Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland…

Sunday night we got our annual icepocalypse. So naturally Monday morning the city of Memphis shut down. There are many reasons I love living in the South, but the fact that 2 inches of ice shuts down the city makes me all kinds of happy. We get to stay home and snuggle and be grateful we don’t live in Boston. πŸ˜‰

Of course it’s only ever the first day. Today is just as icy as yesterday and yet parts of Memphis are back up and running (not schools, but most people are returning to work today). The low tomorrow is 1 degree (yes, DEGREE. Not degrees. Because it’s just ONE. Brrr!) which means that the ice definitely won’t be melting any time soon and the roads will continue to be a bit treacherous. But kids will return to school and the city will come back to life.

SoΒ there is just something so magical about that very first winter storm day every year. Because we always get to stay home and play. πŸ™‚

usThe Starbucks by our house was open for a few hours yesterday morning so naturally we started our day with hot steaming coffee!

us1We were using a remote & tripod to take these photos and Christopher was in charge of the remote. He kept saying silly things to make me laugh and this was one of those random shots where he caught a genuine smile (you can see it in my eyes).

us2Fake drinking our coffee because it seemed like a good idea at the time (we kept laughing while trying to take this shot because we felt kind of ridiculous). But it’s cute! So I’m sharing!

us3This guy. Oh how I love him. Sometimes my heart can’t contain all the love and it just overflows. I am so grateful that I get to live life with him.

us4Yeah, he’s pretty much my most favorite. πŸ™‚

us5Telling Oreo that he’s about to go outside into the cold with us!

And this is our poor pup attempting to walk on the ice in our backyard. πŸ˜‰

We had a delightful day yesterday. Christopher is in busy season at work so he ended up having to work from home for part of the day, but it was just still so nice to have him sitting 10 feet away. And we had fun snuggling together inside where it’s warm while watching the sleet/ice/snow fall. πŸ™‚

How much snow/ice does it take to shut down the city where you live?
Love Rach

52 responses to “Walkin’ in a Winter Wonderland…

  1. i love these pictures SO much. red lipstick is great on you! xo

  2. You two are sooooo photogenic! You look so classy with that red lip, lady! I’m glad you had such a fun ice day. Be safe as you get back into the swing of things for the week!

    • Thanks, lady! I love that red lipstick – it’s my favorite on me. πŸ™‚

      I made it to this morning without leaving our house for 2 days. I mean, I walked around outside in the ice/snow, but I didn’t leave the general vicinity of our house. Which was great fun the first day. But by last night I had some serious cabin fever. I braved the roads this morning to go to the gym and it felt so good to be out! And I’m at the kids’ house now (they’re both napping at the moment). It’s still icy out, but I’m happy to be back out and and about. I don’t know how people who get snowed in for a week handle it. I think I’d go crazy, haha! I just checked the weather for your area and I am officially jealous! Enjoy that warmth!

  3. You two are adorable! I have to say though, I DO NOT miss the cold or snow AT ALL!

    • Haha! I hear you! We don’t get a lot of wintery weather, but every year there’s at least one week (occasionally 2) where we get bad weather. People complain about the hot summers here, but I happily take the heat over living somewhere further north with more cold weather! One of these days I’m going to live at the beach and have constant awesome weather. πŸ˜‰

  4. Ahhhh!! You guys are so cute!! What sweet pictures! πŸ™‚

  5. Knoxville is the same way! Justin has been home for the past two and a half days. Part of the problem is that we are just not equipped to deal with snow. There aren’t any snow plows here like there were when we lived in Pittsburgh, so even though our road just has a little snow, it’s all iced over now and really difficult to drive on! But it’s fun to stay home–Jake certainly enjoys having his Dad at home! By the way, you look WAY more put together than I do on a snow day! Your hair is gorgeous!

    On Tue, Feb 17, 2015 at 9:49 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Sunday night we got our annual > icepocalypse. So naturally Monday morning the city of Memphis shut down. > There are many reasons I love living in the South, but the fact that 2 > inches of ice shuts down the city makes me all kinds of happy. We get to > stay ho”

    • That’s exactly how it is here. It’s not that there is a crazy amount of ice, but like Knoxville, we don’t have snow ploughs to clear the roads. I bet Jake has loved having both of you guys all to himself this week! Do you guys have cabin fever yet? I didn’t leave the house for the first two days and the first day was fun, but by last night I had cabin fever. I was so glad to get out of the house this morning. I don’t know how people do it when they get snowed in for a week!

