Off The Hoof

There is this rustic old building in Arlington, TN (which is just outside Memphis) not too far from the pretty little downtown square. Every time we pass by it’s super busy. So finally one day we stopped in. It was so great that we’ve been back again since then! Both experiences were amazing so I think it’s high time I finally blogged about it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s required that you wear cowboy ย boots in order to walk in the door. Okay, actually that’s not true at all, but itย looksย like the place where everyone there should be wearing cowboy boots. Or cowgirl boots. I’m not gender stereotyping here. Anyway, this entire discussion about boots is really pointless because in total honesty… we weren’t wearing boots at all when we went. ๐Ÿ˜‰

off the hoofBut seriously, don’t you feel a little like you would want to wear boots walking into a place like this? Okay okay… enough with the boots. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Obviously there was a very western, old-timey feel to the decor of this place. ๐Ÿ™‚

fried picklesAlso, they had fried pickles. I’m not sure that fried pickles were a thing back in ye-olden-days of the wild west, but they should have been. I mean, yum. And these were excellent!

DSC_0178I am pretty sure, however, that the wild west had cheesy bacon fries. I mean, it just seems like something you’d order at a saloon. I bet Dorothy Day wasย  chowing down on these at some point during Calamity Jane (100 you-are-amazing points if you’ve seen this movie!). These particular ones, were pretty fabulous.

DSC_0177I imagine burgers were pretty plain in the wild west if they existed at all. But the ones from Off the Hoof were ah-mazing! You get to build your own burger and Christopher and I both loved them. Definitely ranks in our top 3ย favorite Memphis (area) burgers! I got grilled onions, bacon, swiss cheese, and BBQ sauce and it was delightful!

If you are anywhere near Off The Hoof, you need to get there pronto. Order a burger. You won’t be sorry. Just don’t forget your boots (just kidding). ๐Ÿ˜‰

Off The Hoof Burgers on Urbanspoon

Love Rach

24 responses to “Off The Hoof

  1. Cheese bacon fries? On my! Can you just send them to me please? They look amazing.

  2. YEEE-HAW. This looks fun, I’ve been wanting to try fried pickles for alllll the years now.

  3. Mmm, I want to eat all of that! Looks so tasty. Fun atmosphere too!

  4. OMG, I want to go to there!! Hubs and I are talking about a vacation to Tennessee sometime next year.. no joke! โค – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  5. Looks like such a cool place! The fried pickles look amazing!

  6. A trip to Tennessee has been on my bucket list for a long time now, and this place is now added to my list of things I want to do while I am there. It looks like so much fun and the food looks amazing!

  7. This looks so lovely!! …and this may be a stupid question, but is this the same Arlington that’s in The Bachelor?!!!

  8. Sounds like so much fun- I love little spontaneous adventures, and the food seems totally worth it!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  9. Those fried pickles are calling my name!! I need to venture into Arlington a little more to go out to eat. It’s really not far from our house but I always forget about it when we are trying to think of different places.

  10. Oh goodness, those fries!!! They definitely existed in the wild west ๐Ÿ˜‰ and YES to fried pickles, always!

  11. Ooooh, burger joints are my FAVORITE!!!! And the build your own thing is my favorite of favorites. I can’t say I know what movie you’re talking about, which makes me sad…but, we have burgers in common! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Oh girl, build-your-own-burger places are favorites of mine too! So yummy! And Calamity Jane is an oooold movie that I grew up on. It’s a musical set in the wild west starring Doris Day. It’s cute and pretty funny. If you like old movies, you should check it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. SHUT UP!!!! I KNOW CALAMITY JANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Looooove those old musicals!!!!!!!!!! That’s it. We need a movie night when y’all come visit!! And bring those burgers with you. ;))

    • Nuh uh! You know Calamity Jane?! That makes me all kinds of happy! Remember the song “I can do without you” where Calamity and Wild Bill are singing insults back and forth to each other? My sister and I used to jokingly sing that to each other all the time! Up until just recently it was my ringtone for when she called. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yes! I vote a definite yes to a movie night! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

