My 7 Favorite Angel Voices Christmas Songs

I’m not exactly sure what an angel sounds like. From Bible descriptions they are usually men and people are usually terrified when they first see them. Not exactly the happy cherub angels we think of so often, haha! But I know that there are a lot of scriptures that talk about the angels singing. And I’ve always pictured that to sound like the most beautiful female voices. That might be totally off, but since it’s what I imagine, this blog post will be all about my favorite “angel voices” singing Christmas songs. πŸ˜‰

Celtic Woman’s “O Come All Ye Faithful”Β You guys, the Celtic Woman group are just pure magic. If you haven’t heard this song before – listen to it. It’s gorgeous.

Celtic Woman’s “Hark the Herald Angels Sing”. Like I mentioned yesterday, you know I really love an artist/group when they have multiples on my Ultimate Christmas Playlist. πŸ™‚

Orla Fallon’s “Away in a Manger”

Idina Menzel’s “Do You Hear What I Hear?” You should’ve seen how excited I was when I found out that “Elsa from Frozen” (aka Idina) had made a Christmas CD. I love every song on the album, but this is my favorite! πŸ™‚

Kari Jobe’s “O Little Town of Bethlehem”Β 

Celine Dion’s “Ave Maria”

Amy Grant’s “Tennessee Christmas”. My mom grew up in Tennessee, my parents met in Tennessee and the first ten years of my life were spent in Tennessee. So I grew up listening to this song. AndΒ even long after our family had moved away from Tennessee, we still listened to this song every single year (sometimes on repeat). Fast forward to 2008… Christopher and I moved to Tennessee (Memphis) for grad school. It was SO special that first Christmas to listen to “Tennessee Christmas” on Christmas day here in TN. And we have continued listening to it every year. This song really does say “Christmas is here!” to me. πŸ™‚

Did I leave any of your favorite “angel voices” off my list?
Love Rach

21 responses to “My 7 Favorite Angel Voices Christmas Songs

  1. I need to dl these! I need a Christmas cd so why not start here!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is a great list. When we were in Paris we went to the Sacre Coeur one night and there happened to be nuns singing. I literally had goosebumps head to toe and thought “this is what angels sound like”.

  3. Those are all definite powerful, angel voices! Great round-up!

  4. I’m so excited to listen to these songs! I’m listening to the first one as I type this, and their voices are BEAUTIFUL! And Idina Menzel and Kari Jobe? YES!

  5. I had no idea Idina had a Christmas cd, I bet my daughter would LOVE it. I only have one and it’s Glee Christmas, must have been a gift or something, anyway she has been playing it on repeat, moving all the furniture and dancing to it until she exhausted. It’s very cute, but I would love to hear some new tunes;)

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  6. Thanks for sharing these! I love the first one and Oh Little Town of Bethlehem. And pretty much all of them, but I thought I’d mention my favorites πŸ™‚

    I love the “angel voices” spin on these songs. Absolutely beautiful!

  7. Ah yes, these all fit the bill!

  8. Great picks! I always picture sweet female voices as angel voices too! The biblical descriptions of angels seem slightly terrifying…..
    The Doctor Diva

  9. I am convinced that Josh Groban’s voice is straight from heaven. His version of O Holy Night is my favorite! And I love Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant.

  10. Tender Tennessee Christmas is the one we always started when we began to trim the tree–in Tennessee, in Arkansas, in China, and back in the USA. Her voice and the lyrics speak to me of home (here on earth, anyway) more than any other at Christmas. I love the Celtic Woman Christmas album. Their voices truly do sound like what I think an angel choir would sound like.

  11. Idina Menzel is just amazing!

Leave a Reply

