A taste of Italy in Vegas

We ate at several places while in Vegas (including one buffet which cost more than any meal we’ve ever paid for ever o.O), but I want to share with you four of our favorites. Funnily enough… they are all Italian based. We really did eat other types of food in Vegas as well, but these really were our favorite spots. 🙂

slice of vegas collage

Slice of Vegas inside Mandalay Bay had an absolutely amazing Caeser salad and such a good pizza! We ordered the il Mangino which according to their menu is fresh pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese, and ricotta cheese topped with roasted red onions, prosciutto and arugula salad tossed in fresh lemon and olive oil, topped with Parmigiano Reggiano. You guys… SO good. We will most absolutely be recreating this at home! It was the perfect combination of flavors!

Slice of Vegas on Urbanspoon

grimaldi's

Speaking of pizza, Grimaldi’s Pizzeria inside the Venetian was also absolutely delicious. Coal fired, thin crust pizza with homemade mozzarella. We had a Margherita pizza and it was deeeelish!

Grimaldi's Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

trevi fountain restaurant

Trevi inside Caeser’s Palace is situated right beside the Trevi fountain replica. We originally intended to eat at a sandwich place on this particular evening, but when we arrived and nothing was calling our names we decided to look elsewhere. This was close by and had decent reviews on Urbanspoon so we decided to go for it. We were SO glad that we did! Their caprese salad was fresh and light and perfect. The rigatoni bolognese was rich and delicious. We learned that their new chef is from Italy and he revamped the bolognese when he arrived which is why it is so delicious now. Two thumbs up for sure! We sat on the patio beside the Trevi fountain and enjoyed a romantic Italian meal. 🙂

Trevi on Urbanspoon

gelato

We ended up at Cafe Gelato by total chance. We walked down the wrong hallway inside the Bellagio and all the sudden there it was beside us. So we popped in to see if they had any sugar-free flavors. They had four (plus a ton of sugar-full options)! So we tasted a couple of flavors and landed on the sugar-free chocolate to split. It was absolutely delightful! Not exactly the same as gelato in Italy (wow, way to sound like a snob, Rach, haha!), but still so tasty! We had gelato at another spot too, but it wasn’t near as good as this one. So if you’re in Vegas looking for gelato, head to Cafe Gelato inside the Bellagio!

{side note: I do not recommend sugar-free products to people in general unless it is pertinent to their health that they control their sugar. In my (non-doctor, non-dietitian opinion) it’s better to eat whole foods (including sugar) in moderation that are actual food and not chemicals. I have a heart condition that requires me to control the amount of sugar that I intake so that’s why you’ll hear me opt for sugar-free options when I eat treats. And even then it’s not often that I do that because the sugar-free stuff often hurts my tummy if I eat too much of it. But a treat here and there – especially on vacation is the bomb dot com. End of PSA. 😉 }

Café Gelato on Urbanspoon

So there’s our taste of Italy in Vegas. If you’re headed there soon and like Italian food, check these places out! 🙂
Love Rach

23 responses to “A taste of Italy in Vegas

  1. These all look so good!! This post totally has me wanting pizza/pasta. At 9:30 AM 😉 And gelato…YUM!

  2. Aah, Grimaldi’s!!! If/When you guys go to NYC this summer, you should try the original Grimaldi’s under the Brooklyn Bridge. The setting is just amazing, and the pizza is out of this world as well. Walking across the bridge with my husband and eating at Grimaldi’s is one of my favorite vacation memories ever. So romantic, and so “New York!”

  3. All this food looks soooo good! I love that you guys even got to eat on the patio – that makes any food about a million times better if you ask me! 🙂

    I finally tried Gelato when we were in Atlanta in January!!! Someday maybe I’ll be able to get the REAL stuff! 🙂

  4. Wow!! YUM! …everything looks delicious! …and that gelato?!! Whoa! I got some of the best dark chocolate sorbet at this cute little gelato shop in Montreal! Don’t you just love those little local gems you find on vacation?!! I sure do!

  5. Mmm, that all looks really tasty. I’m wanting some gelato now – specifically from Italy so I can sound cool like you! 🙂

  6. Such good food in Vegas! Also, good shopping. Looks like you ate well there! Yummmm gelato!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  7. I am bookmarking your Vegas posts for when I start planning my trip in more detail. That gelato looks GOOD!

  8. all the italian food made me giggle, but it all looks so, so good- and the dishes are different. i’d take the pizza and gelato right about now – maybe i’ll get that for lunch? gah, i’m hungry!

  9. I love that you take pictures of your food!!!! I love doing that, too!! It’s so fun to go back and see what you all you ate… I found a recipe book of my grandma’s that showed the first meal she cooked as a new wife to my grandpa. How precious is that?! Documenting your food is important! ;))

  10. You can’t really top gelato from Italy… that’s not being a snob, just the truth! 🙂

  11. YUM! No guilt for eating so much Italian—when you’re on vacation, you should eat what you want! The pizza with the arugula salad on top looks delicious! (It doesn’t help that it’s lunch time right now.) 😉

  12. Pingback: Remaking our favorite pizza from Vegas! |

Leave a Reply

