All the cute things

Yesterday my sister, Abby, and I went out to run some errands to pick up home renovation things (paint for a new room, knobs for the nightstand, etc). We hit up Home Depot, Hobby Lobby, Tuesday Morning, and Target. I found not only the things I needed for our current projects, but several things that had been on the back burner for a while. Win, win, win. And because I know you guys want to see all the adorable things we found, I’m sharing! πŸ™‚

rae and absAbby and me!

mirror

We are redecorating one of our guest rooms right now and I’ve been looking for a mirror to go above a vanity in that room. We found this mirror on clearance at Tuesday Morning for $12!! It’s huge and sparkly and gorgeous. It’s exactly what I was looking for! πŸ™‚

globe

I’ve wanted a globe for our office for a couple of months. I nearly bought one off Amazon, but I was afraid that while it looked good in pictures that it might look cheap in person. So I decided to wait. And I’m so glad I did! I found this gem at Target! At 18″ tall it’s the perfect size for the office! And it’s HEAVY! That’s actual metal not plastic. I just love it! πŸ™‚

tie

I found this kid’s clip on seer sucker tie at Target. I always have a couple of items I keep on hand as photo props (especially with kids stuff) and this was a perfect addition to my collection! I’m so excited to photograph a little boy wearing this!

hello spring

Also in the SpotΒ section at Target was this adorable little spring decoration. I’m trying to be better about decorating our house for more than just Christmas. I’m definitely ready to go ahead and display this in the house… maybe it’ll help spur the arrival of spring? #wishfulthinking πŸ˜‰

journals

I found these two journals at Tuesday morning. I loooove them! Can you see what the one on the left says? “Life is a great adventure” πŸ™‚ I haven’t decided if it will just be my next journal or if I’ll save it for our Β next overseas trip (which might tentatively be next year… *squeal!*). When we went to Italy Christopher and I kept a journal together of everything we saw and ate and experienced. I’m SO glad we did that! There are so many little things that we would have forgotten otherwise. πŸ™‚ So we might use that journal as our next travel journal. We shall see!

travel suitcase

Speaking of travel… I found this decorative travel suitcase at Tuesday Morning as well. Β We have a ton of papers and tickets and random little things leftover from our Italy trip that normal people would probably just throw away. But I hate to throw them away so they’ve just been in a big Ziplock bag in the office until I found a good place for them to go. Ha! Well this little suitcase is PERFECT to store them in. πŸ™‚

vase filler

When we got married 6 years ago we were given a set of vases. And we thought to ourselves, we should buy something to put in those. And we just never did. Then a couple of years later one of them got knocked over one day and broke. And we thought to ourselves, we really should put something in that other vase because it looks kind of weird just sitting there. And a few more years passed to present day. And finally yesterday, I bought something to go in the vase, ha! So thanks to Abby’s helpful advice and Hobby Lobby’s selection… I finally have something in my vase! πŸ˜‰

Have you bought anything adorable lately?Β 

Have you been inside Tuesday Morning? Abby suggested we go there to find some of the things on my list and I’m so glad she did! I am officially a huge fan of that store! πŸ™‚

Have you found yourself putting off a small house project for a long time?

Love Rach

 

46 responses to “All the cute things

  1. Ahhh, it’s all so adorable!! You found great stuff. I have a weakness for globes. That one is really awesome – now I’m trying to figure out where I could put a globe in my house….

  2. I love that mirror! I have never been in Tuesday Morning. We do have one in Tuscaloosa so I may just have to check it out this weekend! I have seen that globe at Target and really wanted to buy it but I could never think of a place I could put it. I have several small and large projects I have been putting off since I bought my house almost 2 years ago… I keep random papers and tickets and other stuff from trips too. I like seeing a ticket stub or something random and remembering that part of a trip. I hope you are staying warm!

    • Just as fair warning, this was my second time in a Tuesday Morning. The first time was in another city and they didn’t have much of anything great. Abby says it’s pretty hit or miss based on the store. Hopefully the one in Tuscaloosa is a hit and you can find a lot of great things! πŸ™‚

      Our to-do list seems to only ever grow longer, haha! How does that happen? πŸ˜‰

      Aww, I’m glad I’m not the only one who keeps ticket stubs and such. I just hate to throw them away!

  3. Ahhh!! This is so fun! I’m not sure what the cutest thing I bought recently… but I did just find the cutest little dish that I got from “Japan” in Epcot in Disney World a while ago …and I’ve been using it! πŸ™‚

  4. I absolutely ADORE that sign next to your vase… “You’re pretty much my most favorite of all time in the history of ever.” Ahh so perfect for you guys! β™₯

    -Tia

  5. oh my goodness! I absolutely love that globe! Nice finds. Clearance items are my favorite.

  6. These are such great finds! I love the mirror and the globe…so pretty!

  7. I love the location that you shot these photos!! The wall looks great. The Tuesday Morning in my town is kinda run down, but they do have a lot of fun stuff!

    • The photos were taken in the office that we had renovated by the TV show. That grey wall is called “slurry”. It’s a tinted base that they add to sand and slap it up on the wall. It’s textured kind of like stucco. I’m not sure why I haven’t thought to use this as a backdrop more often! It’s perfect with all the natural lighting in that room. πŸ™‚

  8. I love how getting a few new things can make you feel totally different about your space. Those plants seem to fit that vase and space perfectly!

