Christmas in January

Since Abby wasn’t in the States in December, my family decided to wait until she returned in January to have Christmas. So this past weekend we celebrated Christmas together!

christmas tree“Christmas” morning at my parents’ house this past weekend

kiddosMy niece and nephew enjoying their new gifts πŸ™‚

thai pants2My sisters, niece, and me on Christmas morning wearing our new pants from Thailand that Abby brought back for us. {interested in a pair of your own?Β Let me know! A friend is selling them to raise money for their adoption}

abby's art workGift from my sister, Abby (she felt like the packaging was too boring so she added to it)

xmas dinnerChristmas dinner! (all photos were taken on my phone so forgive the poor quality). My family is normally a nontraditional sort when it comes to the holidays (in fact Christopher can’t think of a time in all the years we’ve been together when my family has had turkey or ham for Christmas dinner), but this year… it actually happened. We had turkey and all the fixin’s. But best of all are the rolls, mashed potatoes, and mac & cheese. You guys… I love my carbs. πŸ™‚

We had a wonderful Christmas together… even if it was a month later than normal. But truthfully that has been great in its own way because it meant that I had an excuse to leave all my Christmas decorations up! πŸ˜‰ This weekend they’ll finally all come down. I figure they’ve had a good three month run… it’s probably time. πŸ˜‰

Have you ever celebrated Christmas really late?Β 

Do you want a pair of those Thai pants? If so, let me know and I’ll get you in touch with Abby’s friend, Jasmine who is selling them for $18/each to help raise money for her family’s upcoming adoption of a little Serbian girl with Down Syndrome. Β πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

41 responses to “Christmas in January

  1. So cute that you waited to celebrate christmas! Looks like you guys had a ball!

    theglowwithin.com

  2. What a fun idea! We’ve celebrated Thanksgiving on a Saturday before but we’ve never switched up Christmas!

  3. It’s fun to celebrate Christmas a month past Christmas! Just extends the holiday season that much longer. That food all looks so tasty!

  4. Any reason to help with someone who is adopting, I’m in!!! The pants are a plus! Do they make them in Landry’s size too? I actually like having christmas further away from the 25, because around the 24 and 25 is so hectic! It’s nice to relax and enjoy! You and yours sisters are stunning!

  5. how fun! I am all for having more than one Christmas.

  6. SINCE WHEN DO YOU NEED A REASON TO LEAVE YOUR CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS UP PAST THE 25TH OF DECEMBER?
    CHUCKLE…
    WE HAD A BALL DIDN’T WE!

  7. Awww so sweet. Merry merry Christmas in January to you and your fam, sweet friend! πŸ˜‰

  8. How fun!! Also, I think it’s so funny that the T.V. in the top picture is playing a “fireplace.” My parents do that as well!

  9. I love that you waited until your sister was back to celebrate Christmas. That is so sweet. Looks like you all had double the fun! πŸ™‚

    And…my Christmas tree is still up! LOL

  10. Love the pants!! Could you get me the info?

  11. This…is….AWESOME!! HAH, Merry Christmas!

  12. It must be so nice to have your family reunited again! Love that you postponed Christmas so that you could celebrate together with your sister! How come nobody else has ever thought to do that?! Everyone puts so much pressure on the actual holi-DAY, but if you can’t have you family together it’s kind of like…what’s the point? It shouldn’t matter what day you celebrate a certain holiday, what matters is that you are celebrating with people you love!

  13. Hooray for those adorable Thai PJ pants! So glad you all got to celebrate together. And now my question for you is…are you ready to take down those trees yet? πŸ˜‰

  14. How sweet they waited- I love that! I’m sure is been so fun and such a special time for your crew. I left a few of my decorations up claiming winter decor, but we all know it’s a farce, and they need to come down!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  15. Holidays aren’t about a date, but who you spend it with. I love this!

  16. so nice that you get to have your sister home, and just as sweet that the whole family saved Christmas to spend it with her ❀

  17. So exciting that your sister is back! For whatever reason, I thought she was going to be in China for a much longer span of time. Is she just back temporarily for winter holidays, or back for good? I also love the idea of celebrating Christmas in January. You girls look so cute in those pants, but I’m not sure I could pull it off. πŸ˜‰

    • ​When she went she only signed a six month contract with the option to make it one year if she decided to do that halfway through. She decided to come back to the States, though. We’ll see where she lands next. πŸ™‚ ​

      And I totally think you could pull off the pants!

  18. Pingback: Traveling Alone |

  19. I’m finally taking time to catch up a bit myself! πŸ™‚

    Your “Christmas” dinner looks good! Maybe I should have eaten breakfast BEFORE I sat down at my computer? lol!

    When we got back from vacation, I decided that all of our Christmas stuff was staying up until February 1st since I wasn’t really here to enjoy it this year…That’s tomorrow and I’m STILL not ready! lol πŸ™‚

  20. Ah, looks like you guys had such a fun Christmas! Yay for carbs, haha. And my outside Christmas decorations are definitely still up…I just hate how sad the door looks when I take the wreath down!

  21. Better late than never, right!?! I’m so glad you all were able to get together and celebrate! Looks like you all enjoyed yourselves. =) I’m with you on the carbs…they are my downfall.

  22. Pingback: Thai Pants Giveaway |

Leave a Reply

