It’s 1:50am…

So. It’s 1:50am. As in… in the middle of the night. As in 4 hours past my bed time. Fear not, disaster has not struck. No middle of the night emergency. No, no, just a cup of coffee at the wrong time of the day. No, not an espresso as a nightcap. Just a cup of decaf coffee. At 3pm. Yeah, that’s how sensitive I am to caffeine (for those who don’t know, there is still some caffeine even in decaf coffee, though it’s not very much). I don’t drink caffeinated drinks, but I sure do love some decaf coffee. Usually when I have my decaf coffee it’s first thing in the morning. But today was a long, long day. So as a mid-afternoon treat I stopped by Starbucks for my favorite. And now here I am at nearly 2am wide awake.

The good news is that I have been super productive in these midnight hours. I finally finished planning our Vegas trip. Which is good since we leave tomorrow! Well… I guess that’s “today” now. I’m pretty stoked about it. 😀

The other good news is that my day tomorrow will be simple. I had a photo shoot scheduled that just got moved to next week due to the rain so I can sleep in. I have a lunch date with one of my teens. I need to pack a quick getaway bag for the weekend. I’ll hit up the gym for a bit. And that’s it. Easy peasy. It’ll fly by, but I’m looking forward to it (especially the sleeping in part). And then next thing I know, I’ll be on my way to Vegas. 🙂 But first I need to go to bed. 😉

Anyone out there super sensitive to caffeine? (or have you given it up in the past only to find that a small amount affects you quite a bit later?)

Any bets on how late I sleep in? I’m hoping for at least 7:30am! I’m normally an 8 hours of sleep kinda girl, but I know there’s no way my body will let me sleep in until 10am. 😉

Any last minute Vegas/Grand Canyon tips for us?

Love Rach

40 responses to “It’s 1:50am…

  1. I didn’t know about Vegas! What are yall going for? I am super sensitive to caffeine, but I don’t sleep no matter what! I went to sleep around 11 and woke up some time after 1! I finally got out of bed and ate, because I wake up starving, and probably won’t go back to sleep until 4. Im hoping I do go back to sleep. Then I’m up around 7:30 or 8 for the day! It’s horrible! I know it’s bad for my health, but I don’t know what to do about it 😦

    • Yikes! Just realized I haven’t responded to comments on this post yet! Yes, ma’am! We went to Vegas! I can’t believe I didn’t mention it to you! We were going just for fun. Christopher has been so busy with work that we wanted to take a fun weekend to just get away and be together. 🙂 It’s crazy to think that since I wrote this post… you’ve had a baby! 😉

  2. Oh yeah, caffeine after about 2 pm is bad for me! Enjoy your trip, we are going in May. Hugs

  3. Can’t wait to hear about your trip to Vegas and the Grand Canyon! I bet you slept in until 8:30 – especially if it’s rainy and dark out!

    • I slept until exactly 7:29am, haha! I laughed out loud when I woke up and saw the clock. You’re right, though – if it had been cloudy out then I totally would’ve slept longer! I wake up with the sun every morning even if I don’t have an alarm set.

      I’m excited to blog about the Grand Canyon! It really was amazing! I’m glad you suggested the Desert Watchtower! It was so neat!

  4. I started off going to Starbucks to drink coffee for fun back when I was a teen. Now I need two cups in the morning and one in the afternoon/evening to get through the day. Ironically, I didn’t have any coffee today because I had a change in my morning schedule, and ughh, I’m so exhausted just writing this haha

    Have fun in Vegas! I didn’t know you were going to the Grand Canyon, too! Hope it’s a clear day when you go so you can take some nice pics! My family and I drove up for the day last year over the holidays–really beautiful! I posted a bunch of photos on my blog if you want a sneak peek! xx

    • Haha! It’s funny how those things build up over time, eh? 😉 I hope you are properly caffeinated today. 😉 And yes! I’ll have to look back at that post again! The Grand Canyon really was gorgeous! I’m excited to blog about it later this week! 🙂

  5. AHH this is the WORST! I’m not sensitive to decaf, but if I have regular coffee after 3 I’ll be up late too.

  6. I don’t feel like I’m sensitive to caffeine, but I can’t drink caffeine after 2 or else I have trouble sleeping.

  7. Hahaha I completely understand the caffeine-sensitive thing. I’m not as bad now, but a couple of years ago I was sooo sensitive to it. I had to get decaf everything because even just one regular soda would make me feel shaky and sick. So I feel ya!

