That time my father-in-law danced

This past weekend we celebrated Christmas with Christopher’s brother & his wife (Michael & Katy) at the boys’ parents’ house. This would be the first time our family was together since they lost their baby just before Thanksgiving and we weren’t exactly sure what all the weekend would hold. Katy had talked to me prior to the weekend about hoping it was filled with more happy moments than sad and it really, truly was. And it’s not that we avoided talking about what had happened. Michael and Katy talked openly about the baby and both their emotional states. It was good to see them handling this as well as anyone can handle such a tragedy.  More than anything, I think it was just good for the family to be together to love on each other. I’m thankful for that.

family pics (2)(last year’s Christmas family photo)

But the best moment? When Michael and Katy gave the boys’ dad, Tony, an MP3 player filled with his favorite songs. Tony’s dementia has continued to progress and this was the first time I’d seen him this happy in a long, long time. I got the tail end of his reaction on film (it began with dancing & tears).

You can see just how happy he is here. Dementia is a terrible disease that rips away the person you hold so dear. It was a beautiful moment to see that person again even for just a few minutes.

hu lights2We walked around and looked at twinkly Christmas lights one evening and Katy snapped this shot for us. Through everything, everything I have been so thankful to have this man walking by my side.

It was a great weekend filled with really good conversations. And even the disposal of an unfortunate bunny rabbit who had managed to get into the boys’ parents’ storage locker and died. Yikes! I was so sad for that poor bunny. The boys were hilarious about it, though, so even that was fun in its own way. 🙂 Anyway, I’m dragging out the end of this post, haha! Summed up: It was a great weekend! 🙂

Love Rach

 

25 responses to “That time my father-in-law danced

  1. Ahhh, that is such a sweet video. Tony will get so much pleasure from listening to the music he loves. What a great gift!

    That photo of you and Christopher is so nice.

    I’m glad you had a nice weekend with the family and treasured the time with one another despite the hardships.

  2. My heart goes out to you and your family. I can’t imagine what your sister and brother in-law are going through. How nice to have that happy moment of Tony dancing on tape. The picture of you two is beautiful too! I love how the lights blur in the background. Merry Christmas!

  3. I love last years christmas picture! The video almost made me cry! It is such a sweet video!! I’m glad yall had a good weekend!

  4. Oh, such a sweet video. I loved that. So many hugs to you and your family. Y’all are definitely making some truly beautiful moments out of some tough times.

  5. I’m glad you had such a lovely weekend, Rach! It sounds like it was just what you and Christopher needed! I LOVE his dad’s reaction to the music. I definitely was grinning away at that. I think it’s awesome that you catch the happy memories through the pain. You really have a knack for that. Also: I love last year’s Christmas card picture. Very cute!

  6. oh rachel, i just wanna hang out with you 24/7 to catch some of that positivity and gratitude that you seem to radiate. it’s awesome that your siblings-in-law are handling everything so well, and i’m sure they appreciate having you and christopher there to support them. also – gorgeous pic of the two of you ❤

  7. I’m so glad that there was a mostly light-hearted weekend for Katy to spend with all of you. Family is so important during difficult times!
    And that video of your father-in-law made me choke up and brought tears to my eyes!

  8. I have seen some stuff in the news about music being incredible for those with dementia!! So awesome. Love that last pic of you guys!! And so glad you all had a good family gathering, even with the hard stuff. ❤️

  9. so precious!!! i love how delighted he was!

  10. Awww, that is such a sweet video. He looks so happy.

  11. Such a sweet photo of you and you man at the end, along with an awesome moment from his dad- I know those times are so special for all of you. Enjoy the weekend!!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  12. Pingback: Christmas is almost here! |

  13. Wow…just wow!! I started to tear up watching that video! I can’t even imagine how happy y’all were!

Leave a Reply

