The last study night

This past Thursday night I hosted the very last study night with my girls at my house. I’ve been mentoring these girls since they started 7th grade and we’ve had Thursday night dinner & study nights since they were in 9th grade. I can’t believe how quickly time has passed. A few more weeks and they are all graduating high school. A few months and they’ll all be off to college. Cue the tears!

my girls

We had a great last study night together! I stood there for a moment and just took it all in while they all sat around and laughed and talked. 5 different conversations going on at once and everyone so loud and happy. My house is going to sound so lonely on Thursdays now. But I’m SO excited for these girls to go off to college and start taking steps to adult life. I’m just refusing to think about how emotional I’ll be this summer when they all go off and leave me, haha! Definitely planning to enjoy the last few months we have together. 🙂

What piece of advice was given to you (or you wish had been given to you) just after graduating high school and before heading to college? I’m trying to pump all the last bits of my wisdom into these girls before they go. 😉

Love Rach

22 responses to “The last study night

  1. You bless so many people! I can’t remember any advice I was given. I have a bad memory!

  2. I’m so glad you were around to instill great values into these girls!

  3. You will have to have reunions with them!

    I wish someone would have told me to relax a little and take time to breath. Enjoy being in college, don’t rush it. Before you know it college will be over and you will be graduating again.

    • That’s such good advice! I wish someone had told me that too. I was so caught up in doing my BEST at every single thing (every class, social club, job, etc) that I definitely stressed myself out more than I should have.

  4. Aww what a special time!

    I think the best advice I never got was to relax! I know that sounds crazy but you spend so much time working hard on grades, trying to get the best test scores, writing essays, applying for scholarships….once college is set, relax. Enjoy the summer before college so you can start feeling fresh! Also try all the classes. You never know, you may change you major 20 times or never at all. If I hadn’t tried some different classes, I may be stuck doing something I hate right now.

    • That’s such great advice! I definitely wish I had figured out that whole “relax” thing before I went to college. I was so caught up in being perfect at everything that I stressed myself out way more than I needed to! And you’re so right about trying out different classes! Great advice!

  5. Awww! We’ve talked about this and all the feelings that go with it before…I’m so happy and yet so sad for all of you!!! Bittersweet is the perfect way to describe it!

    The best piece of advice came from my Mom, she said something along the lines of, “No time with God is wasted time. Sometimes, you’ll just need to take some time to get into His Word and to pray. Do not hesitate to do that even if it means putting your homework aside for a while.” I followed her advice and I cannot say how much it helped me! The assignments always got done and my soul remained healthy and strong. 🙂

  6. Oh that is going to be so emotional for you to say ‘goodbye’! I hate change like that, even if it is a good thing! After all, they are moving on and facing new adventures… and they had YOU to help guide them over the years! But still, so tough, for sure!!
    Hmmmm, best advice given to me… Honestly, it was something to the affect of do what scares you the most. BUT I’d recommend adding your own wise touch to that. Ha, ha. But still, over the years, I held onto that, and I’ve done many things that scared me but that I knew were right for me. Maybe the Disney cartoon ‘Brave’ says it best… 😉 Being brave isn’t the absence of fear, but it’s what you do with the fear that counts. Don’t let fear hold you back! 🙂

    • Yeah, it really is crazy to me that the time has come when they are leaving so soon. Definitely emotional!

      That’s SUCH good advice! I am so timid when it comes to trying new things. I love the idea of challenging yourself to do things that scare you. What great advice! I’ll definitely pass that on to the girls!

  7. I would say….if you’re doing something that scares you, then you’re probably doing it right. I once heard someone say that we should try to do one thing that scares us every single day, and while I probably don’t live up to that expectation, I can look back and say that the scary decisions that I’ve made usually ended up being the most rewarding. I was really tempted to go to a local college and just stay home. I was one of those kids who had never even been to sleep-away camp, and the thought of going to a giant university that would be eight hours away from my parents (a school where I didn’t have ANY friends prior to going) was terrifying! When my parents said their final goodbyes after getting me set up in my freshman dorm, it wasn’t ten minutes before I called them crying, asking them to come back. I wasn’t sure what to do on my own. But going to that school ended up being the greatest choice I could have made–it was a place where I made SO MANY friends, more than I ever had in high school, and where I met my husband. I’m so glad I didn’t wimp out! Moving to China, jumping into grad school, deciding to have a baby–those were all scary decisions. But they were all amazing adventures, and I’m so glad that I was brave enough to try!

    On Mon, Apr 27, 2015 at 9:08 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “This past Thursday night I hosted > the very last study night with my girls at my house. I’ve been > mentoring these girls since they started 7th grade and we’ve had Thursday > night dinner & study nights since they were in 9th grade. I can’t believe > how qu”

    • That’s SUCH good advice! I am so timid when it comes to trying new things. I love the idea of challenging yourself to do things that scare you. I love how well that has worked out for you. 🙂 What great advice! I’ll definitely pass that on to the girls!

  8. That is so great!!! How wonderful that you could influence them and mentor these girls all these years! They are very blessed 🙂 Must be hard to watch them graduate… but very exciting too!

  9. I know you’ve been a huge blessing in these girl’s lives! That’s amazing how long you all have been together! How bittersweet of an evening for you! Advice…don’t wish your college time away. Plan for the future, but live in the moment!!

  10. These girls are so lucky to have you! What a unique experience that will influence you all, I am sure, forever.

  11. What an amazing role model they have in you!

    Do you think you’ll start mentoring a new group of 7th graders at some point and see them through graduation?

Leave a Reply

