A fresh coat of paint does wonders

Remember earlier this year when we bought that dilapidated nightstand off Craigslist for $10? Here are a couple of shotsΒ of it in case you don’t:

nightstand collage

Right so, that nightstand. It needed just a little TLC. A little glue here, a little hammer action there. A little shaved inch or two off the uneven legs. Because the handles weren’t saveable and were an unusual size we ended up removing them, filling up the holes with wood putty, sanding it down and then drilling new holes for new handles. And then a couple of coats of paint. And VIOLA! New nightstand!

night stand collage

Typically with DIY projects that Christopher and I do, he does the building and I do the painting (like with Oreo’s organizer that I shared with you guys). But I hadn’t gotten around to painting this one yet because I was waiting for warmer weather before braving the elements (I usually paint outside or at least open a window) and what do you know… that sweet husband of mine did the work for me. Other than picking out the handles at Hobby Lobby and choosing the paint color (which was one we already had left over at the house), I didn’t lift a finger to refurbish this gorgeous nightstand. That husband of mine is a sweetheart. πŸ™‚

before and after

I love, love, love how it turned out! We’ve been slowly redecorating one of our guest rooms and this lovely nightstand will be living there. Once the room is a little more put together I’ll share some before and after photos of it as well. Though it might be awhile before it’s finished. Projects like this are usually pretty slow going because we have a general vision in mind, but take our time with finding good deals on things (like the Queen sized blanket I found for FIVE DOLLARS at a thrift store – one good wash and itΒ wasΒ PERFECT!).

Tell me about a project you’ve worked on lately!Β 
Love Rach

28 responses to “A fresh coat of paint does wonders

  1. white everything!
    it just makes it so beautiful!

  2. I love it!! DIY projects are so much more rewarding that buying new!

  3. Is that white, gray or blue? My computer screens are telling me different things! It’s the black and blue (or white and gold) dress all over again! Ha!
    Also, what are the colors in the new guest room?

    • Yes to all three. πŸ˜‰ It’s technically a really light bluish gray color with white knobs. It’s the same color as our new office. I just love that color so much that I want to put it all over our house, haha! πŸ™‚

      I can’t say 100% what the colors of the new guest room will be because we’re still working on it. Ha! I’m leaning toward lots of whites and blues, though. At least that’s what has been slowly making its way into the room. πŸ™‚

  4. Looks awesome! I love a goof DIY Project!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  5. Your dresser looks so cute! I wonder how many coats of paint Christopher had to do to cover up all of that pink?! I can’t wait to see a picture of the entire room!

    On Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 9:24 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Remember earlier this year when we > bought that dilapidated nightstand off Craigslist for $10? Here are a > couple of shots of it in case you don’t: Right so, that nightstand. It > needed just a little TLC. A little glue here, a little hammer action there. > “

    • It was two coats of paint. It’s really good quality paint, though. So normal paint might have needed another coat. This stuff was leftover from the room that the TV show came and did for us. πŸ™‚

      And you may be waiting for a while for a photo of the room, haha! It is coming along veeeery slowly. πŸ˜‰

  6. it turned out SO well! I love it. I need a nightstand so I need to hit up craigslist.

  7. This is a wonderful DIY! It is amazing what new paint can do!

  8. Oh wow! It looks so good! Can’t wait to see how your guest room turns out!

  9. That looks gorgeous!! You know I love me some DIY πŸ˜‰

  10. That looks beautiful… Great job!

  11. It looks amazing!! What a great find πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see the guest room once it’s all set up! Also, yes please to the $5 blanket!

  12. That’s definitely a huge improvement! It’s fun to take something that just needs a little love and make it awesome again! My hands itch for DIY projects quite often these days now that I don’t have any craft materials or a house to decorate. How convenient. πŸ˜›

  13. Um….Nice!!!! πŸ™‚ That hot pink is crazy!!!! I love the shape and details. Your DIYs always turn out so well!

    PS- DO NOT feel like you have to reply to all of my comments that I’m leaving this morning! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

