Guess who finally has a smart phone!

Well… it’s official… I’ve joined the 21st century. I finally got a smart phone this week. ๐Ÿ™‚ My sweet husband stood in long lines and had long conversations with AT&T reps on the phone and he managed to get a black Friday deal mailed right to our doorย overnight. ๐Ÿ™‚ So yes, my friends, I now have the Samsung Galaxy S5 and I am pretty stoked. ๐Ÿ˜€

new phoneMy lock screen! Look how cute we are. ๐Ÿ˜€

It’s taken me so long to come around to owning a smartphone for a couple of reasons. For one, I like to walk out of my house and be unconnected. I mean, yes, you can text or call me, but I don’t have access to email or social media and there is something nice about only having access to that when I sit down and make time for it at home. For another thing,ย I have a huge fear of getting so wrapped up in my smartphone that I lose touch with the people sitting in the same room with me.ย And finally, smartphones are more expensive. Not just on the front end (because hello black Friday deals!), but monthly they cost more than my trusty regular phone. It’s not that we are hard up for $$, but more that I haven’t felt aย need for a smartphone so I saw no reason to spend the extra money.

new phoneMy home screen! With my sweet little family!

However, last year Christopher got his first smartphone (the Samsung Galaxy S3 – which is why I chose that line of phones because I was already used to using his). I saw him use his phone responsibly which made me feel like I could as well. And best of all I found that I loved using Instagram on his phone. And it was so helpful to have access to GPS at all times. Not to mention always carrying around a camera in your back pocket. Soย when the black Friday deals came out – I thought this might just be the right time. ๐Ÿ™‚

elf i just like to smile phone coverAaaand my very first phone cover! Appropriate for this holiday season. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve only ย had the phone a couple of daysย and I plan toย be intentional about how and when I use itย so it doesn’t get out of hand. But you guys, yesterday morning I found myself SUPER grateful to have the phone when my little sister (the one in China) and I chatted over WeChat (an app on the phone that works similarly to Skype) all morning while I ran errands. I sent her pictures of things I was doing and we talked about her plans for the future and it was just fun. It was just like she were in the States and we were on the phone together. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, hello 21st century. I am glad to be here. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tell me friends, what are your favorite apps?
Love Rach

39 responses to “Guess who finally has a smart phone!

  1. I believe you neglected to mention your wonderful & very patient Mom who stayed on the line with AT&T twice that morning for a total of 90 minutes with the “customer retention expert” to make it possible for your sweet husband to have his hour-long conversation with the above mentioned “customer retention expert” to get that Galaxy S5. And now you are as “smart” as the rest of your family. Love you!

  2. Love both your screens and your cover!! Good for you on being intentional with how and when you use it. They are a wonderful resource (especially the GPS for someone like me who is always turned around on directions) but can definitely be abused.

    I really like my Sudoku app. It’s nice for when I’m in a waiting room or something, and I like to think it will keep my mind sharp. Obviously you know I love Instagram. I have also found an app called JotNot Pro to be very helpful for work. It’s a scanner and you can email the scanned docs to yourself or someone else. I don’t usually pay for apps but I paid for that one and it has been so handy for work when I’m away from my printer/scanner/computer.

    • Oh thanks! Those are great ideas! I don’t need a scanner app for work, but I can definitely see where it would be useful. I might just download that one. And I definitely need to download a couple of games. So far I have… zero, haha! Mostly if I’ve been stuck waiting somewhere lately, I’m just scrolling through Instagram and it keeps me plenty busy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I do need a couple of games. And ones to keep my mind sharp are a good idea!

  3. Your reasons for not getting one are EXACTLY why I still haven’t gotten one! I’m still not ready to get one, but I’m sure soon enough I will have to. It would be handy to have GPS. I get lost often. However, I 100% believe that not having quick access to GPS has helped my struggling directional skills be not so terrible.

    • Oh my goodness, I have to tell you – our GPS broke just weeks after Christopher got his smart phone last year. Since we could now use his smart phone as a GPS, it was no big deal. EXCEPT for the first time I needed to go somewhere by myself that I’d never been before and I couldn’t just put the address in my GPS because it was dead and Christopher was at work with his smartphone. So I learned to write down directions before I left my house if I was going somewhere new. I have learned the city of Memphis SO well because of this. So I am definitely thankful that I didn’t have access to a GPS for that year!

