Walk to End Alzheimer’s

Thanks for all of your support on our sad news earlier this week! We appreciate all the kind words and prayers. I will definitely keep you guys updated once we have a surgery date.

I’m all kinds of behind in blogging about all the things that were happening in our life during the week I was blogging about the tv show renovation. So today I want to share something special that our family did a couple of weeks ago. 🙂

walk to end alzheimer's

To support my father-in-law, who has early onset vascular dementia, Christopher and I decided to join the Walk to End Alzheimer’s this year. We made up a team name (Team Victory, naturally) and set our fund raising goal at $200 on our webpage. Thanks to the generosity of a lot of people who love my parents-in-law, our team raised $540. My mother-in-law cried when she saw how many people had donated on their behalf. She’s a sweet soul, that lady. She is the primary care giver for my father-in-law right now and so often she feels so alone. She has a great church family where she lives, but neither of her kids live in town. Which is a big part of why we try to visit them often.

all of us

Some of our Memphis friends have gotten to know my parents-in-law over the years so to support our family, they came out and walked with us too. Jacob & Courtney on the far left and Lyndal & Brodie on the far right. Christopher and I are in the middle with his parents.  It meant so much to us to that the same sweet friends who have been walking beside us figuratively during this process and being such a great support to us, were there literally walking beside us on that freezing cold morning. 🙂

flowers

At the beginning of the walk everyone gets a certain color flower based on their relationship with Alzheimer’s (care giver, supporter, afflicted, or lost someone) and writes the name of the person they know who is/was affected by Alzheimer’s. The flowers are “planted” in a garden while you walk and when you return you can take yours if you like. It’s bitter sweet seeing things like this. It breaks my heart to see how many of the flowers represented people who have lost loved ones to Alzheimer’s. But it’s also amazing to see the number of people who were care-takers and supporters of people with this disease. My mother-in-law continues to amaze me by the way she cares for my father-in-law during this time.

Have you been part of a walk/5k/marathon/etc for a cause you really cared about?

Love Rach

26 responses to “Walk to End Alzheimer’s

  1. The amount you raised is so great – more than double your goal!

    When I was in college, I did Relay for Life a few times. I remember it gave me a real feeling of peace to be around so many others there for the same cause.

  2. I’ve taken part in both ALS and cancer walks… But I would definitely love to one day take part in an Alzheimer walk as well. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but my Memere had Alzheimer’s disease. And it was so tough on the family, although everyone stuck together to make sure she received the best care possible.
    It’s a terrible disease and one that needs a cure! Thank you for supporting such a great cause!!! And hopefully one day, I’ll do my part as well! 🙂

  3. So sweet! Way to go on raising that amount! I love the pictures of all of you at the race!

  4. That last picture was so touching with the flowers. I was a camp counselor in college for kids whose parents were affected by cancer. We released butterflies in the air. It was beautiful and hear-breaking at the same time.

    xx Rakhi
    littleblissbook.com

  5. I love this! I volunteered at an Alzheimer’s center in college; It started as a school project to volunteer somewhere that intimidated me and I ended up loving it so much that I kept going even after I graduated. This reminds me that I need to schedule time to go back soon! Anyway, volunteering here made it something very near and dear to my heart, and I love that you did this for your mother and father in law!

  6. This is such a great cause! I really wish there were more events held to support it.

  7. oh, your mother-in-law crying over the large gift is so, so touching. it sounds like you have a wonderful family ❤ and i love the idea of walking with colors that signify which type of supporter you are.

  8. The amount of money you raised!! So amazing that you guys were able to raise more than twice your goal. Your in-laws sound like amazing people…so wonderful that so many people stepped up to support them! And I love the idea of different coloured flowers. You’re right…it’s so bittersweet.

  9. Wow the flower tradition is beautiful and sad at the same time. I have never done the Alzheimer’s walk but I have done the ALS walk for a co-worker and I do St Jude and LeBoneur walks/races because of friends. It is very touching at both seeing friends and strangers that have all been affected.

  10. One of my best friends does an Alzheimer’s 5k walk every year in honor of her grandpa. I love that most races donate $ to a good cause. It makes me feel better about the registration fee 🙂

    • Most definitely! And this particular walk actually doesn’t require a registration fee at all. They ask people to donate/raise as much as they can, but even if you don’t have the money to donate, you can still walk! It’s the first one I’ve ever been part of where there was no registration fee. I thought that was pretty neat. 🙂

  11. The flower tradition is so sweet. My cousin had Alzheimer’s and passed away 2 weeks ago today. That is awesome that your team more than doubled your goal!

  12. So glad you surpassed your goal! I have walked and raised money for March of Dimes, Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer, and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in the past years. My Mom has Leukemia so it’s very important to me. =) I love walking and raising money for a cause.

  13. Pingback: Our family took a walk |

  14. Pingback: Highlights Lately |

Leave a Reply

