Blueberry Pie Oatmeal Parfaits

Christopher’s recovery continues to go well. He has a lot of swelling which we are working on keeping down by lots of icing and elevation, but we’re a little concerned about him returning to work tomorrow. He’s been off pain pills more than long enough, but he still tires easily. And we’re most concerned about the swelling because unlike at home, he can’t elevate & ice his leg whileΒ at the office.

christopher working

This is what he’s doing right this minute. Working from home… in his shorts & teeshirt with his leg elevated and hooked up to the ice machine. Obviously this won’t be an option when he returns to the office tomorrow. So a prayer or two for the swelling to go downΒ (or at least not get worse) would be great! Thanks so much for all the prayers you guys have already said on our behalf. πŸ™‚

I mentioned yesterday that a wonderful silver lining to this recovery period has been all the time at home together. And all the cooking & eating at home. Not just grabbing a bowl of cereal on my way out the door for work, but actually putting together a nice breakfast. Trying a couple of recipes I’ve had my eye on. Including… this Blueberry Pie Oatmeal Parfait from The Dashing Dish!

blueberry oatmeal parfaits

blueberry pie oatmeal parfait(click recipe card to see it larger)

Christopher and I both loved this! And I’m not just saying that. We’ve tried a couple of other oatmeal based recipes this week that were just so-so. I really do only share my favorite recipes here so you can trust me on this. πŸ™‚ I think the only change we’ll make next time is to add a layer of granola if we have any on hand. Just to add a little more crunch and texture to the dish. If you like yogurt & oatmeal & blueberries… this one is for you! πŸ™‚

Do you like parfaits? I seldom eat them because they usually have so much sugar, but this one has no added sugar and it is deee-lish!
Love Rach

18 responses to “Blueberry Pie Oatmeal Parfaits

  1. So glad he’s doing so well! Love the working from home picture. πŸ˜‰ Onto the parfait—Um. Yum. Why won’t my foodie-ish blogger friends just get on a plane and come cook for me already?! πŸ˜›

  2. Any chance he could work from home tomorrow too?

  3. YUMMY! You’re treating him well, I wouldn’t want to work tomorrow either. πŸ™‚

  4. Hmmm… I loved oatmeal before getting pregnant and now it makes me sick. I wonder If I could eat it like this? It would make a great breakfast! I dread trying to find something I can handle for breakfast so much that I usually end up skipping.

  5. Hope your hubby is doing ok! These parfaits look so good!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  6. What perfect timing. I am just, for one of the first times ever in my life, starting to enjoy oatmeal. I never “got it” before, but now every morning I look forward to my bowl of hot oatmeal. But because of this new habit, I will need to start mixing it up. Thanks Rach! I hope your week is going well!

    • You are so welcome! I definitely go through phases where I love oatmeal and then after a few weeks (or months) I get sick of it. But I’m definitely loving it right now. And adding in the Greek yogurt gives me that extra boost of protein to hold me over until lunch. Yum yum! πŸ™‚ Let me know if you end up trying it!

  7. Sounds like you have been taking excellent care of Christopher while he’s been home! I’m not usually a parfait person either, because I know that they aren’t the healthiest, but I think this looks delicious for a special breakfast treat once in a while! I can’t really talk about eating healthy breakfasts as I just made Tomas and I toasted coconut pancakes for breakfast this morning! haha
    Hope that every day Christopher is feeling better and the swelling is going down! xx

  8. So glad that Christopher is doing so well!! And those parfaits look so good! I’ve been doing smoothies for breakfast for SO long, but recently tried a granola recipe, and was hooked. Now maybe I’m ready to branch out from that πŸ˜‰ Also, tell me more about Stevia! I’ve never used it, but I see it in a lot of recipes. Is it essentially the same as white sugar, taste/substitution-wise?

    • It has been so long since I’ve used white sugar that I couldn’t tell you for sure about taste. I haven’t had a ton of luck baking with Stevia so far (I can’t seem to get the ratio right so it’s either way to sweet or not sweet enough). But if I measure it tsp for tsp like I would sugar then it works great in other things (like this). It’s more powdery than refined white sugar, but it’s a little more dense than powdered sugar.

      What I like about it is that it’s actually a natural sweetener so it doesn’t mess up my stomach (like Splenda). And it also doesn’t bother my heart (at least not so far) unlike honey and agave. I’ve just started branching out to use it again because I had so many failed attempts at baking with it in the past, haha! I know you are supposed to use less Stevia than you would use sugar in baking, but I just haven’t quite mastered the ratio yet. Let me know if you try it! I know here you can buy it both in a giant bag as well as in small packets (like for sweetening coffee). So maybe you could try the packets first to see if you like it before investing in the bigger bag. πŸ™‚

  9. These sound so good! I love being able to spend extra time in the kitchen to make special meals. It just makes me happy! I think granola would be a good addition, too!

Leave a Reply

