I love mashed potatoes

Christopher is continuing to recover well. He continues to rock PT and he has been off pain pills for 24 hours. All signs point to recovery which is great. He still tires out pretty quickly, butΒ otherwise he is doing even better than expected. We’re enjoying lots of time together at home which has felt a little bit like a vacation. And while he naps I’ve been working on projects around the house and watching far too much Gilmore Girls on Netflix. Though really, can there be too much Gilmore Girls? πŸ˜‰

Also being home every day has meant that I am cooking every day. It has been wonderful. We love our busy social life and all our volunteer work, but I miss cooking every day. Cooking more than twice a week has reminded me of just how long it has been since I shared a recipe on this blog. I may not consider it a “recipe blog” like I once did, but I do have quite the backlog of recipes that I’ve meant to share, but just haven’t. So today I’m going to share a deliciously perfect comfort food meal for winter time. πŸ™‚

loaded shepherd's pie (1)

I found this Loaded Shepherd’s Pie recipe on Bake At Midnite. You guys, it was delicious. I love mashed potatoes. So much. And bacon. And like 1/2 of this dish is mashed potatoes and bacon. So I’m clearly a big fan. πŸ™‚

loaded shepherd's pie (2)Yeaaah… that is a LOT of mashed potatoes. πŸ˜‰

loaded shepherd's pie{click recipe card to see larger}

Love Rach

 

24 responses to “I love mashed potatoes

  1. Yum!!!! I’m glad he is recovering well and the two of you are getting quality time!

  2. Mmmmmm, now I want to run home and make some!

  3. So glad recovery is going well for Christopher! With how busy you guys are, I’m sure this time spent at home has been a bit of a blessing in disguise. πŸ™‚ Also, that Shepherd’s Pie looks amazing! I’ve never seen a Shepherd’s pie without vegetables, but this looks sooo good!

    -Tia

  4. YUM, YUM and YUM! This looks amazing!!!!!

  5. I love ALL potatoes. Lately I’ve been loving on sweet taters. This looks so comforting and warm!

  6. What great news! Hoping his recovery continues going well & he’s back to his normal self soon. Did they give him an expected time when he’ll be closer to 100%?

    • It’ll probably be close to 6 months (or more) before he’s back to 100% and able to play basketball again. But within the next month or so he should be back to pretty normal (other than high intensity movements & pivoting). πŸ™‚ Already he is brace free and not using the crutches. πŸ™‚

  7. So glad your husband is doing well…I’ve been thinking of you guys! I’m a mashed potato kinda girl, too! Such a yummy comfort food! This Shepherd’s Pie looks delish!

  8. I am glad he is recovering well πŸ™‚
    This is one of my ultimate comfort meals. The classic mix of meat and potato. Yum!

  9. So glad he is recovering well – praying for you both!

    theglowwithin.com

  10. The ultimate comfort food. This looks sooooo tasty!

  11. THIS LOOKS SO GOOD! I love mashed potatoes too…and bacon, so this is pretty much perfect! Oh, and no…there is no such thing as too much Gilmore Girls!

  12. I love loaded mashed potatoes. They are just the best! I made a shepherd’s pie once, and I felt quite domestic. It just seems like the kind of thing that housewives back in the day used to make. And, let’s be honest, carbs. Hello.

Leave a Reply

