Weekend Happenings

This past weekend was pretty laid back for us. On Saturday I did a super quick photo session for our neighbors’ kids first thing in the morning. We finished planting a couple of plants and doing a little landscaping.

growing stuff{Herbs on the front porch. Azaleas, Hydrangeas, and Hostas on the back porch. Flowers long the side of the kitchen window}

Then I laid around and edited photos while Christopher finished up a gorgeous bench he built for our front porch.

the bench{He found the iron piece on the side of the road a couple of years ago and finally put it to great use. Isn’t this bench GORGEOUS?!}

We ended the evening with a delicious grilled steak dinner and then snuggled on the couch while catching up on a few favorite TV shows.

rib eye steak{Pioneer Woman never leads us astray! Rib eye steak with whiskey cream sauce – so YUM!}

This past Sunday our pastor’s new book was released and as a joke a couple of people made a cardboard cutout of him. He was super embarrassed by it so naturally people lined up to take photos with it.

cardboard josh{Just chillin’ with Cardboard Josh}

Sunday afternoon Christopher and I sat on our new bench on the front porch and just enjoyed the gorgeous weather together. Sunday evening was Senior Night with my teen girls. I was so honored to stand on stage with my sweet girls. Next week they will be graduating! Crazy! We went out for a late night dinner afterward and then headed home.

my girls{love my girls!}

I realize this may not sound like the most “laid back” weekend, but there was a lot of downtime in between all the busy. The rest of this month is about to get all kinds of hectic so it was nice to be home and rest and finish up a few projects this weekend. 🙂

Love Rach

28 responses to “Weekend Happenings

  1. mmm, I spy fresh basil. My favorite. Christopher did an amazing job on that bench. It is awesome.

  2. It sounds like a lovely weekend! We did sprint planting too which was a first for us and it was a blast! I hope we get some little tomatoes that grow 🙂

  3. This sounds like the perfect weekend.

  4. I love the plants that you put in!!!! 🙂 I’m so glad you posted pictures, because I was wondering what it looked like when I read your comment on my blog!

    Also…That bench that Christopher made is PERFECT! He’s got some talent to be able to build that and include a piece of iron from the roadside TOO!??!! Wow!

    You look so pretty in the pictures with your girls!!!! 🙂

    I’m glad your weekend was such a good one!

  5. Sounds like you had a great weekend. Love the bench!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  6. Your right – that is a gorgeous bench. I feel like maybe some spring/summer color cushions (or one cushion) would work great on it as well 🙂

  7. I love when springtime rolls around and it’s time to replant the flowers and the herbs! It’s so nice to have every herb you need for cooking right on your porch or balcony!

    That bench is gorgeous! Every time you show something that Christopher has made, I’m honestly blown away!

  8. That bench is fabulous! I love that he recycled the iron piece. And I really need to get some herbs planted this season too. I’ve been meaning to for the last 3 years but just never got around to it. I do not have a green thumb so I am going to start small, lol

    • Oh girl, I definitely don’t have a green thumb either so if I can keep these alive, you can too! Basil is probably the most forgiving. Even when I forget to water it and it starts to shrivel up… As soon as I DO water it, it comes back to life by the next day! 🙂

  9. It sounds like a fun weekend! That bench looks so great on your porch… I can’t believe he just made it! I will have to try that steak recipe. It looks so yummy and I have tried and loved a few of her other recipes.

  10. What a lovely weekend with the girls 😀

  11. That bench is gorgeous! How ingenious to have such a rad vision for a random piece of iron found on the side of the road.

  12. Busy weekend! I loveeeee that bench! What a crafty husband. 🙂

  13. Christopher did such a great job with that bench!! I love that he found the iron piece on the side of the road…so cool!! The cardboard cutout of the pastor is too funny…I love your dress in that picture! Also, so crazy that your girls are graduating so soon…I can only imagine how emotional that would be!

  14. I am so far behind but… I love that bench!

Leave a Reply

