Roasted Chicken in the Slow Cooker

Today I am sharing my favorite way to cook a whole chicken. You can also use this method for cooking a small turkey and it’s just as delicious. 🙂 It’ll make you feel like a pioneer woman! Except you’ll probably be inside your air conditioned house when you cook this. But I digress. You’ll notice I call it “roasted chicken,” but it’s actually cooked in a slow cooker and not by roasting it. However, thanks to a handy-dandy little trick I’ll share with you guys, it comes out tasting like roasted chicken! 🙂

calvin & virdiaIt might just make you feel like my great-grandmother, Virdia! {yup, those are my great-grandparents in the 1930s. Okay random old family photo sharing time over, haha!}

This is so simple you guys. You chop up an onion or two and a couple of carrots and toss the pieces into your slow cooker. You then clean your 2-3 pound chicken that you bought from the store (this part makes me feel like a homesteader… except for the part where I didn’t have to do the actual killing). Then you salt and pepper it, squeeze the juice of a fresh lemon on it, toss some springs of rosemary on top of it and put the whole raw chicken into the slow cooker on top of the veggies.

roasted slow cooker chicken

Put the lid on your slow cooker and let it slowly cook on low for 8 hours. TA DA! If you want that roasted crispy skin taste (which is my fav!) then carefully put the whole chicken in a casserole dish and pop in the oven on broil for about 5 minutes (though watch it! You want it crispy, not burnt!)

roasted slow cooker chicken

After your chicken is nice and crispy on top, remove from oven and put on a fancier plate (unless you aren’t the fancy sort and decide to serve it right from your Pyrex like we did). Toss in the veggies from your slow cooker and VIOLA! A delicious roasted chicken dinner!

roasted slow cooker chicken

Please ignore the bad lighting… this is what happens when I cook after dark. 😉 But trust me, it’s delicious! And SO simple to make!

Have you ever cooked a whole chicken? If so, what’s your favorite method?
Love Rach

24 responses to “Roasted Chicken in the Slow Cooker

  1. This sounds amazing! We like to do what we cal “beer butt” Chicken. You can do it on the grill or oven. You just take a half can of beer (or soda) and stick it up the cavity and let it cook! It turns out SUPER juicy!

  2. Ok, this is officially weird. We made roasted chicken last night for dinner, although I opted for just roasting it in a roasting pan for an hour instead of using the crockpot. And roasting the chicken is basically the same. It just depends on what time you have to work with it. There are so many different ways to spice and stuff a chicken. It’s pretty awesome.

  3. This looks awesome! I’ll definitely cook up a chicken using this method soon. I love carrots and onions with roasted chicken. And I like the skin crispy and golden too. 🙂

  4. I love making a chicken in the slow cooker! I’ve never thought to broil it! Yum! I’ll do that next time! I spilled blood all over the kitchen floor yesterday! I was trying to be so careful after putting the chicken in the slow cooker and went to toss the bag with all the blood. I made a mess! So much for being careful!

  5. This is such a great recipe! I’ve never roasted a chicken in a slow cooker…definitely want to try it! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Wow, this sounds so good! Pinning it!

    -Tia

  7. Go you for cooking a whole chicken! Looks absolutely delicious, friend!

  8. What a great recipe!! Everyone says making a chicken is not that hard but it’s so intimidating!! 🙂

  9. Wow! That does seem super easy!! I like the idea of crisping up the skin.

  10. Oh my goodness, this looks so good right now!! I LOVE roasted chicken. I’ve only done it in the slow cooker once, and it burned because I had to stay at work late. I should try it again now that I have a more flexible schedule and can watch it! Oh, and the picture of your great grandparents is so cool! I love that you have family pictures dating back so far 🙂

    • Yes! Do! It’s super simple! And you’ll have to let me know how it turns out for you. 🙂

      So your comment about the family pictures dating back so far made me wonder… do you have family pictures like that? Both my mom and Christopher’s mom are both huge into geneology so I have TONS of photos and family history sorts of things for both sides of our family. I forget that’s probably not the norm, haha!

  11. Pingback: Bone Broth in the Slow Cooker |

  12. Wow this looks so good! I definitely want to try this!

  13. Pingback: Friday Things 7/10/15

Leave a Reply

