing regularly). And he won’t be likely to get to play again for a minimum of 6 months from the time of the surgery (and up to a year or more depending on how PT goes). I have been completely amazed at his attitude, though. In college when he would sprain his ankle and not be able to play for a couple of weeks he would be so down about it. Understandably so because it’s something he loves. But he has handled this with such grace. I’m pretty sure I’d be throwing a huge fit and pity party if I had to give up something I loved for a year. But he’s taking it for what it is and brainstorming other ways to exercise that he might also enjoy (like swimming which he used to love).

teaching abby to shoot(Christopher teaching my sister Abby to shoot 5 years ago)

When I tell people that living life with Christopher makes me a better person this is such a good example of why. He handles himself with such self control and grace. Yes, he is sad about it, but he doesn’t dwell on that. He let himself grieve for the loss of basketball for about a day. And then he moved on. There’s nothing he can do about it and being upset about it won’t change things. But you better believe that we will be praying for the speediest recovery EVER from this surgery once it happens. πŸ˜‰

rach and topher(us in college before one of his basketball games -spring 2008- yes, his hair is in a bunch of tiny pony tails… I used to do that for him before every big game. He called it his good luck charm πŸ™‚ )

As we’ve been talking about this over the past week there are a couple of things we are thankful for. We are thankful for basketball and how it has been such a fun part of Christopher’s life (and will be again someday!).Β We are thankful the injury isn’t worse.Β We are thankful that there are doctors and surgeries to fix this.Β And we are thankful to have the financial means (and insurance!) to pay for this. So yes, it is sad news. I don’t want to minimize that. This will change so much of Christopher’s life over the next year. And ours together as well (especially while he is on crutches and unable to drive). But in the big picture… it’ll be okay. It’s just another bump along the road of life.

– Have you ever torn your ACL or known someone who did?Β 
– Have you ever had to give up a favorite sport/activity for a long period of time?
Love Rach

44 responses to “Sad news in our world…

  1. Ahhhh, what a bummer. Poor guy – having to sit out a year rather than play a sport he loves. I’m not surprised to read that he has had an inspiring attitude about the whole thing, though. Classic Christopher. πŸ™‚ Thoughts and prayers to you guys as you continue to process the news and make plans.

    • ​You are so right… this is totally Classic Christopher. He’s so level headed and calm about things. If it were me… well, I definitely wouldn’t be handling it as well, haha! Thanks for the prayers, friend! I will definitely keep you updated as I know more about the surgery (like when it will be). πŸ™‚ ​

  2. Wow! That really stinks. Chris is really good at basketball. I’ve seen him play so I can vouch on that too. πŸ™‚

  3. I will be keeping Christopher and you in my prayers! I don’t think I have ever had to give anything up that I love. I can’t imagine how upsetting that would be but before you know it he will be all better and playing again!

  4. So sorry to hear about your hubby’s knee. 😦 His response to the situation truly is inspiring, though!

  5. aww rachel, i’m sorry that it turned out that way. i always get frustrated when doctors advise ‘to wait and see.’ it just seems that something should be done sooner, right? and then to have the worst confirmed – i’m just so sorry. the good news, however, is that y’all are finding things to be grateful for and that you have each other to lean on ❀

  6. So sorry to hear this 😦 Praying for a speed recovery for sure. I had a friend tear her ACL in high school and a few running friends that have had some serious injuries over the years. Hopefully with rest, recovery and some PT everything will be back to normal sooner rather than later.

  7. Sorry to hear about your hubby. Believe it or not, my Shih Tzu actually had a torn ACL! He would not walk on his back paw for several days and looked like he was walking on crutches because he just held it up in the air. We had X-rays done and they came back that his ACL was torn. We’re not sure HOW since most of his time is spent lounging around, but somehow it happened. πŸ™‚ Thankfully he is much better now!

  8. Aw, I’m so sorry to hear that Rach 😦 That’s so great that he’s maintaining a good attitude though– I’m convinced that’s half the battle! I betchya the surgery will go better than expected and he’ll be back up shooting hoops again in no time πŸ™‚

  9. Aw, I’m sorry to hear that, friends. Hugs to you and Christopher both from Christina! ❀

  10. friend* not friends. Haha. Considering I’ve never even had a blog convo with Christopher it might be creepy to call him a friend too? Ahem, End of awkward comment explaining typo…..

