Pet Organizer aka My Husband, the Carpenter

I just realized that while I shared a photo of this on Instagram months ago, I never actually blogged about it. So today I am sharing! Oreo’s stuff has been spread all throughout our house for a long time. Treats and medicines in the kitchen, fur & coat stuff in the bathroom, leashes in the laundry room… just everything everywhere. So I asked Christopher if he could build an organizer to go on top of Oreo’s kennel so all of his stuff could be together in one place. And like always, my carpenter husband did a stellar job!

pet organizer3

I love how it’s all organized now! Medicines & treats, rope toys, rubber toys, thunder jacket, harness & leashes, collar, and of course… bowties. Because what dog doesn’t need his own compartment for bowties? ๐Ÿ˜‰

bowties

Look at those adorable bowties! Our pup is one classy mutt. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yes, that’s a laser pointer. Oreo loves to chase it in the backyard at night time! Anyway, I just love how thisย organizer turned out. I likeย how pretty much anything I think up and explain to Christopher, he can build! It sure helps with house projects!

pet organizer2

Speaking of things I envisioned that I asked Christopher to build… here’s another example. See Oreo’sย kennel “cover”? Christopher built that! I thought Oreo’s kennel looked really ugly in our new office (after Fix It & Finish It came and remodeled it all for us) so I wanted to class it up a bit. So Christopher built this shell to go over the kennel. It makes it look so much better! ๐Ÿ™‚

pet organizer

And a shot from the side. You can obviously still see the kennel, but it just looks so much better than it did before! ๐Ÿ™‚ Alrighty friends, I’m off to finish up editing one last session before I get too backlogged with three more sessions coming up this weekend. Busy busy, but getting closer to when it will level out. ๐Ÿ™‚

How do you organize your pet’s things?ย 

Have you ever built anything?ย 

Love Rach

23 responses to “Pet Organizer aka My Husband, the Carpenter

  1. Looks great! I love that he has an entire section for bowties. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow, what a great organizer…I love it!

  3. what a sweet husband, and oreo is a lucky dog! i had a similar problem with kinzie’s stuff, so i made her a little toy chest and then painted her name across it. not quite as functional as your divider, but it gets the job done ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. How nice must it be to have handy husband!!! I wish I could say the same…..Unfortunately, I don’t have any Mr. Fix Its in my family haha
    Before you even mentioned the crate cover, I thought, Ohh how nice is that? I can’t believe Christopher made that too! Maybe we’ll have to fly Christopher down to Buenos Aires to help us haha

  5. Love this!! Having a handy man is so wonderful.

  6. What a clever project!! What a guy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. That is SO cute! I love it. Having a handy man husband definitely comes in handy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Pingback: A fresh coat of paint does wonders |

  9. You are so lucky! It would be fabulous to just be able to think up ideas and have them appear in front of you like that. I’ve only ever had one piece of furniture custom-made…by the woodshop class at the high school where I used to teach. They made me a cupboard/cabinet to set my TV on and store my DVDs inside. I had to pay about $100 for the lumber and hardware, but it was worth it because I needed it to be a very specific size and stain. I would never have found it out looking in a store. Justin is going to try his best at a little carpentry/building work this summer because we need to construct a shed in the backyard for storage. We desperately need a place to store our bicycles, lawn mower, etc. Justin keeps pinning all of these wild ideas on Pinterest (like building a shed out of pallets)….so I’m a little nervous, because I’ve never seen him build ANYTHING before, haha! I’ll have to post a picture of how it turns out!

    On Fri, Apr 10, 2015 at 10:14 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “I just realized that while I > shared a photo of this on Instagram months ago, I never actually blogged > about it. So today I am sharing! Oreo’s stuff has been spread all > throughout our house for a long time. Treats and medicines in the kitchen, > fur & co”

    • Oh wow! That is a big project to take one! I definitely look forward to hearing how it all turns out! I bet Justin will do a rockstar job at it. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s too bad we don’t live closer. I know Christopher would love to help out with that!

  10. That is genius! It looks like a baby changing table, and he is your baby!

  11. I love both of these thingsโ€ฆhaving a husband that can execute the building projects you dream up is the BEST!! I always hated having Max’s kennel out in the openโ€ฆour house is super open concept, so there was no place to put it where it wouldn’t be visible. I should have thought about building something around it! Also, YES to those bow ties!! You know I appreciate a well-dressed dog, haha.

    • That makes me want to see a tour of your house! I love open concept homes! That’s what we were drawn to initially when we were house hunting, but then we found our house and suddenly it was “the one” haha! It’s not at all what we were looking for. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Speaking of Christopher building things… he built a dog bed for some of our friends who just adopted a dog AND he built a bench for our front porch. All in one day this past weekend. He’s quite the carpenter these days. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you guys lived closer he’d totally build something for Max! Though Steve builds stuff too, right? Because he built that pergola and bench, right?

  12. Nice! My Mom created something similar for her bathroom drawer and I’ve admired it ever since she put it into use! It’s sooo easy to have these little things just piled up, but with something like that, the clutter stays away!

Leave a Reply