      And thanks! I am normally wearing sweats and rocking a pony tail on snow days, but I told Christopher a couple of months ago that if we got a snow day that I wanted an adorable photo of us together with a snowy backdrop and our Starbucks cups. I hadn’t thought much about it since then, but he remembered! Which is why he risked life and limb to go to Starbucks on Monday morning to get us drinks. He’s a good one, that Christopher! Anyway, since I had the whole day off anyway and I knew we were going to take photos, I decided to do my hair and wear makeup. I’m glad I did, though, It was fun to look cute all day even though I wasn’t going anywhere. πŸ™‚

  6. It doesn’t take much for us to shut down either! These pictures are beautiful!

  7. I love that all it takes is a little ice to shut down the city. I always yearned for those no school days as a kid in New Jersey, but they never happened as much as I would have liked. Even in college (I went to school in Pennsylvania) I remember there being practically a blizzard one night, but my exam the next morning was still not cancelled! I had to leave like an hour in advance to get to my exam on time, so I could slowly make my way down the millions of stairs to my exam (my college was built on a mountain…all of the housing was on the top, and the academic buildings were on the bottom and there were LOTS of stairs involved).

    I love these Winter Wonderland photos of you and Christopher! Your red lipstick with the black & white hat and scarf look perfect!

  8. Aww how cute are you guys! These pictures are so fun. And your hat is super cute!

  9. I am SO jealous!! We got nothing. Nada. I love how the city just shuts down completely when we get the smallest amount. My mom was really excited that the school where she teaches was out today! Looks like y’all had a good snow (ice) day!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  10. YOU GUYS ARE TOO STINKIN CUTE!!! Love the coffee pix, hehehe!! ❀ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  11. You two are going to make one baby the happiest little girl or boy ❀

  12. These pictures are fabulous!

  13. You two are WAY too adorable! Stay warm! 1 degree??? brrrrr!

  14. Your hair is so pretty. Jealous! Glad you had a nice snow day!

    • Well if you want to see it looking a lot less pretty you can check out today’s video that was filmed last night when I had four day old hair. πŸ˜‰ It definitely looks great when I take time to do it, but that’s definitely not every day. πŸ˜‰

  15. You guys are too cute and I’m totally jealous of your snow day! That’s a totally foreign concept to me…oddly enough, we used to have “fire days” when I was a kid. Brush fires would get so out of control roads would close and school would be cancelled. We also had a mudslide once or twice. Enjoy the weather! These pictures could be a Christmas card πŸ˜‰

    • That’s so interesting! I’ve never heard of a “fire day”. It makes sense, though. It’s funny how different the weather is across the US. You may be jealous of my snow day, but I’m jealous that you get to live at the beach. One of these days we’ll live at the beach, I just know it!

  16. AWW I miss living in Memphis. I loved snow/ice days. Basically no amount of snow would shut down my city. But we do have the machines to take care of stuff. The roads get pretty icy, but most people have adapted. I have driven in a blizzard to get to work before.
    So i get super jealous when I hear that work and schools have closed down due to weather!

    • That’s crazy that you’ve driven through a blizzard to go to work! Yeesh! I mean, it’s one thing to get out on the roads when it’s icy if you have 4 wheel drive (or snow ploughs), but low visibility?? Count me out! πŸ˜‰ Stay safe up there!

  17. These pictures are seriously gorgeous! I think I said this on Facebook, but Starbucks needs to use these as Ads!

    It is so cold here we have been snuggled up inside all day! Enjoy the winter wonderland!

  18. loved these shots when i saw them on instagram, and love them even more with the story of how he was making you laugh the whole time. y’all are such a great couple ❀

  19. These pictures are adorable! The adventures of married life πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by my blog recently!

  20. 1)You guys just make my heart melt!! So so sweet!
    2)Poor Oreo trying to walk on the ice…I definitely giggled.
    3) Your winter gear is so cute!!! I love that toque!
    Also, I know I always say how jealous I am of the weather where you are, but oh man, I wish we would shut things down for two inches of ice! (Although it has not been -1f here for a really long time! Stay warm!!)

  21. Pingback: Happy Chinese New Year! |

  22. Oh my goodness these photos are adorable!

  23. Oh how I love these pictures! You look absolutely adorable and I can really see the happiness in your eyes. πŸ™‚

  24. Pingback: A dusting of snow |

Leave a Reply