  11. Though if I’m sending him a virtual hug I guess that’s creepy too. Okay really I’m done now. πŸ˜‰

    • Hahaha! All three of your comments made my day so much better. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement! And it’s totally okay to call Christopher a “friend” even though you’ve never talked to him. You hear enough about him that you practically know him. πŸ˜‰

  12. I’m so sorry, that’s so very hard! My hubby is very into fitness and hurt his knee a while back, and it’s been really hard on him too. I’m so glad your man is coping with the news and looking for new activities. It sounds like yall are a great support for each other!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  13. I’ve personally watched two people tear their ACL playing soccer. It was not a pleasant experience (for either of us!) That’s such a bummer. Glad he’s taking it with such a good attitude, though!

  14. I love how you finish it! “In the big picture, it will be okay”. Lovely how you both are taking it! Will definitely be praying for Christopher’s surgery and speedy recovery!

  15. Back when Nate and I were dating, I fractured my kneecap and sprained two tendons while playing sports. Nate had to carry me off the field and drive me to the ER! At the time, I was relieved that I didn’t need surgery, but – honestly – I’d probably have a stronger knee had surgery been an option for me. To this day (although it’s been over a year since it happened, so maybe I’m done experiencing that), my knee cap will randomly slide out of place if I twist the wrong way. And it’s SUPER painful!
    My dad, on the other hand, tore his ACL about a month after I had my knee sprain. (Yes, we were on crutches at the same time. Ha, ha). So he needed surgery… And although he too struggled with having to take it easy after surgery (since he loved playing sports with my friends and hiking as well), his knee healed VERY well. To the point that he says his ‘bad’ knee is now stronger than the knee that never had the injury! So sometimes he jokes that he wishes he could opt to get the other knee repaired too! Ha, ha. (Not really… because who likes surgery or recovery? But still, if it helps, tell Christopher that his knee should be CRAZY strong afterward, if he listens to the doctors and is faithful with PT)!
    I’ll be thinking about Christopher and let me know when his surgery is so that we can pray! I can only imagine how tough it is to give up something you love for so long!

    • So I read this whole comment to Christopher and it really did make him feel a lot better! He looks forward to having a knee in such great condition that he’d like to have the other one done too. πŸ˜‰

      Also, I hope your kneecap is done doing that. It sounds super painful! Hopefully it has finally healed enough that it won’t happen anymore.

      Thanks for all the encouragement, support, and prayers! I will definitely let you know as soon as we know the surgery date!

  16. What a bummer! I’m so sorry to hear about Christopher’s knee but really happy that he will make a full recovery. I only wish you guys had known about it sooner so that he could speed along his recovery. I’ll be praying for you both for a quick road back to basketball!

  17. Oh no! Poor thing. Hope he recovers quickly. Your hubs is the second person in 2 days that I have heard about with a torn meniscus.

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  18. Pingback: Walk to End Alzheimer’s |

  19. Okay, first of all I love Christopher’s good luck hair, haha!! That’s adorable. Secondly, I am so sorry about his injury. I’m sure he is super bummed out. I would be too. I also think it shows how much you care about your husband too, by the fast that you’re really bummed FOR him. It’s good to know that he has such a good attitude about his injury, though!

    • I’m glad you appreciated Christopher’s good luck hair… it took me ages to do that before every game, haha! And yeah, it’s hard not to be bummed for him as he gives up something he loves so much. But we have toured a couple of gyms with pools and I think he found one he likes. He used to love swimming (he was a lifeguard for a couple of summers) so he’s looking forward to doing that as exercise again. πŸ™‚

  20. I’m sorry to hear about Christopher’s injury 😦 Torn ACLs seem to be so common these days.
    Make sure to take good care of him after his surgery (as I know you will!) so that he can make a 100% recovery and one day in the near future he can go back to playing his favorite sport! In the meantime, you can explore other hobbies/activities that you can do together and enjoy just as much!

    Hope you guys have a relaxing weekend! xx

  21. Oh nooo. This is such sad news! I’m glad he’s able to focus on other things and find ways to exercise without basketball, but I can only imagine how much it would suck to give up something you love for a year. Hopefully he can get in for surgery soon and start recovering asap.

    • Yeah, it is pretty terrible. But he’s taking the news so well. And we went to look at a couple of gyms that have pools and I think he’s decided on one to join. It will be fun to have my chlorine smelling Christopher back again. It’s been so long since he swam regularly! I’m glad he has that at least. πŸ™‚

  22. So sorry to hear this news. Let me know wh n his surgery is so I can be praying!

  23. Pingback: Happy happy birthday! |

  24. Pingback: Headed to the hospital |

  25. Pingback: Good news! |

Leave a Reply

