The grandest canyon I’ve ever seen

The Grand Canyon was magnificent. Words and pictures just don’t do it justice. You really have to stand on the precipice to feel the magnitude of it all. It was by far the best part of our trip out west. Seeing Vegas was fun, but seeing the Grand Canyon was phenomenal. I don’t have a ton of video footage or photos from that day because Christopher and I really wanted to just go and explore and be. But we did get a couple of photos & minutes of video footage (which I’m so glad we have to look back on!). So I compiled it into this 2 minute video for you guys. 🙂

For those of you who have asked how Christopher’s knee is healing after surgery in January… you can see from this video that while he is careful with his steps and compensates in his shoulders a little bit, he’s moving just fine. 🙂 He’ll be back to 100% before long!

us at grand canyon6

It was amazing, you guys. We most definitely will be back! Next time with longer to stay so we can do more hiking! 🙂

Love Rach

44 responses to “The grandest canyon I’ve ever seen

  1. Not often I get to see/hear someone making a video using one of my favorite Downhere songs. Well done. Sounds like a great trip. Thanks for sharing the video.

  2. Great video! I love the Grand Canyon…it is such a magical place!

  3. I can’t wait to see Grand Canyon. I think we are going to do the helicopter ride over it.

  4. So fun!! Ahh, the view is familiar. I’m so glad you guys had fun and had beautiful weather while you were there.

    Also, glad to see/read that Christopher’s knee is doing well!!

  5. What an awesome view! Such a great idea to go at sunrise too, beautiful!

  6. BEAUTIFUL!!!!! I can’t wait to go someday! 🙂
    And oh my goodness, on the video, it looked like you were dangling your feet over a cliff! Ha, ha. Anything for a good photo, right?!? 😉
    LOVING your recaps!!!

  7. Great video, and great photos!! What a wonderful trip.

  8. Glad you liked it!! It is pretty crazy- I would really like to hike down into one day, that’s the bucket list goal at least! I don’t think I could handle walking on the glass… lol

  9. It’s truly amazing! I love that last photo of you & Christopher! I’d love to go back again one day and instead of going to the South Rim, check out the views at the North Rim! xx

  10. That last photo is amazing! What a fantastic view!

  11. Beautiful pictures! My only trip out west was on a family vacation when I was in 7th grade or 8th grade…I can’t remember. I do remember how surreal it was to see the Grand Canyon in person. I still felt like I was looking at a movie backdrop–it didn’t seem real! And I remember laughing at my dad who was like, “So…..how long are we supposed to stand here and look at it?” It WOULD be fun to go down hiking inside of it!

  12. Wow, these photos are so gorgeous and loved the video. How have we never been to the grand canyon? You’ve just made us add it to the list, so beautiful.

    xx 365hangers

  13. So awesome! I need to be better about taking videos. They really capture so much.

  14. I Love that you got some video! Those pictures with the sun are amazing!

  15. I’m glad Christopher’s knee is feeling better! I haven’t been to the Grand Canyon since I was little. I don’t think I appreciated it then as much as I would now. I can’t believe the color variations in your photos and video.

    • Haha! I hadn’t really thought about it, but you’re right. There is a pretty big difference. That’s mostly because the videos were nearly all taken on Christopher’s cellphone and the photos were taken on the DSLR. Definitely a quality difference!

  16. Wow! These views though!! Super fun! 🙂 Glad your hubby’s knee is feeling better! …that’d be tough if it wasn’t!

  17. So gorgeous! I need to make it back there next time I’m in Vegas! ❤

  18. Did y’all watch the sunrise over the Grand Canyon?? So pretty!!!

  19. That picture is gorgeous!! My computer is being super slow loading the video, but I’m so excited to watch it. And glad to hear that Christopher’s knee is healing well 🙂

  20. Pingback: Weekend with the family |

  21. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

  22. Pingback: Things I’ll remember from 2015 |

  23. Pingback: How we travel so much (and how we got round trip tickets to Europe for $400) |

Leave a Reply

