Meeting Ben

We have some great friends here in Memphis and Heather & James definitely are on that list. James keeps us laughing. And Heather is one of the kindest people I know. We are definitely so grateful for our friendship with them.

friendsThis is us with James and Heather from our trip together last summer.

Weeeell, earlier this week James and Heather brought their second son into the world. MeetΒ baby Ben:

benIsn’t he perfect? I just love him so much already!

joshuaFor comparison’s sake… here was when I first met Ben’s older brother, Josh almost exactly two years ago. It’s incredible how much they look alike!

There is nothing quite like holding a newborn baby. Pure innocence. And sweetness. Untouched by the world.Β Ah, I just love it. πŸ™‚ Which is funny because for a really, really long time I was scared to death of babies (mostly of dropping them or being pooped on). But the more I pretended that I knew what I was doing, the more I got the hang of it. And now I’m so at ease with them. Oh, I do love babies. πŸ™‚

Are you at ease around babies? It took some practice, but I definitely am now!

Have any of your friends had babies recently?

Love Rach

18 responses to “Meeting Ben

  1. So cute!!!

  2. One of my closest friends is 4 months pregnant and I can’t wait to met him/her. It is good practise for when I am ready to have kids πŸ™‚

  3. I’m not very at ease with babies. Especially newborns. Once they are a couple of months old, I can fake it til I make it. But newborns really scare me. Such cute babies!

    • I hear you. They used to scare me too! But I just started pretending like I was fine with it and being SUPER careful. Oh, and I googled questions that I had. πŸ˜‰ Then over time (especially as all my friends had babies) I got more and more comfortable even around newborns. πŸ™‚ I bet you are a natural at heart!

  4. How precious! Congrats to your friends. πŸ™‚

    I am definitely at ease with babies. I have been around them for all of my life. Someone in my family was always having a baby while I was growing up.

  5. Ohhhhh my goodness! How cute! Im so broody right now! How adorable!

    theglowwithin.com

  6. I was terrified of holding babies before Brady… Ha, ha. Only because I’m rarely around them and hadn’t held one for years! Of course, Brady was born big, so I might still be a little nervous if I was holding a tiny newborn. πŸ˜‰ But I’d be WAY more confident and comfortable, for sure! He definitely awakened my love of babies, for sure!!
    And the funny thing is that Nate and I were worried about Brady having friends, because most of our friends have already had kids. Well, all of our friends seemed to get pregnant again around the time we did, so now there’s no concern about that. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚

    • Aww, I’m so glad that Brady will have friends! We’ve had that same concern since all of our friends have had kiddos already (and most of them have had 2+). Hopefully we’ll luck out like you guys did and our friends will decide to add to their family at the same time we do. πŸ™‚

      And I feel sure that you will be totally at ease with newborns from now on! Though I know what you mean about the teeny tiny ones. A couple of our friends have had 6 pounders and those little ones are just SO tiny!

  7. I love babies, too! They’re just so, so sweet. Congrats to your friends!!

  8. Ah, this is so cute!! Congrats to your friends πŸ™‚ And congrats to you for overcoming your fear of babies!! I love babies once they’re big enough to hold their own head up…I’m always so afraid that I’m going to accidentally let their head fall back when they’re tiny!!

  9. Well, I used to be fearless around babies, but then I hadn’t practiced in quite some time. Thank goodness I’ve had some practice with my niece!

Leave a Reply

