A box on my doorstep

A little over a week ago I found this box on my doorstep from one of the teenagers I mentor who has become like a little sister to Christopher and me:

sr mentor1

sr mentor2

sr mentor3

sr mentor4

I’ve been mentoring her (and 9 other girls) since they were in 7th grade, but as seniors each girl picks a mentor to stick with her through the first year of college as well. And Kelsi chose me. You guys, there were happy tears. It totally made my night. 🙂 This doesn’t mean that I won’t still be mentoring my other girls – I will (and of course continue checking up on them in college!). But each of them will choose another adult who they look up to that can work more closely with them and will commit to walking alongside them through their first year of college. 🙂

rach and kelsi(Kelsi and me when she was on homecoming court this past fall)

Every now and then it hits me that my precious baby girls are so close to graduation. And then summer always flies by. And in August they’ll all  be off to college. Christopher and I still haven’t figured out what we’re going to do with all the time that we will suddenly have free (we’re looking into a couple of ministries). It’s just crazy – teenagers have been such a huge part of our lives for so long (even before we were married). But the next great adventure awaits, right? And until then, we’re pouring as much of our love and wisdom into these kids as we can. 🙂

Have you ever found a box left from someone on your doorstep? Or left one for someone? If so, what was in it?

Love Rach

30 responses to “A box on my doorstep

  1. Aw! This is so sweet! Congrats on being picked!

  2. Awww!!! See, this is just the kind of thing I was talking about! I love it and I’m excited for all THREE of you. I can’t wait to see what the next few years look like for you and you’ll have to tell us more about HOW you go about being a mentor to Kelsi in this next stage of life. 🙂

    I don’t know if I’ve left a package or had a package left by anyone besides the UPS man…I’m thinking the answer is “No”, but I’m really not sure.

    • I definitely will! I know with the teens I’ve mentored in the past, I’ve kept in touch with them after they leave for college via text and Facebook and the occasional visit. But the thing I’ve done that the girls love the most has been weekly cards. Just a little spot of sunshine for their week. I started doing it for my sister after I graduated college while she was still there. And then I started sending them to a couple of her besties who I had seen as little sisters too. And then the teens I was mentoring started going off to college so they got added to the list too. It’s been a fun project these past few years. 🙂 I definitely plan to do that for Kelsi and my other girls after they all graduate. 🙂

  3. Awww! So sweet! And that speaks so highly of you! I mentored a group of girls while I was in college- they were in 7th and then 8th grade. It was so much emotional energy…but so good. Obviously you’ve poured in a lot. Well done!! 🙂

  4. AHHHH that is just so super cute!

  5. Awwh, so sweet. What a happy moment.

  6. Wow! What an honor. In my opinion, she couldn’t have picked a better mentor. You’re awesome!

    I left a box of postcards on my best friend’s doorstep on the morning of her 30th birthday. Another friend and I had collected postcards from as many of my best friend’s friends (say that five times fast) so she had postcards from all over the world. 🙂

  7. What an honor to be chosen as a mentor and what a kind deed to dedicate yourself to being one too.

  8. Oh my gosh! That is so fun. I’ve never had a box left on my door like that. Although my grandpa does sometimes like to send random packages to us for no reason. Like a few months ago he sent a 2.5-lb block of cheese! No note or anything. Just the cheese. We’re still eating it! haha.

  9. AHHH!! This is so sweet!! How adorable! Love it! 🙂

  10. Awww, that’s so sweet! I love how it says “sisters for life”. You can telI she really looks up to you. I probably would have cried if I received something like that, too!

  11. This is TOOOOO cute, what a fun box.

  12. that is so precious!! i know that just made your day!!

  13. I love how involved you are- it’s such a beautiful thing to witness. She is a lucky girl to have you as a mentor, it’s clear thru each post how much outreach and sharing with others means to you.

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  14. Aww this is sweet!!! I think she picked the right person 🙂

  15. This is so sweet!! I won’t lie, I had happy tears reading this. Congrats on being a mentor! What a sweet compliment 🙂

Leave a Reply

