Moments I want to remember

There were a lot of sad moments this past week over Thanksgiving, but there were a lot of wonderful moments as well. Today I want to share some of the wonderful moments that I want to remember.

me with daddykenI always want to remember time with my Daddy Ken. I grew up with four amazing grandparents and at 27 years old, 3 of my grandparents are still living.ย I’m so thankful my Daddy Ken lives so close to us. He is such a good man and I have been blessed to have him as such a big part of my life.

daddy kenDaddy Ken isn’t your average 87 year old. He’s still young at heart. And super active. Up until recently he has taught exercise classes for seniors at a local church. This past weekend he took us for a hike and I snapped this shot of him standing on a ledge pointing to the heavens. He’s pretty awesome.

chickensAs of this year, Daddy Ken also has chickens. This is my niece, Makenzie, holding a chicken for the first time! She was pretty proud of herself. ๐Ÿ™‚

rach and kenzSpeaking of Makenzie… I kind of adore her. She’s my oldest niece and my true little mini me. My sister is always joking that since she gave birth to my child, I am obviously going to someday give birth to one that looks like her. ๐Ÿ˜‰

christopher and wesleyAnd then there is Wesley. Our oldest nephew. Heย thinks his Uncle Christopher hung the moon. I love seeing the two of them together. ๐Ÿ™‚

glen and christopherChristopher got to spend some quality time with my sister’s husband, Glen – here there are cleaning out an old gun that once belonged to Christopher’s dad.

oreo and tonySpeaking of Christopher’s dad… as I mentioned earlier this week, his parents came to Memphis to join my family for the Thanksgiving week celebrations. Here his poor dad is attempting to watch an old western movie while our spoiled mutt curls up behind him for body heat.

vendettisI also mentioned this earlier this week already, but we were grateful to have Christopher’s parents in town with us this past week. The circumstances were heartbreaking, but it was helpful to have someone to grieve with. And we definitely had some happy times together as well. Especially when we went to the Arlington town square just after Thanksgiving to see all the lights. ๐Ÿ™‚

dad and dad in lawChristopher’s dad (left) and my dad (right) sweeping leaves off the driveway at my grandfather’s house. This was such a precious moment to me. Christopher’s dad, Tony, has dementia and struggles with a lot of things, but he loves to clean and rake and sweep and rearrange things.ย I loved how my family came alongside us to help care for Tonyย during this week when we had so much going on emotionally.

mom and dadSpeaking of my dad… he and my mom celebrated 29 years of marriage this weekend. They actually got marriedย onย Thanksgiving day in 1985. So every Thanksgiving week, they celebrate their anniversary. I’m thankful for their marriage. I have learned so much about what marriage should look like from them and I am thankful for that.

thanksgiving dinnerAnd ofย course I was thankful for Thanksgiving dinner. You guys know this girl loves her food. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Even though we weren’t at the beach we still had our traditional Low Country Shrimp Boil that we have for Thanksgiving every year. A favorite tradition of mine! ๐Ÿ™‚

EDIT: And because my sister pointed that I left out the whipped cream eating contest photos… here’s what my family does over brunch on Thanksgiving Day:

whipped cream contestUncle Charlie was definitely the victor, but Makenzie was a close second! Of course they were the only two competing, but still! ๐Ÿ˜‰

And these are just some of the highlights. It really was a week of mixed emotions. A lot of tears, but a lot of joy as well. ๐Ÿ™‚
Love Rach

29 responses to “Moments I want to remember

  1. So no pics of the whip cream contest? I just knew that was a fun highlight ๐Ÿ™‚ LUV u!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. It does look like y’all had some pretty great moments! I love the whip cream contest! Good call on your sisters part in reminding you about it! Sweet Makenzie is such a doll! How is she? Grandpa Ken is precious! I love grandpas! Especially good ones! I miss y’all!

  3. oh my gosh i love it!!!
    i love all the pictures, and what yo usaid about your family members, you’ll cherish this post for years to come!
    and a whipped cream contest – hilarious!

  4. You didn’t compete in the whipped cream competition? I get it…didn’t want to show everyone up with your mad awesome whipped cream consuming skillzzz. ๐Ÿ™‚

    So many things to be thankful for!

    • Haha! Yes, exactly! I’d hate to show everyone up. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I actually say that all the time when it comes to sports (especially basketball). “Oh, I’m just going to sit here while you guys play your little pick up game… I’d hate to go out there and embarrass you all. I’d probably dunk at least once or twice…” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Love this. So many sweet moments.

  6. Loving the focus on all the good. I’m still so sorry for all the sadness you’re feeling, but keep thinking of this positive stuff and your daddy Ken sounds JUST like my grandpa in Arizona.

  7. so glad you are able to find some sweetness in the not-so-sweet moments in life. loved seeing your recap. and the whipped cream contest is hilarious!

  8. Well I must back read because apparently I missed something, but regardless of the event it sounds like you had some good times too! My bff and I always giggle because somehow I had a daughter who is just like her in every way, funny because we could not be more opposite!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  9. I’m glad there were so many happy memories of your Thanksgiving this year. I love your grandpa! Mine are still young at hear too. I feel blessed to have 3 of my grandparents still living as well.

  10. Special moments, to be sure!

  11. your grandpa ken sounds like such a joy! i only have one amazing & lovely grandmother left, but i would give the entire world to have the others. i grew up super super close to my grandfather, but he passed away just before i met jon. i knew deep down, however, that the two woulda been BFF ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Your Thanksgiving sounds like a blast! I’m glad y’all were able to have a lot of fun times too during this hard time.

  13. It is so nice to have the support and distraction of family during difficult times. Thinking of you during this difficult time.

  14. This post makes my heart happy!! I love that even though it was an emotional Thanksgiving for you guys, there were lovely moments like these. You are such a sweet family! The whipped cream eating contestโ€ฆSO FUN!
    Oh, and at first the picture of Christopher and Wensley didn’t load, and I matched the caption for that one to the picture of Christopher and Glen. I was SUPER confused for a second, because I was pretty sure you guys didn’t have adult nieces and nephews. Then it loaded a couple seconds later, and the problem was solved ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hahaha! That makes me laugh! I look forward to telling Christopher this story tonight when he gets home from work! It’s kind of hilarious to think of Glen as Christopher’s nephew since Glen is 10 years older than Christopher is. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But then my mom is a couple of months older than one of her uncles (her grandparents adopted a baby after she was born). So it can happen!

Leave a Reply

