Remaking our favorite pizza from Vegas!

Remember when we went to Vegas and ate that delicious pizza and said that we would DEFINITELY be making it when we got back home? If not, here’s a shot of it:

pizza

And the description of this pizza (the il Mangino) from the Slice of Vegas menu:Β fresh pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese, and ricotta cheese topped with roasted red onions, prosciutto and arugula salad tossed in fresh lemon and olive oil, topped with Parmigiano Reggiano. Um, yum. Thanks to that very helpful information, making this at home was easy peasy!

prosciutto & rocket pizza

Ours looks a little different for two main reasons: 1. it’s a whole wheat crust so it’s not quite as puffy & 2. it’s a rectangle. Yeah, those were the only two differences we really noticed. Granted, it was a couple of weeks after we ate the original one in Vegas that we first tried it at home, but we both think it’s pretty spot on. I mean, it helps when they give you such a detailed description of the meal right in the menu. πŸ˜‰

DSC_8793

il Mangino Remake

-For our whole wheat crust we have been using this recipe from Sally’s Baking AddictionΒ lately. But I also highly recommend our favorite crust which I’ve blogged about here.

-For the sauce we used our favorite sauce recipe which you can find here.

-Toppings were literally taken directly from their menu description. So for 1 pizza we used:

8 oz fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced
1/4 cup ricotta cheese
2 oz Parmigiano Reggiano, shaved
3 oz prosciutto
1 small red onion, roasted (we used Martha Stewart’s method of roasting)
1 cup arugula a.k.a. rocket (if you remember our post from Italy)
1 lemon
1/4 cup olive oil
salt & pepper

To Assemble:

Top pizza dough with pizza sauce and then sliced fresh mozzarella. Using a teaspoon scoop small amounts of ricotta cheese onto the pizza and place randomly. Top with prosciutto and roasted red onion. Sprinkle with Parmigiano Reggiano.

Then pop in the oven and bake for the amount of time called for on your crust recipe (15 minutes for ours).Β After it bakes, move pizza pan up to the top rack and put on broil for one minute.

While pizza bakes, squeeze lemon into bowl. Mix lemon juice with olive oil then add salt and pepper. Then add arugula to lemon mixture and toss.

When pizza comes out of the oven top with arugula salad and then serve.

pizza

You guys, so so good. We’ve made it three times since we got back to Vegas and it has been absolutely delicious every single time! πŸ™‚

What are you favorite pizza toppings?
Love Rach

30 responses to “Remaking our favorite pizza from Vegas!

  1. I think yours looks better than the Vegas pizza! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m already starving and that looks SO good! I could go for pizza for breakfast…. I love all different kinds of pizzas…recently we had one that had goat cheese and prosciutto which was amazing. Also, a popular pizza in Argentina is Arugula & Parmesan cheese pizza. As for pizzas we’ve made at home, Tomas and I really like one with a mix of ricotta and mozzarella cheese, artichokes, and roasted red peppers! You can find our recipe here: http://amateandarottweiler.blogspot.com.ar/2013/11/homemade-artichoke-roasted-pepper.html

  3. If you guys have a grill, you should try throwing it on the grill instead of in the oven! so good! plus I think its faster (the few I’ve done you throw on the crust for about 5 mins at around 450, flip and top then throw it back on the grill for another 5 (or until cheese is nice and melted), and no heating up the kitchen come summer πŸ™‚

  4. We have two really good pizza places here!!! We will take yall to one when you come!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. That pizza looks amazing! Great job on your recreation-I think it looks better than the original! πŸ™‚

  6. This pizza looks amazing!! I must say… being gluten free and dairy free… I really miss gourmet pizza like this! …but all I could eat would be sauce 😦 This looks delicious! Glad that you got to recreate and enjoy it at home!

  7. Oh goodness, this looks amazing!! I recently tried a pizza topped with arugula and LOVED it! Definitely something I’ll be trying at home πŸ™‚ And I have to agree with Olya that yours looks better than the original!

    • Oooh my goodness, arugula on pizza is SO good! I don’t know if I ever ate it before we went to Italy, but ever since we got back I am obsessed! I think I partially like that they call it “rocket” and Christopher and I like to talk about “rocket” on our salad/sandwich/pizza. πŸ˜‰

  8. Pizza… I MISS pizza! Or, well, more accurately, I miss cheese on my pizza. πŸ˜‰ I did find an allergy-free pizza recipe that I can eat, but I’m not a huge fan of vegan cheese… so I usually just go cheeseless. πŸ˜‰ The first thing I’m eating when I’m not nursing a baby is definitely going to be pizza, for sure!
    My favorite toppings are simple: cheese and mushrooms! YUM! But I’ve yet to meet a pizza I don’t like so I’ll enjoy pretty much any topping. πŸ™‚ (Except for anchovies. LOL).

    • I’m not a fan of anchovies either, but like you I like most pizza toppings. I’m not particularly picky about pizza. I love most all of it. πŸ˜‰ I hope you have a big party after Brady is weaned. I’m sure that will be emotional in a lot of ways, but it will be so great to eat/drink the things you want to again! πŸ™‚

  9. Yours definitely looks better! I love onions, bell peppers, chicken and lots of cheese!

  10. I’m officially craving pizza. I love making my own pizza, and actually I usually have to since not many places near me make Brittany friendly pizza. πŸ™‚

  11. Yum!! This looks so delicious! I love coming up with new and different pizza ideas.

  12. This looks way too yummy not to try!

  13. YUM!!! I love recreating foods that I have other places! πŸ™‚ My current obsession is creating a ranch equal to some that I had in Asheville, NC at this place called The Apollo-Flame Bistro (forgive me if I’ve already shared that)!!! I came close, but I’m not quite satisfied just yet. πŸ™‚

  14. That looks delicious! I’d say you guys nailed it! And now I want pizza. LOL

  15. TriBeCa alley cafe in Sardis MS has an amazing award winning pizza just like this. I highly recommend it! Also your blog is adorable!

Leave a Reply

