Thoughts this Monday morning

I’ve shared this before, but it has really been on my mind again lately so I’m sharing again. 🙂

While we aren’t Jewish, Christopher and I celebrate Passover every year with our friends from church. A portion of the evening is spent reciting a song called “Dayenu” which essentially means “it would have been enough for us.” The song is full of the pieces of the story of the Exodus when the Jews were freed from slavery in Egypt. And in the song, you are saying that “even if all You had done was ______, it would have been enough for us.” And you fill in the blank with each step of the journey (brought them out of Egypt, split the sea, given us the Torah, etc). Any one of these things would have been “enough for us” and so much more than we deserve. I love this way of thinking because it still applies to life today.

flowers2

Things may not always happen the way I plan or hope that they will. And on days like that I am reminded of how much God has already done for me. For the amazing ways He has worked in my life already. Each of those things would have been sufficient already and yet He continues to bless me. So even if everything doesn’t work out the way I hope… He is still good. Always. Because Dayenu – it has been sufficient.

he is still good{source}

Love Rach

36 responses to “Thoughts this Monday morning

  1. After spending the week at the hospital with my husband, and just getting out yesterday, I feel lucky that it was only one week. In our case, it was “enough for us”, and we couldn’t ask for more. It was an extremely stressful week due to a health scare that Tomas had, but we feel so grateful that things turned out the way they did, and I couldn’t ask for more. I actually told Tomas yesterday when they discharged him from the hospital that I felt so happy I could cry (normally I’m one to cry tears of sadness, not of joy). It really put things into perspective and made me step back and realize that I need to appreciate every little thing in my life. Things don’t always work out the way we want them to, but there’s always a silver lining.

  2. That idea is inspiring, my friend. And so are YOU.

  3. so perfect and true and i wouldn’t mind if you blogged this one a month to remind us ❤

  4. He is soooo sufficient!!!! 🙂 Reflecting on who He is and what He does is so helpful. It really changes things in our lives – especially when things haven’t been going the way WE think they “should” or were “supposed to”.

    Thanks for the reality check, sister! 🙂

  5. Beautifully said. It is so easy to forget, when we are so focused on our goals or what we want next in life. God is so good to give us way more than we could ever deserve. Great reminder of that!

  6. My best friend is Jewish, so I love this! Beautiful post 😉

  7. absolutely true! i’ve had so much sadness lately but He is still good! and it is sufficient!

  8. A wonderful thought to keep us in check!

  9. This is so great! Love how you always point back to God!! So encouraging!! 🙂

  10. What a great thought. Thanks for sharing!

  11. I always love Passover. I’ve only gotten to participate in the actual meal a few times, which is a shame because I actually am half-Jewish.

  12. I seriously want you to teach me how to celebrate Passover!! I love the idea of doing something that our Jesus would have done.. and want the kids to learn the importance of it, too!! He is sufficient!! He is enough!! He is still good… Ahhh, love it!

    • One of the best things about how Passover is celebrated is that it’s all about teaching kids. For Jewish families it’s a time to repeat the stories from the Exodus to their children. For Christian families it’s a time to repeat those stories from the Exodus, but also to tell the stories of Jesus and how He is now our Passover Lamb. It’s such a meaningful meal!

  13. Amen! Such a great reminder!

  14. A great reminder! You are still in my prayers, friend! 🙂

    On Mon, Mar 23, 2015 at 8:43 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “I’ve shared this before, but it > has really been on my mind again lately so I’m sharing again. 🙂 While we > aren’t Jewish, Christopher and I celebrate Passover every year with our > friends from church. A portion of the evening is spent reciting a song > calle”

  15. Amen, amen, AMEN! I couldn’t have said it better myself, Rach. Love you!

  16. Pingback: My anthem this week |

  17. Ummm, okay, I’m clearly SOOOO behind on blog reading, so sorry in advance for the influx of comments.

    I always love reading your passover posts (which reminds me…we have been blog friends for a crazy long time! I think this is the third passover of yours I’ve read about? Crazy!) I love the concept of dayenu. Such a good thing to be reminded of 🙂

  18. Pingback: Surrounded {learning life lessons} |

  19. Pingback: Thankful for hope |

Leave a Reply

