Happy Chinese New Year!

Happy 2015, friends! The Chinese New  Year arrived yesterday and Christopher and I celebrated as we always do by making homemade Chinese food! As a bonus addition… we made a video this year. A little cooking video if you will.

Here’s the thing about this – I wasn’t planning to do a video. So what you see is 4 day old hair (yes, same hair from the pictures on Monday), a make up less face complete with dark circles under the eyes, and a giant (warm) tacky sweater. 🙂 Don’t judge me for not washing my hair. It has been SO cold here this week that I have tried to keep my shower to 3 minutes or less because the longer I’m in the hot water, the worse it is when I get out. I often let my hair go 2-3 days without washing, but 4 is pushing it even for me. And definitely not the day I’d want recorded, but this is real life my friends. 😉 {and for those concerned… I did wash my hair last night after this video and survived without turning into an icicle}. So enjoy a peak at our real life on Chinese New Year. 🙂

For those of you who don’t care to watch a 7 1/2 minute long cooking video, you should watch the last 30 seconds to see our adorable mutt eating Chinese food. Because, well, he’s adorable. 😉

chao fen

chao fen{Click recipe card to see larger}

jiao zi and man tou

We also had jiao zi (dumplings) and man tou (steamed bread)! Two of our other favorites. I cheated and bought both of them from the frozen section of our international market and then just steamed them for 15 minutes. So quick and delicious!

Happy Chinese New Year, friends!

Do you like Chinese food? 
Would you buy soy sauce that was marketed as “luscious”? 

Love Rach

34 responses to “Happy Chinese New Year!

  1. I really like this video…the food looks amazing! I need to buy a wok first, but I’m definitely going to make this! 🙂

  2. Love this!! I saw on Instagram that you used to live in China! That’s amazing. Love this video! The Chao Fen looks delicious!!

  3. We labored over Chinese food too last night!!! We did egg rolls and fried rice with a couple of dipping sauces.

    I always love the videos you post, and I’ll have to watch this later when I’m not sitting by someone doing homework! 🙂

    ps- I went to the store with 2 day old hair that I hadn’t even brushed today…:/

  4. Awwww!! Happy Chinese New Year!! How fun is that that you used to live in China! One of my closest friends lived in China as a missionary! 🙂 So cool! I love other cultures!! 🙂

  5. That looks so delicious! So good to see your blog again!

  6. Your hair doesn’t look bad! Oreo looks super excited about the food!

  7. Yum! I missed Chinese new year, but will have to make this soon anyway.

  8. Oh man that looks so amazing!!!

  9. I loved your cooking video!! You should do more of these! I really enjoy learning new recipes and you’re really good at explaining the process! Thanks for sharing! Next time I go to Barrio Chino I’m going to look for that black vinegar 🙂

  10. So Nate’s favorite food EVER is Chinese food, so I may have to make this for him! Ha, ha. 🙂 I do like it to, and I think this sounds delicious!
    And I’d totally buy luscious soy sauce! Ha, ha. :
    Fun video!!! Thanks for sharing! (I love the ‘blooper’ at the end… You do look pretty in the video! And I can’t – nor wouldn’t – judge as I have been guilty of not washing my hair for 4 days before too. Ha, ha).

    • Haha! I’m glad I’m not the only one who goes a few days without washing hair. 😉 I remember when you blogged about your mommy hair routine and I kept thinking “I’m not even a mom yet and I already don’t wash my hair every day… how bad is it going to be when I DO have a kid someday?!” haha! 😉

      Oh man, if you guys ever make it down here I’d totally cook Chinese for you! I don’t know what all types of Chinese food Nate likes, but if he likes them you should buy some of the frozen dumplings and just steam them. It’s SO easy and they are delicious (and authentic!). 🙂

  11. I LOVE those dumplings. Everything else looks incredible too. Mouth is watering. Haha- you’re adorbs. I could never judge you for not washing hair–Guilty here (hair? HA 😛 ) too.

  12. My homemade chinese food is usually limited to fried rice and fried bee hoon (Hokkien name), so I’m impressed! We had a very festive Chinese New Year here in Malaysia this year!

    • Oh girl, when we lived in China we almost never made Chinese food so I think you’re a rockstar for cooking it at all while living in Asia! We always just went to our favorite street spots or restaurants and ate it there. It was just as cheap as cooking it at home because food was SO inexpensive there. 😉 I do like Chinese food in restaurants here, but it’s just not the same (I’m sure you know that). 🙂

  13. Thanks so much for posting this video! I’m so bad at cooking…I always want to recreate some of our favorite dishes that we ate in China, but I’m never sure how to do it. Your video is very helpful! I don’t think I ever ate that dish while I was in China (our town was not big on noodles…they put rice with everything…but then when we visited Xi’An one time, they were definitely noodle people! Maybe it’s a “central” China kind of thing). I almost thought you were going to make fried rice (chao fan), and then I saw that they are just one letter different! Did your man tao have meat in the center, or was it just bread? I’ll definitely have to try cooking this because we have all kinds of Chinese sauces in our fridge from the Asian supermarket leftover from when our friends came to town over Christmas break! Yum! And I love that your soy sauce was “luscious!” Their translations can be so cute!

    • Well I lucked out with the cooking instructionals. My parents still go back to China a couple of times a year (they are on their way there right now as I type this in fact) and my sister has been back a couple of times (including having JUST come back). So in the times they’ve gone back they have asked our Chinese friends for step-by-step instructions on how to make our favorite dishes. Otherwise I wouldn’t have a clue! Abby learned more this past time she was in China and sometime while she’s staying with us, she’s going to teach us new dishes! I’ll try to remember to film her so we can ALL learn! 🙂

      And nope, the man tou we get is just plain. For some reason I really don’t like it with stuff inside it (which is, as I’m sure you know, the more common way it’s prepared). When we lived in China I’d eat all of the steamed bun EXCEPT the insides, haha! I’d eat around it. 😉

  14. Pingback: Happy St. Davids Day! |

  15. Happy (super belated) Chinese New Year!! I loved–LOVED this video!
    1) I want luscious soy sauce!! I would definitely buy that stuff just for the name…there is a reason we’re friends!
    2) The walls in your kitchen are pretty much the exact same colour as our living room, I’m pretty sure
    3) The food looks AMAZING 🙂
    4) The parts with Oreo eating the Chinese food and Christopher telling you you’re pretty made me smile. You guys are so cute!
    4a) Yes, you do look so pretty. Hehe. How does your hair look so good after 4 days?!

    • I’ll have to bring you some luscious soy sauce when we come visit you guys! ​Clearly these are the important things in life. 😉

      Yay! I love that we have the same color walls in our house! It’s such a bright and happy color that it makes me feel so cheerful when I walk in our kitchen. 🙂

      Haha! You are too kind. My hair was definitely not at its peak in that video. 😉 I will say it’s easier for me to go a few days without washing my hair because I have naturally curly hair (even though it’s more like “wavy” hair now that it’s so long and the weight of it pulls out the curl). I’ve heard most natural curly headed people can easily go a couple of days without washing their hair. I think it has to do with amount of oil our heads produce naturally (less than normal which is part of why my hair is prone to frizz). So yes, that’s my theory.

  16. Pingback: Happy (belated) Chinese New Year! |

Leave a Reply

