My anthem this week

My anthem changes. My favorite songs change. My favorite scriptures, quotes, and phrases change. Words and music touch my heart in such a special way. And depending on what is happening in life at the moment, that flux of emotions usually dictates the type of song that becomes my anthem. There was a week last summer where “Walkin’ On Sunshine” was stuck in my head for days. As of this week my anthem has become the song “Shoulders” by For King and Country.

“You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders…”

“I don’t have to see to believe that You’re lifting me up on Your shoulders…”

Those two lines… they are where I am today. Where I’ve been this whole week really. The entire song is amazing, but those lines have been on repeat in my heart. I know posting vague references can be obnoxious and I don’t mean to be like that. I’m just not quite sure that I’m ready to open up so publicly. And yet I still want to share my heart in a small way.

I found out some bad news today. But it’s not the worst news. In fact I’ve suspected that it might be coming since earlier this week. But it’s still a little bit difficult to wrap my head around. I am drawn back to my thoughts on Dayenu. To remind myself of the crazy blessed life I get to lead. Of all that God has done for me already. It really has been sufficient. When I feel my heart beginning to break just a little, I remind myself that God is good and that He is faithful and that He is walking with me.

He carries my weakness, my sickness, and my brokenness on His shoulders. And I don’t have to see to believe it. I’m young in many ways, but I have walked this path with Jesus for a long time now. And He has been so faithful to me every single step of the way. I know He’s not letting me go now. And like I mentioned in my post about fasting – it’s not about always getting what we want. But about our hearts becoming more in tune with His.

And you guys, I can’t write all of this without mentioning my sweet husband and what an amazing man he is. I truly can’t say enough good things about Christopher through all this. Gentle and patient and kind. Loving and strong. I am so very thankful that I get to live life with him.

So this anthem of “Shoulders” may seem a little depressing because clearly life isn’t exactly “Walkin’ on Sunshine” right now. But that’s how life is. Ups and downs. But for me, this song reminds me that there is so much hope. Because no matter what news or outcome or loss, I know that God is good, He is faithful, and He isn’t letting go of us.

Love Rach

41 responses to “My anthem this week

  1. I’m still praying for you, friend!

    On Thu, Apr 16, 2015 at 1:37 PM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “My anthem changes. My favorite > songs change. My favorite scriptures, quotes, and phrases change. Words and > music touch my heart in such a special way. And depending on what is > happening in life at the moment, that flux of emotions usually dictates the > typ”

  2. Every time I hear a For King and Country song, I fall in love with it, yet I never seem to remember their name when buying music. This is truly a gorgeous song, and I can see how it would help you through your hard times. Praying for you!

    • They do have really great music! I am thankful for artists who share their gifts with the world. Especially for those who choose to write Christian music when they could be far more famous if they went secular. For King and Country is great!

  3. Praying for you Sweet Bella. A dear friend of ours was murdered last month, along with his new bride who was 6 months pregnant. These are times when drawing near to our Heavenly Father are essential…peace isn’t just a thing, it’s a person, and He lives inside of us, we have access!! Even in our darkest moments.

  4. Prayers for you during this time. It is beautiful that you are still able to stay see the positive and be faithful in your daily walk with what He has planned.

  5. This song is absolutely perfect. He is carrying you through this sweet friend and He loves you so, so much!! XO

  6. Thanks for sharing at least a little bit. I’ll be praying for you. It’s always so comforting to know God is there 🙂

  7. What a great song! Hope everything’s ok, girl! Praying for you!

  8. Hang in there, Rach! Thinking of you!

  9. I’m sorry you received bad news!! I’m glad you have a strong faith and a great hubby to carry you, and all of us bloggy friends are here for you too! {{HUGS}}

  10. sorry to hear that, rachel. i hope things begin to look up soon, and i love your positivity towards this.

  11. Amen! I am glad to see that in lifes ups and downs, you are turning to the only true source of Joy and Hope in this world.. God bless you my sweet blogging friend, I hope you feel better soon! ❤ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

  12. Oh, I’m so sorry….I don’t know why God allows us to walk down paths that are uncomfortable and full of heartache…I mean, I know he allows it so we grow and are drawn closer to Him and depend on Him fully….but it doesn’t mean our hearts don’t hurt. I’m praying for you, sweetie!
    ~Kelly
    http://www.leafynotbeefy.com

  13. Sorry to hear that you are going through a tough time, Rach. Keep up your positive and grateful attitude, and know that you have a big community here to support you! xx

  14. A supportive husband and gracious God do make a world of difference when you are dealing with hard times. I hope that whatever is going on is resolved in the best way possible. I completely understand feeling the need to share without being ready to share everything. I will be praying for you big time!

  15. This song uplifts me! Thank you for sharing Rach. Whatever you are going through I’m sure there is a reason for it and God’s purpose will shine through you. My prayers are with you 🙂

  16. hugs sweet girl. wish i was nearby and could buy you a tea ❤ and yes, i think of your thoughts on dayenu whenever i'm struggling, too (so thank you!)

    • Girl, I’d love it if you lived closer. Your sweet spirit is such a blessing even just through blogging. I can only imagine how precious in-person time would be. I hope you guys are adjusting well to life with your precious little one! 🙂

  17. Praying for you, sweet friend!! I love your perspecvive and how you turn to God even in the less great times. You inspire me so much 🙂 “he has been so faithful to me every step of the way, and I know he’s not letting go now”. YES. Thanks for this song and these words!

  18. You’re going through it and I had stepped away from the computer for a while! I’m so sorry, girl!!! I’m so glad your hope is in God, that you’ve got Christopher, and that you know how to use music and words to remind you of TRUTH! 🙂

    This song is perfection! I don’t listen to them, but I will be now! Thanks for sharing! Also…I’m here if you need to talk, need extra prayer, or ANYTHING! Let me know! 🙂

  19. Pingback: On my heart today… |

  20. Pingback: Surrounded {learning life lessons} |

  21. Pingback: Weekend Happenings |

Leave a Reply

