The Hosea Love Story

This past weekend was my very last MidSouth Girls’ Conference with my teen girls. I imagine I’ll end up at the conference again in the future just because I love both it and teenagers, but this will be my last time with “my girls” since they are graduating in May.

my girlsUs during the lunch break

The theme for the day was “Return to God” and the story we focused on was the one of Hosea. Anyone who has ever heard me talk about the book Redeeming Love knows that I love the story of Hosea. It makes me cry every time. They showed a video at the beginning of the day that is sort of a modern retelling of Hosea & Gomer’s story. Just be prepared to need tissues…

 {you can read the original story in the book of Hosea in the Bible}

The story of Hosea and Gomer reflects the story of God and His people. It shows us how desperately God loves us despite where we come from or how much we have sinned in the past. How He pursues us even into the darkest places. And how He waits for us to return when we have been unfaithful. And I am so thankful that I have a God Who comes running to me with open arms. He is a good and holy God. And He loves us.  🙂

Have you ever read Redeeming Love?
Have you been to a good conference lately?

Love Rach

16 responses to “The Hosea Love Story

  1. I love redeeming love! I just read through the book of Hosea! I would like to do an in depth Bible study on it!!! Know any good ones?

  2. Ok I’m going to have to come back to watch the video- it’s to early to cry:) but I would love to watch it! I love redeeming love- I’ve read it to many times to count and it’s always good. Do you ever crave a certain book? I know that’s kinda weird- but I have been craving the mark of the lion series again- she is such a talented author. Anywho- I will be back at nap time to watch:)

  3. I haven’t read this before, but it sounds interesting.
    I haven’t been to a conference in a long while, but I am speaking at one in May, which should be fun.

  4. I LOOOOOVE Redeeming Love. I seriously cried through the entire book. 🙂

  5. Hosea is such a hard, but great book!!!

    I’m so excited for you and your girls…The next season may have you all in different places, but it’ll be fun to watch them move forward! It’s bittersweet for sure. 🙂

  6. I LOVE the story of Hosea. And that video is so good. I’ve never read Redeeming Love, but I feel like I should add it to my list now!

  7. i know that was bittersweet being your last one with those girls. i know you’e proud of them!

  8. I read Redeeming Love years ago, but I still remember the profound impact it had on me. No matter how it’s told, it’s such a powerful story! And I love this YouTube video that you posted! It definitely made me cry!

Leave a Reply