    Also, I find it humorous that your idea of “sleeping in” is 7:30. I guess I’m just not a morning person, but 7:30 certainly doesn’t seem like sleeping in to me. I guess that’s just me being 19, though. One day, I’m sure it will seem like a luxury.

    Have fun in Vegas!!

    -Tia

    • Oh girl, just in the past couple of months my work schedule has changed to where I get to go in during the late morning. Before this, however, for the past couple of years I’ve been getting up at 5:45am for work. So you can understand why 7:30am still feels like sleeping in to me. 😉

  8. Vegas!? yayyy!! At least no sleep led to a little planning! Hope you guys are having a blast.

  9. First of all, I didn’t realize how quickly your trip was coming up!!!! I hope you guys have a great time!!! I’ve never been to either, so I can’t offer you any tips…:(

    Second, caffeine pretty much has ZERO affect on me. I’ve known one other woman who was super sensitive to it, but it’s completely foreign to me personally! It’s the really crazy….It keeps me from being dependent on it or having to be careful with it which is really nice! What drink did you have?

    I hope you had a great day and that your travels are safe and pleasant!!!

    • Well if you ever go to either one now, I’m happy to give you the full scoop! 🙂

      That’s good that caffeine doesn’t have much of an affect on you either way! My favorite drink is a decaf skinny mocha with coconut milk! Yum! 🙂

  10. I’m super sensitive to caffeine too…one sip and I am completely wired! Hope you have a wonderful trip to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon…it is such a fun city!

  11. LOL, thats absolutely NUTS!! I am so addicted to caffeine it takes buckets of the stuff to get me to stay awake, haha. And my husband rarely drinks coffee, but he doesn’t seem to be effected by it much either.. this post made me laugh tho, haha.. 😉 – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  12. I’ve never experienced any caffeine-related effects, ever. Your story reminds me of a time, however, when my family was hanging out and decided to have a tea-drinking party and try all the teas in the cupboard (you know, you’ve lived in Asia, people are always giving you tea) and I woke up in the middle of the night because of some noises–only to find one of my little sisters baking cookies because she hadn’t been able to fall asleep and couldn’t think of anything else to do. No more night-time tea parties for her. 😛 Hope you have a great trip!

  13. I hope you guys are having fun! I just saw your picture on Instagram of you at the Grand Canyon. So awesome! That’s on my bucket list 🙂

  14. I can’t wait to hear about your Vegas Trip!! Nate and I have been twice (when he and I were flown out there for his awards), but I’ve yet to make it to the Grand Canyon…
    And I am soooo sensitive to caffeine! Decaf coffee affects me too. 🙂

    • Yeah! Finally someone who gets where I’m coming from, haha! I’m glad I’m not the only one who is affected by even decaf coffee! And girl, you would love the Grand Canyon. As much as you love hiking/being out in nature/etc… oh, you’d love it. It’s magnificent!

  15. I am sensitive to caffeine too, but I am okay with decaff coffee. Have fun in Vegas! I am going to be there in October and although it will be my 4th time, I am still so excited!

  16. That is crazy that a little bit of caffeine made such a difference. I only have one cup a day, but every once in a while I have regular before bed and I haven’t noticed it affecting me at all. I hope you got some rest before your trip!

    • I’m such a weeny. 😉 I have zero tolerance for it because I have abstained from it for so long. My freshman year of college when I was guzzling down caffeine all the time, I could’ve had a venti espresso at bed and still gone to sleep. 😉

  17. I can drink Dr Pepper like it’s going out of style but give me 3 sips of a Redbull and I will be up for days! It’s crazy. Also, I argued with someone the other day about decaf actually having some caffeine in it, so I’m glad I’m not the only one that knows decaf has some in it. Everyone thought I was crazy.

  18. been loving all your instagrams from the trip! can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

  19. So exciting that you guys are venturing out west! I’ve been wanting to do a trip like that for a long time. We’re waiting for Justin’s aunt to finish building her house in Sedona, Arizona, and we plan on going to visit her at some point. I have trouble sleeping the night before a trip, too! I can’t wait to hear all about it! 😀

  20. AH, I’m so excited to read about your trip…I hope it was so much fun!!! I have been such a blog slacker this week! Also, I want to know how late you ended up sleeping in! Steve and I are so proud when we make it past 8 on a Saturday morning, haha.

    • I made it until 7:29am, haha! I laughed when I saw it on the clock when I woke up because I knew I wouldn’t make it past 7:30. 😉 I hear ya on being proud to make it past 8am. Look at us being all old and everything. 😉

Leave a Reply

