A Craigslist Rescue and Chings Hot Wings

We have a house to-do list. And it’s long. And every time we mark something off of it, we add another two things. It’s just the way of it. πŸ˜‰ One of the things that has been on our list for awhile is to find a nightstand for our bedroom. We have a little mini bookshelf that we’ve been using since we got married and it works just fine. So we haven’t been in a rush. But when I saw this $10 dilapidated nightstand on Craigslist this past weekend, I knew we had to rescue it.

nightstand collageIt just needs a little TLC (and paint) and this will be perfect for our room! I mean, ten dollars! Such a steal! I’ll keep you updated as we finish it. πŸ™‚

chings

Just down the street from where we picked the nightstandΒ up is a hole-in-the-wall place called Chings. Probably the most popular place in Memphis to get wings. Normally we just get them to-go, but since we weren’t headed home we decided to eat at Chings. It may be a hole in the wall, but it’s clean inside and there are TVs everywhere playing sports (basketball right now!).

chings2

Ching’sΒ wings are delicious, but our favorite are their chicken tenders because they are just so amazing. The best sauce (in our opinion) is the honey gold. You must try it. Really, you must. Just as a heads up, though, there’s a 20-30 minute wait for your food. Sometimes longer. Call ahead and get them to go!

Ching's Hot Wings on Urbanspoon

Now justΒ to get started on restoring this nightstand! πŸ™‚

Have you ever rescued an inexpensive piece of furniture and restored it?

Do you Β have a favorite wings spot?
Love Rach

37 responses to “A Craigslist Rescue and Chings Hot Wings

  1. You win at everything forever for shopping Craigslist.. I get ALL my best furniture items from there.. especially being near a Navy base, it’s easy to grab good finds when people move! ❀ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

    • I’ve never thought about that, but it’s so true! I need to CL shop in areas with a military base! There are a couple not far from us. Thanks for the idea! And girl, I hear you. Of all the furniture in our house I’d say 1% (or less) we bought from a store, 10% was given to us by friends and family when we got married, and the other 89% we’ve bought from Craigslist. We’ve only had one sketchy experience in all those times and even that wasn’t so bad. It really is the place to shop to furnish your home! πŸ™‚

  2. The honey gold is amazing – reminds me I haven’t been to Ching’s in forever! Nice craigslist find!

  3. The food sounds awesome! I love yalls night stand!!

  4. i wish i knew how to finish furniture! i’m looking for a nightstand too, for the other bedroom. i have a tiny table in there but it’s minimal in function.

    • Youtube. That’s how we learn pretty much everything, haha! Before we bought our house we had both previously done mission trips where we helped renovate and fix up homes so we had that tucked away in our belt, but of course we were just the muscle in those scenarios and not making the decisions. So when we bought our house we had a general idea of how to do things, but there was a lot we didn’t know. So we Youtubed it. It’s amazing what you can learn on Youtube, haha! With the night stand I am still trying to decide if I want to sand it down and stain it or just paint over the paint. We shall see!

  5. Yum- that sounds kinda awesome. Wings and a DIY- does it get any better?

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  6. My husband has been in the process of restoring a toy chest… for about 1 year now, hahaha. Hopefully we will get it done soon!

    • Hahaha! We have some of those projects laying around the house as well. Christopher started building a frame for a mirror in our bedroom a couple of years ago. The frame was totally finished and then when we went to hang it… it didn’t fit right. So his plan was just to fix the frame. Well, that was 2 years ago. πŸ˜‰ Some projects just take longer than others to get around to, haha!

  7. I can’t wait to see what you do with the nightstand!

  8. I can see big things for that night stand! And I wouldn’t have passed it up for $10, either.

  9. I LOVE getting things like this that are used and spicing them up with some love!!

  10. i can’t wait to see what you do with that nightstand!

  11. Craigslist projects are so fun! We have a little nightstand in Jake’s room (right now it’s next to the rocking chair and perfect for holding bottles when I’m finished feeding him) that was a Craigslist find. We got a tiny jug of paint at Home Depot, and color matched it to his nursery set. Justin painted it for me, since I was pregnant at the time. But it looks so good in his room!

    Chings sounds so good! We had a wing place in Pittsburgh (Quaker Steak and Lube…it was a chain, but I’m pretty sure we were visiting the original/best one). It looked like an old-fashioned gas station on the outside, and it was full of antique cars (and of course, multiple TVs broadcasting sports games) on the inside. They had at least twenty different flavors of wings, ranging from mild to super hot–and they were so good! We haven’t found a go-to wing place in Knoxville yet.

    • Aww, I love that! What a good idea to use a nightstand to hold things next to the rocking chair. You two are smart cookies! And so sweet that Justin painted it for the nursery. πŸ™‚

      That wing place sounds amazing! If I’m ever in Pittsburg I’ll have to check it out!

  12. What a great find on craigslist! I am a big fan of anything DIY so I can’t wait to see how it turns out. Sounds like a fun little date getting wings. πŸ™‚

  13. Can’t wait to see this piece finished and in your room! I love taking old furniture and making it “new” again! There’s just something satisfying about that!

  14. I so wish I had the patience and skill to restore old furniture. Alas, I’m the girl who usually ends up paying an insane price for ‘old looking’ pieces!

    V
    Life+1

  15. I love transforming furniture like this. great job!

  16. I can’t believe you found that nightstand for $10!!! That’s awesome! And I even like it as it is in that pink color—it’s so cute!
    And omg, those wings look soooo delicious! I’ve been eating way too much junk food these days, and that’s just another thing I want to add to my bad diet haha

    Have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

    • Haha! Come visit me and I’ll encourage that bad diet plenty with delicious Chings. You’d love it! πŸ™‚ And I know what you mean! I do kind of like the pink. It definitely doesn’t go with anything in our house, though, haha! I’m thinking that I might paint it a blue/grey color and put antique white knobs on it. But don’t hold me to that. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been known to change my mind a time or two!

  17. what a fun date – finding a nightstand and chicken wings? i would sub BBQ, but it sounds like a pretty ideal day πŸ™‚ also, we need a night stand pretty badly! i’ve been hesitant to buy one since we live in an apt and i want something that will fit our home — so.. i guess we’ll continue to wait πŸ™‚

  18. Okay, I had NO IDEA how far behind I was on your blog! Prepare for a major comment influx (probably in multiple phases, haha.) I LOVE that nightstand! I can’t wait to see what you guys do with it…ten dollars is such a steal πŸ™‚ And YAY for chicken wings! I love when wing places have tenders, because the bones kind of freak me out. The honey gold sauce looks super good, too!

    • I don’t like eating messy things with my fingers so I’m not a huge fan of meat with bones. I make an exception for BBQ ribs just because they are SO tasty. But otherwise I’m not a fan. Hence why I love me some chicken tenders!

  19. Pingback: A fresh coat of paint does wonders |

Leave a Reply

