Introducing Aria

I mentioned last week that my photography business has picked up again now that spring has arrived, but I didn’t mention how much it has grown since it first began. You guys, it has grown since that day in October of 2013 when I was finally brave enough to put some photos on a Facebook page and call myself a business. I’d been taking photos for people for a couple of months, butย didn’t really feel like I had the know-how to be an actual photographer. I was so nervous that I would put up photos and real photographers would see them and make fun of me. But I only ever received so much support and kindness from both friends and strangers, professionals and non, who saw my work. And somehowย a year and a half later, I’ve grown and learned so much and business is booming. ๐Ÿ™‚

rach2

We’ve never really had a specific use for the money that comes in from my photography. It has just accumulated in aย businessย account. I occasionally spend a bit of it on upgrading cameras, better lenses, camera equipment, and props. But mostly it just sits in that account. So when I realized that I needed a better laptop for editing photos, I decidedย ย that it was time to make another solid investment in my business.

rach

When I started researching best laptops for photo editing I read a lot about Mac Probooks with the Retina display. But truth be told, I am not a fan of Macs. I used a Mac for my job as a Teacher’s Assistant when I was in college. I eventually got accustomed to it, but I still preferred my personalย PC laptop to the Mac I used for work. So when looking for a laptop for editing photos I wanted one with a screen as great as Mac’s retina display, but I wanted it to be a PC. After a ridiculous amount of research I landed on the Dell Inspiron with 4k Ultra HD Display and IPS technology. That’s a mouthful, though. So I named her Aria. ๐Ÿ™‚

aria

You guys, I’ve only had Aria a couple of days, but Iย love her already. The color and display is even better than I could have imagined. And it feels so grown up to have actually purchased a “big girl” laptop for my business (previous to this, every laptop I’ve had was either a hand me down from a friend or one I found for super cheap). So welcome to the family, Aria. I am so excited you’re here!

Tell me about your laptop or device! What do you use for blogging / editing / social media / etc?

Love Rach

38 responses to “Introducing Aria

  1. I love that you name your laptops and cars. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, congrats on purchasing Aria! I’m so glad the new computer is working out for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Tia

  2. Congrats on your business taking off! I have a MacBook Pro and I loooove it. But it’s super old by computer standards – it was a college graduation gift from back in 2009. But we’ve always been a Mac family, so my next one will probably be another Mac laptop. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I continue to be in awe of your success, in a good way of course! I admire those that go for what they love and become successful with it! You deserve all of this and more. Congratulations on the new PC! I’m a Dell fan myself, and have been using the same laptop since 2008!

  4. you are so pretty with your aria! I can’t believe you’ve been taking pictures that long! It feels like yesterday! Gosh I miss you friend!

  5. It’s so funny to me that you name everything! When I first saw the title of your post, I assumed that one of your friends had a new baby or something. But really, YOU have a new baby (of sorts)! Haha ๐Ÿ™‚ Getting a new computer is great! I’m about to upgrade my phone, and I’m super excited about that! Our computer is slowly dying, but we’ll have to wait for it to actually die before buying a replacement makes it to the top of our priority list.

    • Haha! I didn’t even think of that when I wrote the title. But of course that’s what a normal person would assume! I’m not sure why it is that we name inanimate objects, but we do. ๐Ÿ˜‰ What new phone are you getting?

  6. Congrats! That is so exciting how much your business has grown and your new addition! However I can’t believe you don’t like Macs! I have to work on a PC at work and I hate it. I am a Mac girl.

    • I think it’s just that I really don’t like change. I grew up on PCs so I’m very particular about how I like things. It took me forever to come around to Windows 8, haha! Macs are great computers, for sure! I just prefer to use a PC. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. So nice! I actually love my Mac (I have a MacBook Pro) but the resolution on that sounds amazing! I’m probably going with a smaller and newer Mac in the fall, since mine is pretty old, and one of things I can’t wait for is the imported scream!

    Treat yo self! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Macs are definitely great computers! For me it just comes down to preference. I think I dislike change so much that I had a hard time adjusting to Macs after growing up with a PC. But I definitely understand why you love the Macs!

  8. Congrats on your successful business and getting a new laptop! I have a macbook pro and love it. I have an HP desktop at work. I like both PC and Macs. To me they both have pros and cons.

    • You are one of the few people I know who like both PCs and Macs. It seems like most people are very pro one or the other. I think they both have great things about them. I just don’t like change and I grew up on a PC, haha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. It’s so fun to name things! I name a lot of things – my car, my Garmin watch – it’s fun!

    I have a Mac but I think both PC and Mac’s are good computers. I’m glad you got a computer that suits you well!

  10. Aria is lovely! You two are going to be very successful together. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Ohhh yay for a new computer!! Isn’t it so nice?! The desktop is all clean and organized… Which doesn’t last long for me ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha

  12. I name my laptops and cars too! Aria looks like a beauty! ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on the new computer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Yay for new laptops and knowing what you work best with!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s great that you have a business of your own and that you guys have that money sitting there should you ever need it OR to use for helping others if you became aware of a need! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Congrats on your booming business Rach! It’s so nice to put in hard work and see rewards!

  15. LOL, you are so goofy! Congrats tho! โค – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  16. This is so amazing! Proud of you for following your dreams and succeeding!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Girl, your photography is amazing and you are LEGIT. Congrats on the big girl laptop ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. after years of pcs just failing on me, i took saved blog money and bought a macbook. I’m in love and i can’t go back. but i don’t live iPhones–i think i’m the only one, haha.

  19. Ah, congratulations on the new computer!! She is lovely. And so wonderful that your business is doing so wellโ€ฆit SHOULD because you’re awesome!!

Leave a Reply

