The curious case of Oreo and Abby

With the exception of some men, Oreo likes people. When new people walk in the door he just absolutely has to see them and sniff them and make sure that they don’t have any treats for him. Often people will want to pet him or give him affection, but unless you have a treat for him, he’s really not that interested. He’ll let you pet him for a minute and then he moves on.

oars

However, if people are jumpy around him or seem to not like him then Oreo is far more likely to stay close to them and bug them. I like to think that he is trying to prove that he’s a sweet, loveable dog and that they should love him. But in truth, I’m pretty sure he’s thinking “Oh, you don’t like big dogs? Well this is MY house! Mwhahaha! I will annoy you until you leave!” Yeaaaah…

oreo and christopher

Anyway, in general, this sweet mutt of mine adores his momma and daddy (that’s me and Christopher for those of you who are normal people and don’t call yourself parents to your pets, haha!). And he looooves his Kelsi (one of the girls I mentor and his regular dog sitter). And he really liked Tony (our friend who lived with us for 6 months). And he is partial to the way my father-in-law gives him a good rub down. And that’s about it. Otherwise he likes people just fine, but he doesn’t want to be besties with them.

oreo rach snuggle

So when my sister, Abby came to stay with us, I was curious to see how they would interact. Abby is one of my few family members who actually likes pets, but again Oreo is picky about who he gets attached to. So on the first day when Abby invited Oreo up on the couch to sit with her, he wasn’t quite sure what to do. He jumped up on the couch with her and laid awkwardly on top of her lap and stared at her trying to figure her out.

oreo and abby

Naturally I took a picture because it was so hilariously awkward looking. Oreo was trying to figure her out. He stayed there for a couple of minutes and then hopped down to come sit with Christopher and me.

The first day when I came home from work to find Abby and Oreo snuggled up on the couch I couldn’t believe my eyes.

oreo and abby3

You guys don’t understand… Oreo doesn’t cuddle with other people. Us and Kelsi. That’s it. So for him to take to Abby so quickly was SO strange. But it continued for the whole two weeks that she stayed with us.

oreo and abby2

We still don’t know why Oreo took to Abby so quickly and completely, but he sure did love to cuddle with her while we were gone during the day (and even sometimes at night when we were all home!). Abby says it’s because he knows that she’s his “Aunt Abby”. Abby stayed with us for two weeks and left over this past weekend. But she’ll be back soon and when she is, Oreo will be ecstatic. πŸ™‚

Is your pet particular about people she or he likes?
Any theories on why Oreo took to Abby so quickly?
Love Rach

26 responses to “The curious case of Oreo and Abby

  1. Maybe she reminded him of his mommy! He would love me, because he would sense the fear. I can’t help it. I’m just afraid of big dogs! Alan on the other hand, loves to hug on pups!

  2. Oreo is such a cutie!! Max definitely cuddles up to the people who like him the least, too. I’m pretty sure he’s trying to win them over πŸ˜‰ SO cute that Oreo loves Abby so much! I agree with Casey…she probably reminded him of you πŸ™‚

  3. Ahh, that’s sweet. Pets have a great sense about people. I’m glad that Oreo and Abby became such great friends. πŸ™‚

  4. That is so sweet! It is so amazing how pets can just bond with certain people so quickly!

  5. Awww that’s so sweet! Sometimes I think animals seem to know more about people than people know about people, and there’s a reason for the connection they make with others. Maybe Oreo knew your sister just got back from China and is currently readjusting to life in America?

    As for my babies, one of my them is super friendly with everyone, but she much prefers men over women, and my other dog is weary of most people…he definitely has trust issues, but the ones he loves (like me, my husband and the dog walker, he REALLY loves and is the most affectionate dogs I have ever met). ❀

  6. It’s been a while since I’ve had a dog, but I would say Oreo just had a good sense about Abby. It’s always nice when those you love get along, huh?

  7. That is sooo funny! I love the first picture of them together! πŸ™‚

    My dog pretty much likes anyone….With the exception of people with hats or bundled up in ways that make their faces hard to see. Other than that, she is alll “smiles” and tail wags!

  8. Ahhh that’s so funny!! My dog is like this too!! Now that she’s older she’s much more chill… but when she was littler she was very particular about who she liked! haha, dogs!!

  9. Aw I love this. Oreo must know she’s family. πŸ™‚ And I can’t believe you only have a few family members who actually like pets?! My entire family is obsessed with animals. Haha.

    • I never noticed how strange it was that no one in my family likes animals (besides Abby) until Christopher pointed it out one day. He thought it was SO strange that I love animals SO much when I come from a family who doesn’t like them at all. I’m not exactly sure how that happened, haha!

  10. The answer is easy–Aunt Abby is the favorite aunt, right? πŸ˜‰

  11. Oh this is sooo sweet! Dogs just know, right? πŸ™‚

  12. Do you and Abby have similar voices? My cats aren’t fond of anyone but me, Nate… and my sister. And sometimes I wonder if it’s because she talks baby-talk to them like I do. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚

  13. I have noticed that my dogs seem to love my Mom and my Sister more than anyone else. I don’t know if it’s because we’re related or because I love and trust them more than anyone else, so they do too.

Leave a Reply

