Happy Earth Day!

Five years ago today Christopher and I bought our first home. On Earth Day. So yes, we bought a piece of earth on Earth Day. It felt rather fitting. πŸ˜‰

signing

Us signing all the official documents on April 22, 2010. Looking back I can’t believe that we bought a house SO young (at 22 & 24). We hadn’t even been married two full years yet. Apartment living was awesome, but we hated throwing money away in rent and we really wanted a pet. And for us that meant a house. And the house we found was too good of a deal to pass up. Someone else’s unfortunate foreclosure meant that we got a steal of a deal.

front yard june 3

After we bought the house we decided to document the renovation process.Β So we filmed it and made little videos and posted them to Facebook for our adoring fans (aka our parents, haha!). All together the mini videos are about an hour long when watched back to back. A couple of years ago I pulled out a couple of clips and made a short 3 minute version. Which you can enjoy below:

My favorite moment from video is the clip beginning at 2:50. “The bird of burden…” we were so tired, ha! {for those who don’t know, in 2010 there was a big tax credit for first time home buyers to help give incentive to buy during the recession.Β We used that money to make all the necessary renovations in our new house so we were super excited when it arrived and we could pay back our savings account.}

Are you doing anything special for Earth Day today? I am thinking I should pick up some herbs from the nursery to plant! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

31 responses to “Happy Earth Day!

  1. Cute video! I didn’t know it was Earth day until I saw this… Maybe I will take Winston on an extra long walk today to celebrate! Plus he is getting neutered in the morning so he needs some extra attention today!

  2. Happy Earth Day! I think it’s so fun that you bought your house on earth day. It’s a fun way to remember it each year!

  3. Such a great video! Happy Earth Day to you too!

  4. The stud finder doesn’t get old! It’s so funny!

  5. Haha that video was so great and sweet! I loved watching the two of you, and Christopher was so funny with the stud finder. πŸ˜‰ What a fun way to celebrate Earth Day!

    -Tia

  6. I actually completely forgot today was Earth Day…. :-/
    A few years ago, when I was living in Spain, I spent the day picking up trash at the beach. Some of the things I found were pretty disgusting, but at least I felt like I made a little dent in taking care of our Mother Earth. If I were to try and do the same thing around Buenos Aires, I’m sure it would be a lost cause. People throw trash wherever they please. Drives me CRAZY!

    And that video….Omg you guys are so cute! I can’t believe you did all of the renovations yourself! I LOVE how you renovated your house! Honestly it is just perfect (especially that red door)! I hope one day we’re able to buy a house of our own….apartment/city living is not exactly my cup of tea!

    • That is such an amazing thing to do! Maybe I’ll do that next year on Earth Day!

      I love how our house turned out too! The red door is a favorite of mine too! πŸ™‚ I hope things work out for you guys to move into a house at some point too! I loved apartment living because it was so easy and maintenance free, but I love our house too. πŸ™‚

  7. Nate and I rented for about 2 years as well before we decided to buy a house (although we were older than you and Christopher when we made the move). πŸ™‚ We felt the same way! We didn’t want to throw money into rent, when we could be putting money towards owning a home.
    Owning a home is a huge responsibility, but – at the same time – it is nice to come home to a place all our own. πŸ™‚

  8. Just so you know, I love the curb appeal of your house. For years, whenever anyone asks me to describe my dream house, it’s always been a white house with a red door and black shutters. I might like it to be a two-story, too…but I love your house! It’s beautiful! And I am so happy that you guys were chosen to have a room renovated–you deserved to be blessed! πŸ™‚

    • Aww I love that our house looks so much like your dream house! You can’t tell from the outside because of the roof, but our house is actually two stories. There are two bedrooms, a bathroom, and a bunch of storage closets upstairs. You just can’t tell because of the way our roof slants so deeply. Anyway, all that is to say, I’m so glad you like our house! πŸ™‚

  9. AWW fun throw back, I totally remember this video from a while back! You two put such great work into this.

  10. What a cute video. Your house is beautiful too.

  11. That is young!! We didn’t buy our first house till we were 28!! (Actually, April marks our first house buying anniversary too! Crazy!) You guys look soooo happy!! ❀ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

    • Aww happy house buying anniversary! We were definitely young, but then we were young when we started dating and got married too. I had just turned 17 when we started dating and he was 18. And then we got married almost exactly four years later. So we dated forever, but were still really young when we got married. Hence, also still really young when we bought the house. πŸ˜‰

  12. Cute video! Happy Earth day!! …and that is so sweet, you bought your little piece of the earth! πŸ™‚

  13. Congrats on 5 years!! That is amazing! I can’t imagine buying a house at 22, that is so awesome! We got married at 23, but are still not really near buying our own house… One day! πŸ™‚

    • Haha! We were definitely young! But then we were babies when we started dating (I had just turned 17 and he was 18) and we were still babies when we got married four years later. So I think even though we were young, it felt like we were older because we’d been together so long. Anyway, I’m so glad we have our house. I just love it! πŸ™‚

  14. Ah, congrats on 5 years!! You guys did such a great job with the renovations…and that video! “The bird of burden, flying off my back” I love it!! I remember the video from before, but I was still kind of shocked to see the before picture of the outside…SO different! (Obviously the inside is really different too, but I was comparing the outside to the picture in the post, haha)

    • Oh my goodness, the outside does look SO different! We’re trying to do a little landscaping this year to make it look a little more grown up. That’s why Christopher built a bench for the front porch this weekend. Now we just have to figure out what else to put on that incredibly long porch, haha! Suggestions welcome! πŸ™‚

  15. I loved getting a peak into all of the work that you put into the house. We also bought a foreclosure young and it has been so good for us! The outside of the house looks amazing. I can tell you guys have put a lot of love and hard work into it.

  16. Pingback: The Kitchen Nook: Before & After |

Leave a Reply

