Busy busy busy

This time of year (fall/Christmas) my photography business really kicks up a notch. I had 9 sessions on the books for this past week alone (two sessions got moved to this coming week due to rain, but still!).Β In a few minutes I’m headed out to another session. It is an awesome sort of busy. When I deposited the photography money I’ve made this past week into our bank Christopher told me to just let him know when I was ready for him to retire. πŸ˜‰ That won’t be happening any time soon, but it has been fun to pursue my photography. πŸ™‚

john chesterA lady took this photo of me doing SR photos for her son this past Friday. It was like 35 degrees and SO COLD! But the photos look amazing. πŸ™‚

Anyway, for those of you who have been asking where I’ve been – this is where. πŸ™‚ Still normal busy (church, friends, kids we mentor, nannying, etc), but add in so many photo sessions and unfortunately I’m not as present with blog writing/reading. I’ve missed hearing what you guys have been up to! I am making a point this week to catch up on some blog reading, but until I get to it… tell me what you’ve been up to! Are you getting excited about Thanksgiving & Christmas coming up?

Love Rach

29 responses to “Busy busy busy

  1. I totally get the busyness…this time of year is nuts, and I don’t even have a photography business to keep up with! Also, I looked up the weather conversion, and holy moly, 35 degrees is cold! Good for you for being brave and taking pictures in that weather πŸ™‚

    • Haha! It WAS cold! Though I don’t know if I should be complaining about cold to a Canadian, haha! By the way, I had a dream last night that you and Steve were down here visiting us and we were sitting around a table at Starbucks and sipping on our drinks. And all the sudden I worried that Christopher might have you guys confused with one of my other blog friends and I was like “This is my friend from CANADA!” while pointing at you. Like it was really important he know that. And like shouting about it in a Starbucks was totally appropriate. πŸ˜‰

  2. I am sooooo excited for the holidays! And at this point, I’m just waiting for baby to arrive. πŸ˜‰ Thankfully I’ve been keeping busy enough to help time pass, while also keeping time to rest as well. So life has been good!

  3. You are so cute taking pics! I can’t wait to see them!

  4. You are so good! Love that your photography business is picking up recently. Nothing new to report here!

  5. That is amazing that your business is doing so well!! Proud of you, girl! πŸ™‚ I am definitely ready and excited for the holidays!

  6. I am SO happy for this. You are blossoming into quite the business owner, congratulations my friend!!

  7. This time of year is crazy busy, isn’t it. I do love it though!

  8. Wow, I don’t know how you do all that you do! Seriously. I get tired out from just going to my family’s house to hang out, haha. But I’m a total introvert, so I think that’s why!

    How awesome that you’re able to make money doing something you LOVE! I hope I can be that way once I’m done with school, too!!!

  9. That’s so great! I did a family shoot for a friend last week and I have so much respect for you. Give me one person may be two and I’m good to go, a family was so hard!! Did you teach yourself and what editing software do you use? Do you have any favorite photography reads or helpful tips! I could quiz you about photography all day- I’m such a nerd!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  10. It’s so fun to see pictures of you taking pictures! It’s great when you can turn a hobby into a way to make money! πŸ™‚ My sister has the most enormous Nikon camera I’ve ever seen (she seriously looks like she needs a “press” badge when she takes that thing out and starts taking pictures). It’s a hobby that she’s been developing and getting more involved in over the years, and she takes pictures for her family and friends that are professional quality–but she refuses to take any money for them! She spends so much time on it, we keep telling her that she needs to turn it into a business! I’m looking forward to seeing you post some of these pictures!

    • She DOES need to turn it into a business! I can understand if she doesn’t want the pressure of it being a business (which is how I feel about my blog – I love to blog and write, but I don’t want to make money off of it because I want it to remain something I do on my own terms and if I need to take a break it’s easy to do that, etc. Not so much when it’s your business or livelihood). But if she’s just nervous about whether or not her work is “worth” being paid for (which is how I felt at first), then she should go for it! I finally realized last year that if people WANT to pay me for it then they think my work is worth it. I bet she does a great job! If she ever wants to talk to someone about it, I’m glad to chat with her! πŸ™‚

  11. Great post Rach! Very busy day indeed! What is your favorite restaurant? Remember to add it to your Besty List! http://www.thebesty.com/thisitalianfamily

  12. That’s awesome you are staying busy with your photography business! I am really excited about Thanksgiving. This weekend and next week are going to be crazy busy. I love it though! This year is the first year I am having Thanksgiving lunch at my house! It is just my immediate family (parents, sisters and their families) but that is 13 plus people! Then we are going to one of my Aunt’s on my mom’s side for dinner. There will be a bunch of family there. Oooo I get so excited just thinking about it! I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  13. I’m so glad you have been so busy with sessions! I love all your work. You are a talented lady!! XO

  14. Aw, I loveee that picture of you taking a picture! You’re adorbs. Getting paid to do what you already love to do is seriously the bees knees.

Leave a Reply

