My 8 Favorite Classic Christmas Songs

In honor of the advent season, I decided to compile the ULTIMATE Christmas playlist. These are the songs that stay on repeat in our house and cars this time of year. So I wanted to share them with you guys. πŸ™‚ There are a LOT of them, so I’ve broken them up in sections. Today I want to share with you the classics. The crooners. The songs our parents grew up listening to. πŸ™‚

Β 
Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas”


Bing Crosby’s “Silver Bells” (there aren’t a lot of repeat artists on my “ultimate” list so that shows you just how much I love both this song and White Christmas!)


Elvis Presley’s “Blue Christmas”


Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song”


Dean Martin’s “Walking in a Winter Wonderland”


Frank Sinatra’s “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”


Fred Astaire’s Β “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” (beginning at 1:23)


Andy Williams’ “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

Ah, the classics… I just love these. I’m actually listening to them right now while I type this post. πŸ™‚ I love these good old crooners. The rest of this week I’ll share my other (a bit more modern) favorites! I’m excited about this week of posts! πŸ™‚

When it comes to Christmas music, do you like the crooners, or are you more of a modern music person? Or both? I’m both. πŸ™‚

For those of you who love the crooners & classics… did I leave anyone off this list?Β 

Love Rach

26 responses to “My 8 Favorite Classic Christmas Songs

  1. I love Blue Christmas! Just something about Elvis and that song!

  2. I definitely like both. These classics are great, and my favorite “modern” Christmas song would be “Last Christmas” by WHAM! Gotta love me some George Michael. HA.

  3. I love the oldies AND the “newies”! In fact, I also made a playlist on my blog this weekend. We’ve got a few overlaps, and then I have some others you may have forgotten!

  4. I love all christmas music!!!!

  5. Crooners!! That’s my favorite Christmas music. I like a few modern Christmas remakes, but mostly — I go to the crooners. I think you hit all of my favorites!

    • The crooners are just SO great! Have you listened to any Michael Buble? He’s like a new version of the crooners. I never understood what all the hype about him was until I listened to his Christmas album. I mean, I still love my old school classics, but he has a pretty great voice too! He’ll be mentioned on my Friday list. πŸ˜‰

  6. oh gosh, i feel like i *should* love the crooners (and i do, honest) but my heart is with the modern christmas jams. wait wait wait, is n’sync still considered modern?? i just know i get an insta-smile whenever i hear them belt out ‘merry christmas and happppppy hooollllidays”

  7. I love this list!! I listen to more modern Christmas songs than the crooners, but I definitely switch it up and listen to them sometimes. A few years ago, I bought a Frank Sinatra Christmas cd for $5, and it was ALL I listened to in my vehicle that year. So now whenever I hear Frank Sinatra’s Christmas music, all I can think of is being lost with the same eight songs looping around, haha. It still weirdly makes me happy! πŸ™‚

    • Aww, that is a great memory! I have a couple of CDs that I keep in my car and when I hear the songs outside my car, I’m always a little confused at first. That’s “car music”, ya know. Can’t go around mixing it with music you’d hear outside the car. πŸ˜‰

  8. Love these!! I gravitate towards the classics, but I love alllllll Christmas music! When I was younger I bought a Christmas with the Rat Pack CD and it was my absolute favorite! I loved all your picks–plus my fave, Baby it’s Cold Outside. πŸ™‚

  9. Ummm I prefer to listen to the NSYNC Christmas on repeat through the month of December. I didn’t know there were other Christmas songs… πŸ™‚

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  10. in 1999, i went through my fil’s old christmas records, making notes of which version i liked of each song. it took a weekend! then, i painstakingly downloaded them to napster (!!!) via dial up, and made a cd. i made one for traditional and one for hymns. while i have charlie brown (2nd fave), contemporary stuff, etc, those cds i made of the classics are still my fave.

  11. This post just made me SO happy! I absolutely love the classics! Thanks for sharing, Rach πŸ™‚

  12. I think my all time favorite is The Christmas Song. I feel like I’ve liked that one the longest. haha But..it’s so hard to pick just one as you know by all your different lists. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

