I love you more

Almost exactly a year ago I wrote a blog post called In Sickness and in Health. It was from when I had bacterial strep and how Christopher lovingly cared for me during that time. Here’s a direct quote from that post in response to the first time I saw myself in the mirror:

My crazy hair, pale gaunt face, and chapped lips stared back at me. I shuddered a little and wondered how it is that my sweet husband had been able to look at me so tenderly all week. That’s what love does, I think. They say love is blind and sometimes I think there’s truth to that statement. I may have been appalled by what I saw in the mirror, but Christopher wasn’t. He just saw his bride.

Over the years that we have been together, we have cared for each other through many, many sick days. And it really amazes me how much those days and nights foster so much tenderness. My heart swells with how much I love Christopher already. It’s hard to imagine that I could love him any more than I do today. But looking back I can see how my love for him has grown steadily year by year. With each shared experience, with each adventure, with each tender moment of care for each other… our love grows.

love you more

In a tradition that Christopher started our first year of marriage, we write notes  back and forth to each other on our bathroom mirror. Sometimes we’ll go months without writing something and sometimes we’ll write something new every day for a week. It just depends. This past week I was reorganizing our bathroom (hello, a full week off work at home – lots got done around the house, haha!) and when I came across our dry erase marker I decided to write the phrase we always say to each other. One of us always starts with “I love you” and the other always responds with “I love you more”. I don’t remember when that started or why, but “I love you more” has been a huge part of our vernacular for several years. So that’s what I wrote on the mirror. Not expecting a response because I had essentially written the response. But two days later I walked into the bathroom and saw this:

love you most

It just filled my heart a little more. We’re not in competition over who loves whom more even though it may sound like it. It’s just a small way to remind each other that there is so much love between us. And weeks like this past one have added to the list of reasons we love each other. 🙂

For those who have been asking – Christopher continues to recover way ahead of schedule. PT is still going well and he’s already off crutches and out of his brace (except when he sleeps). He drove himself to work this morning which made me a little sad just because this week officially begins “everything back to normal” for us. I’m going to miss the 24/7 together, but I’m happy for him that he’s doing SO well. 🙂

Love Rach

36 responses to “I love you more

  1. This is such a sweet post. I’ve been having some health issues lately and I have thought the same exact thing…how could he still love me? But we are both lucky that God gave us men who take their vows seriously—sometimes I think “in sickness and in health” is one of those vows I totally took for granted but am now so grateful for. 🙂

  2. You guys are so sweet! And you remind me that I need to step back from all of the busy-ness that Baby has brought into my life and intentionally love on my husband, too. We used to be so good at that with each other, and this past year it’s fallen by the wayside a bit since our lives have gotten so juggled around. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 9:55 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Almost exactly a year ago I wrote > a blog post called In Sickness and in Health. It was from when I had > bacterial strep and how Christopher lovingly cared for me during that > time. Here’s a direct quote from that post in response to the first time I > saw mys”

  3. Intentional love for a spouse is so special. You two are the most cutest! 🙂 I’m glad to hear he is recovering well!

  4. Yall are like watching a romantic movie! You two really are an example of Christ and His church!

  5. glad your hubby is feeling better!

  6. Aww… this really is the sweetest thing!

  7. Absolutely LOVED this post!! Kevin and I write notes too, and it’s just so fun to receive kind words as a surprise!! xoxo

  8. Y’all are sooo sweet!! 🙂

  9. This is so sweet. :’) ♥

    -Tia

  10. This so incredibly sweet. 🙂

  11. You two have set such a wonderful example for single gals like me, which make me very content being single and PICKY knowing that relationships like this are worth the wait!! SWOONING as usual.

  12. Oh, that’s so cute! What a sweet tradition!
    Glad to hear Christopher is doing well, too! xx

  13. So happy he is doing so well!! I have been keeping up with your posts but haven’t been commenting much.. Been praying for you guys! 🙂

  14. Oh goodness, this post made me tear up! Partially because I just had bacterial strep, so the message is super fresh in my mind right now. Also because you guys are so sweet and I love how much you love each other. Good to hear that Christopher is doing so well…I have been praying!!

  15. Oh my goodness. You’re the dearest and sweetest! I’m glad to hear that Christopher is doing well! xo

  16. That’s too cute 🙂 We don’t do the mirror thing, but we text “I love you” randomly throughout the day sometimes. It’s just a nice reminder that you are both in this together and love each other!

  17. I’m glad to hear that Christopher’s recovery has been going well! I checked in a few times while I was on vacation, but I’m pretty sure I never commented…

    I love that little tradition of yours and that you’ve got such a sweet guy to do life with!!!

  18. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

Leave a Reply