  9. I love the stuff you got! I’ve also had a vase since we got married (it was used as a giant centerpiece on the guest-book signing table at our wedding) that I’m not sure what to do with. It had a silk flower arrangement for awhile, but I started getting tired of that and wanting something different. I’m pretty sure that vase is just in storage now! I love the idea of using wheat though–it looks pretty! I have a weird dread of Tuesday Morning, even though I’m sure there would be lots of things that I like in there (like some of the items you found!). When I was younger, my Mom took me in there ALL. THE. TIME. And she spent hours in there–I’m pretty sure she knew the store employees by name. So ever since I grew up and left the house, I haven’t wanted to go back inside, haha!

    On Wed, Feb 25, 2015 at 10:52 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Yesterday my sister, Abby, and I > went out to run some errands to pick up home renovation things (paint for a > new room, knobs for the nightstand, etc). We hit up Home Depot, Hobby > Lobby, Tuesday Morning, and Target. I found not only the things I needed > for”

    • Oh my goodness! I can definitely understand why you would dread Tuesday Morning, then! I didn’t know this store had been around for so long. I’ve only recently started seeing them pop up. It’s okay, you can still find lots of cute things at plenty of other stores! No worries! πŸ˜‰

      At least your vase had something in it even if you got tired of it, haha! You were still a step ahead of us. πŸ˜‰

  10. Sounds like a fun girls day! I have SO many house things that I have put on the back burner. I just haven’t had the time!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  11. I am jealous of that mirror find…. and you got such a good deal on it too! I have never heard of the store Tuesday Morning but it sounds great. I will have to check target for that adorable tie for my little guy.

    • This was only my second time to go into the store (the first time I went into one in another city and it was terribly disorganized and really didn’t have much of anything good) so you aren’t behind the times! If you have one close by, you should check it out! You might just find something amazing! πŸ™‚

  12. I am a little jealous of that mirror find…. and you got such a good deal on it too! I have never heard of the store Tuesday Morning but it sounds great. I will have to check target for that adorable tie for my little guy.

  13. Those are some great finds! Now I want to go shopping…specifically to get that globe! Love that!

  14. Super cute things! I love the picture of you and Abby! I bet yall had the best day! A sister close in age must be wonderful to have!!!

  15. So reading this post made me feel giddy, because I haven’t been to Target since November. NOVEMBER! LOL!! I am having major withdrawels, so I just felt so happy reading this post and looking at your adorable finds. (I especially love that globe and mirror)!
    I’ve never heard of Tuesday Morning, so I wonder if maybe we don’t have that chain out here. You know that I’ve heard of Target though… πŸ˜‰ Ha, ha. THAT store is my favorite ever!
    As for putting off a house project… Back in the summer, I painted a picture frame with chalkboard paint and hung it in my dining room. I absolutely LOVE the way it turned out. But I’ve yet to buy chalk so that I can write something on it. LOL! So I just have a blank chalkboard hanging up in my house. πŸ˜‰ I guess I’d getter finish that.
    And as for adorable finds, I went online baby-clothes shopping for Brady yesterday. πŸ™‚ I received a ton of outfits at my shower, but Brady is already almost ready for 9 months clothes (although he’s only 2 months old). Yeahhh, he’s a big boy. πŸ˜‰ Thankfully, winter / early spring clothes are already out of season (since JCPenny is already coming out with summer clothes), so I bought him 11 outfits for $70! That’s less than $10 an outfit, and some of them are REALLY cute! πŸ™‚

    • GIRL! November?! Wow! Babies do change things, haha! I know you’ll be back out there shopping with Sarah again soon, though! And finding all kinds of adorable things. πŸ™‚

      Ha! Your chalkboard frame sounds like something I’d totally do. We have several things like that around our house. πŸ˜‰

      Whaaat?! How is Brady so big already?! He still seems so small to me! But what a sweet little chunk. 9 month clothes already! So glad you got so many great deals at JCP! That’s the best. πŸ™‚

  16. Love that mirror! I am the worst about buying decorative things, in that I never do and my house is boring lol.

  17. i love globes…thatsounds like the nerdiest thing ever that I’ve said, hehe. but i do! sarah jessica parker has a collection of light up ones in her nyc apt.

  18. Oh I love that travel suitcase thing! I am with you – I saved tons of tickets, papers, etc from our trip to Europe a couple of years ago. I need to find something like this to put them in!

    • I found another vintage looking “book” at Hobby Lobby today. It looks like a old book with maps on the cover, but it actually is hollow inside! So I decided to put all of our Italy stuff in it and put it on the bookshelf and I’m trying to decide what to do with the decorative suitcase now, haha! I could return it, but it’s SO cute! I’m pretty sure I can find another use for it. πŸ˜‰

  19. everything looks really cute, love the mirror!

  20. Tuesday Mornings is one of my favorite stores!

    A lot of my kitchen gadgets came from there. It was a time in my life when I wanted everything pink and Tuesday Mornings has pink Kitchenaid gadgets.

    I also think they just have great deals in general. You just have to be willing to look.

    Also, is the wall in your photos cement? I like it!

    • ​Aww, fun! Pink kitchen gadgets sounds adorable. I could totally see Tuesday Morning carrying those! It’s amazing what all you can find there. πŸ™‚

      And yeah, it’s like a concrete sort of wall. It’s called “slurry.” Random story: we had a TV show remodel our office for us and the designer chose slurry for the walls. It looks really great in the room! You can see the “big reveal” (including the slurry in the room) here: http://www.fixitandfinish.com/segment/bricks-wall if you are interested. πŸ™‚ ​

  21. This wasn’t even in your list of things bought, but I am cracking up over that “history of ever” sign! Love it. That globe is really cute, and I love the little tie! What a great idea to have photo props on hand.

  22. Aaah, these are all super adorable!! I especially LOVE that globe, even though it makes me so sad that Target is in the process of peaceing out of Canada. And I love what you put in your vase…I also love the artwork hanging above the vase πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

