Christmas with the In-Laws!

We spent Christmas week with my parents-in-law at their home.

presentsWe brought a couple of bags of presents with us! Check out how cute that Christmas lights wrapping paper is! I found it on clearance last year and I love it!

oreoOreo loves how spoiled he gets every time he goes to his “grandparents” house. ๐Ÿ™‚ They really do get more excited to see him than they do to see us!

oreoOreo had a great Christmas! We got himย a brand new bed, a new leash, and a Thunder Jacket! We are hoping the Thunder Jacket will help with some of his anxiety when he is in new places.

martyย My mother-in-law checking out the family calendar weย made for her

slippersChristopher and I enjoying our new slippers!

inlawsMy parents-in-law having a sweet moment. Christopher helped his dad write a card to his mom (his dad has dementia) and it made Marty cry.ย This photo was taken just after she read the card. ๐Ÿ™‚

tony and martyWe took several walks in the evenings to look at the beautiful lights. ๐Ÿ™‚

tony and marty2My parents-in-law. There is a lot Tony doesn’t understand any more as the dementia progresses, but he does know that he still loves Marty. It’s clear that he feels safest and happiest when she is around.

rach and chris2Us being all adorable on Santa’s sleigh!

family shotI have always loved family photos.ย It’s fun to look through them over the years and see how we change in hairstyles and clothing choices and looks. But I also love family photos because we aren’t promised forever. As my father-in-law’s dementia progresses, I find myself wondering how many more family photos we’ll have with him smiling. After I lost my grandmother in college, every photo I had of the two of us became SO precious to me. I have made a point since then to try and take family photos as often as I can. So as I see my father-in-law slipping away, every family photo becomes just a little more precious to me. I am most definitely thankful for the good days.

If you have a furchild did she or he get presents this year?ย 
Are you a frequent family photos kind of person or not so much?
Love Rach

29 responses to “Christmas with the In-Laws!

  1. You took some amazing photos! And Oreo is adorable! It looks and sounds like you had a fantastic Christmas!

  2. oreo had a great year- what a haul he took home in gifts! kinzie usually gets a load, but this year – i dunno, just some toys? her birthday is in a few days so we’ll make up for it ๐Ÿ™‚ also – love that picture of you and christopher in the sleigh – so sweet โค

  3. Your photos are terrific. What a lovely Christmas! I hope Oreo likes and feels comforted by his new thunder jacket!

    • I hope so too! He is a really chill dog most of the time, but he just gets SO excited when new people come over that we are hoping the jacket will help calm him down so he won’t knock over any small children, ha! It hasn’t happened yet, but I can see the day coming. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. These pictures are so sweet! Oreo is one loved puppy! The pictures of your in laws are too beautiful for words!

  5. We love family photos! They are so much fun to look back on. What a sweet moment for Marty. And your slippers are cute!

    • Yes! I grew up in a family that took family photos pretty much every time we were with extended family. Christopher was in his first “family photo” not too long after we started dating. He came over for dinner and then sure enough, we all lined up on the porch to take a group shot. Ha! I love looking back on it now, though. Definitely would’ve been awkward if we’d broken up, but it all worked out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Sounds like you had a good Christmas! I have thought about getting Buddy a thunder shirt because of his anxiety, but I haven’t yet. Let me know what you think about it!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  7. Such a sweet post. I’m not a big picture person, but my dad always takes a lot at family parties. Sometimes we aren’t always the happiest to have to take them (he tends to be a bit of a drill sergeant with it, lol) but I know we’ll appreciate them later.

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

    • Yeah, I can definitely understand that. My brother & my brother-in-law both feel that way. They are always begrudgingly in the group shot because they know it’s required, haha! Hopefully you will treasure those photos someday! And maybe strike a better balance in your own future family (less drill sergeant and more fun). ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. i am so glad he remembers her and doesn’t feel alone. i’m glad you are able to still make some memories with him. my dog (maybe bc he is little?) has zero anxiety, other than the vet. he could care less about storms or new ppl/situations. wish i was more like that!

    • That’s great that your pup has no anxiety!! Oreo is super chill most of the time, but he gets SO worked up when the doorbell rings! We’re hoping it will help calm him down (so he isn’t running around like crazy) when new people come in the door.

  9. Looks like you had a wonderfully cozy holiday with your in-laws! As I get older, I realize how important spending time with family is, and how much our parents and parents-in-law enjoy spending time with us and cherishing every moment.
    Our furbabies get spoiled by grandma and grandpa too….even though they are not with us for Christmas, they each still get their own stocking full of goodies!

    • I’m glad you understand where I’m coming from with how precious family time is! It’s definitely something I’ve come to appreciate more and more as I’ve gotten older.

      And I love that your furbabies get spoiled too! My parents aren’t really pet people, but they always make a point to get a gift for Oreo for us to take home to him every Christmas. And my parents-in-laws adore him (they get more excited to hear that he’s coming to visit than that we are, ha!). So he’s pretty spoiled all around. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I love how you say “furchild”. Looks like a great Christmas! Lovely photos! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Rach! Your final thoughts on this post are going to make me cry! But it’s true, and so beautifully stated. I need to take more family photos!

  12. i’m so incredibly happy that y’all were able to spend time with your in-laws. to invest in them and have them invest in y’all. โค

  13. This post made me tear up. I love that you’re so intentional about taking family photos, and that you cherish them so much. I totally get thatโ€ฆI definitely need to be more intentional about taking family photos too. And the picture of Christophers parents with the cardโ€ฆoh goodness. So sweet.

  14. Pingback: Let’s talk about friends! |

Leave a Reply

