Happy St. David’s Day!

Happy March, friends!! Welcome, welcome to the month that will hopefully begin to bring more sunshine than ice! 😉 For the past couple of years on March 1st Christopher and I have celebrated St. David’s Day! St. David was the patron saint of Wales and tradition holds that he died on March 1st in 589 AD so the first of March is the day we celebrate in his honor.

to be born welsh{source}

You might be thinking, “Wait a minute! I thought you guys were Italian… this is “this Italian family” blog, right?” Well, as I mentioned on our about page, I’m not actually Italian. I married into it. Christopher is Italian, but my family heritage is from the British Isles – predominately Wales. So it’s a small way of connecting with my people. 🙂 Plus we love to celebrate! And after the first year we celebrated we discovered that we LOVE Welsh Cakes. Sometimes we make them even when it’s not St. David’s Day, haha! So any excuse to make them is good with us!

st david daffodilDaffodils are the national flower of Wales and commonly worn (along with leeks) on St. David’s Day.

Welsh Cakes for St David's Day

welsh cakes{Slightly adapted from NutureStore}

A couple of people requested more cooking videos after the Chinese New Year one and while I don’t think it’s something I’ll be able to do frequently, I was able to make a video of this process for you guys yesterday! 🙂

If you aren’t interested in the cooking part of this video, you should at least watch the last minute of the video (beginning at 4:21) to see my sister Abby and Christopher talking about how exciting they are about Welsh Cakes. And if you are just looking for the blooper… it begins at 4:58. In case you can’t hear what Christopher says at the very end, it’s “I’ll take two”. 🙂

Happy (belated) St. David’s Day, friends! I hope spring is on its way to all of us!
Love Rach

29 responses to “Happy St. David’s Day!

  1. Lol- so fun!! They look great- and I love celebrating those traditions and special days- they make it all so much more fun!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  2. When I glanced at the picture, I thought they looked like cookies. But after watching you cook them in the pan, I wonder what the consistency is like? Are they more like pancakes? They look like they must be heavier than pancakes.

  3. Those Welsh Cakes look amazing! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  4. Let’s make these when you come visit! They look awesome!!!

  5. Those look so good!

  6. I have a partially Welsh background, but I know little to nothing about the region or culture. This is the first year I’ve ever heard of St. David’s Day.

  7. Hmmm, I like anything with cinnamon and raisins, so this sounds delish!!!
    Love the video! Brady and I just watched it together. 🙂

  8. I am a history buff, especially European history.. love this post! Thanks for sharing!! ❤ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  9. daffodils and Welsh cakes? sounds like a fun celebration to me — I think i’m gonna try making these!

  10. These look like such a delicious breakfast! I think I’m going to try them out this weekend. Thanks for posting another cooking video—I really enjoy them and I think you’re really great at teaching!
    Just a question….was that Oreo drinking water in the background in the beginning of the video? I recognize that lapping up water sound haha
    He’s the cutest! Loved that blooper. xx

    • Aww, yay! I really am so glad you enjoy the videos! 🙂 There is a very good chance that Oreo is lapping up water in the background – his water dish is in the kitchen. He’s forever making random background noise in my videos, haha!

  11. i have never heard of these before or the holiday! that’s awesome!! i love learning things like this.

  12. I think it’s so cool that you guys celebrate St. David’s day!! And the welsh cakes sound really good! I’m so excited to watch the video once Steve gets off the phone (my headphones are out of reach, and I’m being lazy :p) I loved your last one!!

  13. Tell me more about Welsh cakes!!! What do they compare to?

    We love doing what I call “cultural holidays” at our house! I’ve never actually heard of this day until this year…And I heard about it like three or four different times!

    • They are like a really big, crumbly cookie. Not super sweet like a cookie, but that’s the texture. With cinnamon and raisins as flavors. So yummy! 🙂 Who else did you hear about St. David’s Day from? I don’t know many people who celebrate it!

  14. I feel like you seriously know about everything!! St. David’s Day?! That’s SO neat! I love it… and I’m with Casey! We will need to celebrate St. David’s Day with these Welsh Cakes when y’all come down..

  15. Pingback: Lately |

Leave a Reply

