My 9 Favorite Harmonious Christmas Songs

Of all the playlists I’m sharing with you this week, these songs are probably the ones that get played on repeat the most this year. I mean, don’t get me wrong – I have been playing ALL of this Christmas music non stop, but these songs sometimes get put on a loop. Because I love harmony. I love the way that voices blend together and make something beautiful. So yes, my friends… enjoy!

N’Sync’s “O Holy Night” This one is practically a classic. At least in my life span. 😉 I know a couple of you are going to be excited to see N’Sync finally make the list. I sure do love me some 90’s boybands!

Cary Brother’s “O Holy Night” I’m trying not to have too many repeats of the same song on these lists (the idea is to pick my favorite version of each song). But where the N’Sync version of it takes me back to my high school days, this one touches my heart. It is absolutely beautiful.

Pentatonix’s “Little Drummer Boy” This is definitely the song that has been repeated the most this holiday season. Love, love, love it. I’ll be blogging more about it later!

 

Forte Femme’s “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”

The Piano Guys’ “Angels We Have Heard On High” I love how unique this is and yet still so beautiful. If you haven’t watched this video – you should. It’s amazing what you can do with a piano!

Pentatonix’s “Angels We Have Heard On High” Oookay, I know I keep saying that I don’t want to put up repeat songs or artists, but I love this version just as much as The Piano Guy’s version!  Sooo… I’m putting both on my list. 🙂

MercyMe’s “What Child Is This?” This song takes me back to when we lived in China of all places. For Christmas one year, I got a CD with this song on it while we were living in China and I listened to this song on repeat for weeks. And it’s all because of the “Hallelujahs” around the 2 minute mark. So beautiful.

Catcus Cuties’ “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” Not only are the adorable, but I love when they harmonize (beginning around 1 minute into the song).

Pentatonix’s “Mary Did You Know?” I love, love, love this song. I first heard it performed by Mark Lowry and I will always have a special place in my heart for that version. But there is something to be said for Pentatonix’s amazing harmonies.

So I broke my own rules – try not to have multiple artists or multiple songs… and this post did both, ha! But clearly I am a fan of Pentatonix. 😉 Now if the cast of Pitch Perfect would just make a Christmas album… that would be perfect!

Now that you guys know how much I love blending voices… any recommendations for me? Is there a group I totally missed?
Love Rach

14 responses to “My 9 Favorite Harmonious Christmas Songs

  1. “How Many Kings” by DownHere is a favorite of mine…and Enya’s version of “O Come O Come Emmanuel” it so ethereal and dreamy…it’s like something right out of a Lord of the Rings movie, every time I hear it I picture blazing torches and misty lands….Lastly, I LOOOOVE Mindi Abair’s “I Can’t Wait For Christmas” ~ Merry Christmas Sweet Bella

    • Downhere made the list today!! Their “How Many Kings” song is amazing! I’m actually friends with the drummer, Jeremy (or at least we were friends 10 years ago, haha!). I love that band! Their lyrics always touch my heart. 🙂

      And Christopher loves Enya’s version of that song! He grew up listening to her so we incorporate some of her music into our Christmas playlist as well!

      And I haven’t heard Mindi’s song, but I am googling it now! 🙂

  2. I’m such a huge fan of Pentatonix (Pentaholic, really) that I was so excited you included them on this list! Their “Mary Did You Know” is my absolute favorite cover of that song EVER. Ahhh they’re so amazing. 😀

  3. LOVE the Pentatonix cover of Mary Did You Know?! Absolutely gave me goose bumps and I got teary eyed. They totally deserve to be on that list three times! 🙂

  4. Love love love! I just heard Pentatonix for the first time when I watched the Rockefeller tree lighting on tv… I’m a big fan though!

  5. I knew Nsync had to make your list somewhere!! That is a cd I always bust out at Christmas time. 98 degrees Christmas is a good one too!! Love their Drummer boy version!

    • Girl! You love Savage Garden AND 98 Degrees?! We were meant to be friends! 🙂 Lots of people love N’sync and BSB right along with me, but not near enough people love 98 Degrees and Savage Garden like I do. Makes me happy that you share my love! 🙂

  6. The Nsync and PTX Christmas CDs are wonderful!!! Love, Love, Love!!

  7. Also…I love the Mary, Did you know song…It gets me emotional every time!

Leave a Reply