      But today my GPS on my phone sure was helpful when I got stuck in terrible traffic and I could use the GPS to see the best route to take to get around all the mess. The first two roads I tried after I saw the train stopped on the tracks were both blocked up too and then it occurred to me “I have a smart phone! It can tell me where the traffic is!” haha! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I’m so impressed that you’ve been doing IG on a desktop! I definitely prefer using it as a phone app.

  5. The camera definitely comes in handy! I like your case, too ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve definitely been with you on the “no need for a smartphone.” To this day I still have a basic phone. I just don’t feel the need for a smartphone, and without the need, I’m super reluctant to pay the extra money per month. Haha I’m sure I’ll cave eventually…but not yet.

    -Tia

  7. Can I get wechat so we can chat or will it not work on iPhone? I love your lock screen!

  8. I still don’t have a smart phone for all of the same reasons you listed above! I don’t think I’m going to crack anytime soon, either. People make fun of me because I use Instagram and Candy Crush via my computer, but I don’t care haha I’m sure you’ll be using your phone consciously though, and not get sucked into the face-glued-to-the-smartphone world haha

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I definitely understand where you’re coming from! And I definitely have been made fun of before for it too. Though it never bothered me. I was perfectly happy with my “dumb” phone. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad that I have my smart phone now, but I definitely understand your choice to not have one at this point (if ever)!

  9. FUN!
    I just got a ‘dumb’ smartphone. LOL! It’s a trac phone, so it has limitations. BUT it has a great camera and app options. IAnd it’s way better than the cheapo one I’ve been using over the past year). I’m totally excited about it!! (It just came in tonight, so I haven’t used it yet. But Nate has had one for awhile and – well – my following story is pretty similar to yours. I saw that he was responsible with his… AND I loved the idea of having that camera handy. I can pull it out for blogging purposes and be less obvious than if I pulled out my camera too, which I like).
    Have FUN with your new phone!!

    • Oh my goodness, I know! I definitely look forward to using my phone as a camera (which is totally socially normal) instead of pulling out my big ol’ camera out of my purse, haha! I’m headed to a Christmas choir concert tonight (my girls are performing) and it will be so nice to use the phone for photos and video! Definitely less conspicuous. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope you are loving your new phone now that you’ve had it for a little bit longer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Yay! That’s exciting! I hope this means I will see more of you on Instagram!!

  11. I was the same way before I got my smartphone, and I only ended up buying one because I finally broke my old one, and because it was a super cheap deal. Now I’m addicted to the darn thing and need to watch myself haha. I have had the same smart phone for over 3 years so I’m getting my use out of it at least! Thinking about a new one for Christmas.

    • Kudos to you for keeping your phone for 3 years! I was just telling Christopher last night that I hope this phone lasts the next 3 years. I’m not sure why that number felt right, but it did. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Any idea on which phone you might want for Christmas?

  12. Woohoo! I’m sad to say I’ve had a smartphone almost since they first came out on the scene. It definitely has it’s pros and cons, but it was nice to surf the web and get on facebook while i was stuck at the carwash for 30 minutes yesterday, hehe.

    • Oh my goodness, the times when I am WAITING are definitely the times when I love my smartphone the most! Waiting in lines at the grocery store, waiting in car line to pick up the kid I nanny, etc etc! Access to Instagram definitely makes the wait more bearable. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Guess I’m the only one rocking an old school phone now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hah!

  14. Yayyy!! I definitely am trying to be more intentional with my phone and not getting wrapped up in the technology of it… it’s hard sometimes!! The apps that I tend to gravitate towards are the typical Facebook, Instagram, email, and Bloglovin’. Plus I love the Timehop app, it shows you pictures from previous years that you’ve posted. It’s a great memory reminder! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. What?? Not another one succumbing to this new-fangled technology stuff. I’m stubborn, i suppose. Have fun with it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. team droid!!! i have an s4!

  17. I understand, I just upgraded and now with the blog I find myself reaching for it to often, on it to much! Recently I had had enough- so every morning once the kids get up- I hand it to them and tell them to hide it. It’s been so pleasant! It feels good, I miss a few calls and takes me a while to text back, but oh well!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  18. Ah, congrats on your new smartphone!! I totally understand the hesitationโ€ฆthe constant access to EVERYTHING can be such a problem! I love that you’re planning to use it intentionally, and that Christopher has been a good example of that. And your case is perfect!

  19. love the phone cover!!

  20. Pingback: My 13ย Favorite Apps |

Leave a Reply

