The heart of Rexie

In the winter of 2010 we had our first big snow while living in Memphis. On the last day of the snow we scooped up a big cup full of it and put it in our freezer to take to our niece and nephew. Then we forgot about it.

2010

So it stayed in our freezer until January of 2011 when we had our next big snow. Our friends came over and we had a huge snowball fight and then one of us remembered the snow in the freezer. We decided that it was high time to pull it out. The guys were building a giant snow dinosaur and the fistfull of year-old-snow was the perfect addition. And so Rexie came to life.

snow-dino

Isn’t Rexie amazing?! So before Rexie melted, the guys decided that we needed to save a piece of him for the next big snow. So they dug out his heart (the general area of where they had put the snow from the previous year) and we put it in a plastic baggie in the freezer.

heart of rexie

We’ve had at least a little bit of snow every year over the past 4 years, but mostly we just get lots and lots of ice. Yesterday, however, we finally got a solid enough snow to break out the heart of Rexie and to resurrect him in turtle king form.

heart of rexie3

That’s Christopher holding Rexie’s heart! Ready to put it into the snow turtle king we built!

snow turtle2

Christopher bringing turtle Rexie to life with the frozen heart of his ancestor from 4 years before. πŸ˜‰ He’s not quite as imposing as his dinosaur grandfather, but he was still fun to create! πŸ™‚

rae and abs4

I was so glad Abby was here to have a fun snow day with us! And I’m guessing today will be snow day part two since the roads still aren’t clear. Hooray! πŸ™‚

family pic copy

Oreo LOVES the snow! So much more than the ice we’ve been getting. He loves to eat it and run crazy through it. He cracks us up with how much he wants to be out in it all the time. Poor baby gets SO cold, though! He starts shivering after 15 minutes tops every time.Β Christopher kept making snowballs and then throwing them out in the yard for Oreo to “fetch”. Poor Oreo never understood why he couldn’t find the ball after they would hit the ground (and disintegrate). We all had a great day together!

If you have a pet, does he or she like to be out in the snow?

Have you ever kept snow in the freezer?Β 

Does the song “Do you want to build a snowman?” get stuck in anyone else’s head on snow days?

Love Rach

39 responses to “The heart of Rexie

  1. So fun! Last week, we had MORE THAN enough snow to build a snowman, and I wanted to go out there and do it! But I wasn’t sure what to do with Baby Jake…so I’ll have to wait until next year. Our neighbors built an enormous snowman (like six feet tall!) in their yard, which was fun! I haven’t seen the movie Frozen so I’m glad that I can’t get the snowman song stuck in my head! I’m avoiding animated features as much as possible for the last couple of years that I can!

    On Fri, Mar 6, 2015 at 8:11 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “In the winter of 2010 we had our > first big snow while living in Memphis. On the last day of the snow we > scooped up a big cup full of it and put it in our freezer to take to our > niece and nephew. Then we forgot about it. So it stayed in our freezer > unti”

    • Smart girl! It won’t be long before you’ll be singing “Let it go” along with us. Enjoy your freedom while you can. πŸ˜‰

      I bet Jake will love the snow next year when he’s old enough to play in it! That is going to be absolutely precious!

  2. I love this, haahaaaa! What a fun time, normally I’m not a big snow fan, but I can get on board with this!!

  3. Haha! What a fun tradition!!

    • It really is! We’re going to try and do better about remembering to pull it out every year! When we have kids I’m pretty sure we’re going to tell them that the “heart” brings our snow creatures to life at night time while we sleep. So we have a magical snowman/dino/turtle/etc. πŸ™‚ Our kids will think we’re the coolest (you know, until they’re like 7, haha!). πŸ™‚

  4. That is a very impressive snow Dino! I love that yall save the “heart” each year!

    • We’re going to try and do better about remembering to pull it out every year! When we have kids I’m pretty sure we’re going to tell them that the “heart” brings our snow creatures to life at night time while we sleep. So we have a magical snowman/dino/turtle/etc. πŸ™‚ Our kids will think we’re the coolest (you know, until they’re like 7, haha!). πŸ™‚

  5. Haha, I love it! We haven’t had enough snow this winter to build anything 😦

  6. I have never kept snow in the freezer, and I’ve never even thought about it! Now I’m wishing I had read this yesterday…. I could have saved some snow! Although we’re hopefully moving soon, and I don’t know if snow would have made the trip πŸ™‚ What fun!

