Why The Little Drummer Boy Makes Me Cry

I have always loved this song, but this year it has meant more to me than ever. The first time I listened to it this Christmas season (you know, back in early November, haha!) I really heard it for the first time. I heard the lyrics. Do you guys know what this song is about? Listen to it:

It’s about a little boy who is going to meet the baby Jesus for the first time. He is poor and wants to bring a gift for for the new King, but has nothing to bring.  The little boy is a drummer so he offers up the one thing that he does have. He offers to play the drum for Jesus.

I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum…

You guys, this makes me cry every time. There are so many things on my heart that I desire to do, but I feel like it’s not enough. Or I might not be the best at it. Or that I might outright fail.

But I need to stop over thinking it. It’s not about bringing the greatest gift to lay at Jesus’ feet, but in bringing the best that I have to offer. And knowing that He is smiling when I do.

This song has really hit me this year because Christopher and I have just completed the classes necessary to be certified as foster parents. We are still figuring out if we want to foster or adopt (or both) and what the timeline for that might look like. We always thought we would adopt older kids much later (like 10 or 15 years from now), but this year we decided to at least take the classes and get an idea of what we want to do.

To be honest, we still don’t know what we’re going to do or what the timeline will look like. But I do know that every time I hear this song, it touches my heart. I may not have the greatest, most impressive gifts or talents, but I can use the talents and passions that I do have to bless others (including giving children a safe and loving home). I am bringing my best and laying it at His feet. And I am confident that He is smiling.

Love Rach

30 responses to “Why The Little Drummer Boy Makes Me Cry

  1. You and Christopher are amazing people! My father was adopted, and we adopted my brother a little over 10 years ago, when he was 8 years old. the horror stories he told us about various foster homes was always heartbreaking. And it never helped that the social workers could always (sadly) back his stories up. There are far too many people out there that foster children as a source of income, and that is their only motivation to host these children in their homes. It’s lovely to see couples like you two who are doing it because you feel compelled to do so, and I know you guys will have such big, open, loving hearts to give to the lucky ones who get to live under your roof! God Bless!

    • Michelle, I’d love to hear more about your dad & brother! We hear so many discouraging stories about fostering & adoption that it makes it scary to us sometimes. I love that adoption is so much a part of your family and story! That’s awesome. 🙂

  2. I think that it’s awesome that you guys plan to foster someday. As a teacher, it breaks my heart to see kids with foster parents that are doing it for the wrong reasons….Foster parents like ya’ll would be fantastic–makes me smile so big just thinking about it!

    • It really is tragic how so many of these kids are taken out of bad situations and then placed by the State into an equally bad or worse situation. I know we won’t be perfect, but we will definitely love on every child that comes into our home.

  3. This post made me cry! Such a wonderful thing … It’s not about giving the best..it’s about giving the best that we have. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  4. The Little Drummer Boy was my Memere’s favorite Christmas song, and so – with her gone – I get a little teary-eyed whenever I hear it play on the radio. I can still hear her singing “Rum-Pum-Pum-Pum” at the top of her lungs. 🙂
    You’re right… There is so much meaning to this Christmas song.
    And I know that you and Christopher would make such a difference in the lives of children, should you decide to become foster parents. Any child who walked through the doors of your house would be blessed. It is a huge decision, but God will help you know when and if the time is right!! It would be such a challenge… but the rewards (knowing that you touched the lives of hurting children) would be SO great!

    • Ah, I always knew I would’ve liked your Memere. She always sounds like such a lovely lady from the things you write about her. 🙂 And she clearly had great taste in Christmas songs. 😉

      And thanks, friend! It’s definitely scary in some ways and I know we won’t be perfect, but we will definitely love on every child that comes into our home (no matter how that child arrives there). 🙂

  5. I was just thinking about how much I love this song!

    It takes special people to be foster parents, and I have no doubt you guys would be amazing 🙂 Congrats on finishing up your classes!

  6. It is a tear-worthy song for sure. It’s such a beautiful message.

    How lovely that you two have completed the courses to foster or adopt. Any kiddo would be so blessed to be place with you.

  7. It definitely takes special hearts to be foster parents. You and Christopher are awesome! I kind of thought that before but this confirms it 🙂

  8. That is so great that you and Christopher took the classes to be certified as foster parents—way to be proactive! I think it’s amazing that you want to foster or adopt—there are so many babies and children that need homes and not enough people that want to adopt! I support your decision, whenever you decide to do it, whether it be next year or in 5 or 10 years. There’s no doubt that you and Christopher will make wonderful foster parents, and I cannot wait to hear about your journey along the way! xoxo

  9. Sweetest poat ever! I think I had heard what this song was about but I forgot. Your and Christopher have so many gifts and talents! I know you both mak Jesus smile!

  10. You have one of the most beautiful souls my friend. This version of this song is fantastic.

  11. ave maria always makes me cry! i can’t play this bc i know i will cry! hehe

  12. Such a beautiful, beautiful reminder!! I can so get in my head about that, this is so important to remember. Congrats on finishing the paper work! I hear that in and of itself is a big success. Such a sweet heart for people and sharing and giving- such admirable qualities!

  13. This song has always kind of drove me nuts, but I’ve always WANTED to like it! I can totally see why it makes you cry. 🙂

    Over the last few years I’ve really stopped to think about the treasure that we have in Christ and how everything else in life really flows out of that…My joy, my perseverance, my compassion, justice, mercy, SALVATION, the list just doesn’t end!

    You and Christopher will make awesome parents! I love it when “young people” (I feel old for saying it that way) go after stuff without waiting for everything to be perfectly planned out. 🙂

  14. Had ivf not worked for Joshua and I, adoption was next. We actually may still adopt a child as it’s always something I have felt very passionate about.

    Whether you & Christopher chose to foster or adopt, the two of you will be incredible parents to any child. God bless you both ❤

    • I love that you guys are still considering adoption! I understand why people don’t choose to go that route, but I love hearing about people who have a heart for it. We’ve always wanted to adopt – there are just so many innocent children who desperately need a home and love. We won’t be perfect, but we can at least give them love!

  15. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

  16. The best line in the whole and is when the boy said “I am a poor boy too…” That’s what gets me… Every time

Leave a Reply