    • ​Rexie’s heart made it through one move, but it was a move less than two miles away when we moved from our apartment into a house. And it was only a few months after that first snow happened. So had it been more difficult to transport the snow, we probably would’ve just tossed it. However, at this point, now that it’s a “thing” I’m pretty sure we would pack him on ice in a cooler in order to keep the heart “alive”. Some traditions are just so much fun. πŸ˜‰

  7. How fun!! I love that that first bit of snow has lived on. What a cool tradition. I hope you kept the heart of turtle Rex for next year’s storm…. πŸ™‚

    I like to do snow angels, which inevitably results in snow down the back of my neck, but it’s still fun. πŸ™‚ Our cats like to watch the snow, but they are not the least bit interested in seeing it up close.

    • Oh yes! We definitely have turtle Rexie’s heart back in the freezer now. Ready to be pulled out for the next big snow! πŸ™‚ Aww, I like snow angels too! I can’t believe I didn’t do one this year. Next year for sure!

  8. The snowy environment looks so much fun! πŸ™‚ I wish we had snow here in Austin, but it only happens every couple years.

  9. That snow man.. er… Rex? Is AWESOME!!!! I don’t live in a snowy region, so the extent of my snow art is shoddily made snowballs, which promptly get thrown at random family members, haha… – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  10. Aww, yay for snow days! I’m sure they are few and far between for you guys…which is probably pretty nice ;). I feel like I haven’t seen grass in months. Just yesterday, I was looking at a picture from the summer and I was like “Whoa! We had grass!!!” haha/ We just constantly have inces of snow covering all of the grass for months straight, so seeing grass is so shocking. Crazy! I love that you guys kept the snow from Rexie and that your sis could play in the snow with you!!

    Lola loves snow, too! She loves to dig her nose in it and just act all wacko!

  11. Oh no way!!! Oreo is so cute! …my lazy dog LOVES the snow! She sits outside on a path my dad shoveled for her and likes the snow! πŸ™‚ SO cute!

  12. That is the most epic snow-grandfather-dinosaur story I have ever heard. Our freezer is miniscule, so I am very impressed that you kept the snow for that long. I’ve been on a lifelong quest to build a massive snow house–some years, we’ve actually built some impressively high walls, complete with window holes, but we’ve never actually managed to finish one to my satisfaction–either we get too cold or too tired or the snow melts first. Some day I will have my gigantic snow mansion. Maybe if I tried for a one-room house I’d be a little more successful…

  13. Rexie is the coolest thing ever!!!! You guys are awesome.

  14. YAY, for Rexie coming back to life in the form of a turtle! He looked pretty impressive both times πŸ™‚ We have never put snow in the freezer, but I love the idea of having a recurring snow saving situation like that! And poor Oreo…Max gets so confused when we throw snowballs, too.

    • ​Haha! It’d be hilarious to watch Max and Oreo try to go after the same snowballs. It’s just so confusing for them. They see a definite ball in your hand, see it flying through the air, see the general area where it landed and yet… no ball! ​

  15. What a fun little tradition you have going. I am so jealous of how little snow you have!

  16. I love that little tradition!!! You’ll have to keep that one up! πŸ™‚

    I’m glad your sister got to spend the snow day with you too.

  17. Hahaaa!! I love this!! Why are y’all so dang cute?! ;)) I want to come play for snow day!

  18. Haha this is absolutely hilarious. I love that he dug out Rexie’s heart. OMG I’m dying.

  19. Nope. Don’t miss snow one bit this year!! PS. There is a slight chance we could end up at Fort Campbell next year πŸ˜‰ Will has to come up there in August or September, so depending on how the baby is with traveling, we may come up for the week too! My MIL lives in Nashville, so it would be a fun trip!

  20. Pingback: Weekend Happenings |

Leave a Reply

